Hi Everyone. Kinu & I are new here

Status
Not open for further replies.

KinusMom

Member Since 2014
Kinu was diagnosed with diabetes a little over a year ago. He'd been losing a lot of weight so we took him to the vet and they started him on 3u prozinc 2x/day. They wanted me to feed him the science diet but I refused as I'd had my cats on m/d when the pet food recall happened and it was the only "high-quality" food with melamine in it. Fortunately my cats were OK but i dont trust hills. I put him on a nograin natural food and gave him insulin and didnt think much of it until I brought him back for his annual curve and they raised his insulin to 4u saying that after they shot his sugar went down but then back up to quickly. i decided to look into home testing and just started a few days ago after switching him to various wet foods over the last couple of weeks. im having a hard time. Poor baby, I feel like I'm really hurting him, I often have to jab him 3-5x to get a drop of blood. I've started feeding him chicken while doing it which might mess up his #s a little but keeps him distracted. He hates having his ears touched or rubbed let alone poked :(
Should I be aiming for AMPS & PMPS and then 2 other shots a day? When should those shots be done? Right after feeding (an hour or two) or halfway before his next feeding? I know I'll need to do a curve b/c I dont trust the results we got from the one at the vet due to the stress and change in food (also when they tested him they had to force feed him science diet wet and he will eat anything!) but I want to work my way up to that.

Thanks,
Jennifer

https://onedrive.live.com/redir?res...365&authkey=!APNxp2olYdaHa2o&ithint=file,xlsx
 
Welcome Jennifer!

A couple ideas. Warming the ear can really help at first. Lots of people use a rice sack. Fill a thinish sock with uncooked rice and knot. Warm in microwave until very warm. Hold it next to the ear for half a minute or so. Also a 25-27 gauge lancet may help. The 30/31 gauge that humans use can be too small.


Yes, a test before each shot is needed so you can be sure the amount you are planning to give is safe. And a test 5-7 hours after the shot should give you an idea of how low the insulin is taking him. A curve (every 2 hours or so will give you a complete picture.

The ProZinc protocol is in my signature.
 
The link that tells you how to access the spreadsheet and add it to your signature is the first thread in the Tech forum. I haven't figured out how to paste it into my thread.
 
Thanks Sue. I tried the sock the first time I tried to get blood from him and he didnt want it (or anything else) touching his ears. Someone told me I could try first giving hm a massage with it and then run it over his ear. Ill have to try that. Also I've been told I can try neosporin with pain relief. I did get a copy of the spreadsheet and attached the link I'd filled in his numbers and posted it to my MS OneDrive, kind of like google docs. I couldnt get the one to load from the main page so I just took someone else's and modified it. I plan to give him another test at 12 and 2 and 4 to try to find his nadir since I shot at 8 and it went down from 310 preshot prefood to 138. Some of the ladies on the Feline Diabetes FB group think he's on too high of a dose. I'm a night owl anyway, I just hope his ears survive that many shots :(
 
Sue so glad you saw Jennifer's post so quickly. I was hoping you would...she has been posting on Facebook FD group but so few of us use prozinc. I am typing on my tablet so won't get too detailed... But she is on a Huge dose shooting blind 1+ yrs, thankfully learning now to test. Kitty yesterday at +12 was 52!!...first day testing! Who knows how low he went?! She skipped and at +24 was 112. She waited for number to rise before shooting but did not realize to hold food so number was shootable but food influenced. This dose is likely way too high but I did not feel comfortable advising, ..this is not our insulin. Her vet never mentioned basics like peak, nadir, etc. So despite being on it awhile she needs help with some of the basics. We encouraged her to post here daily so she can have some much needed support and guidance. Jennifer I know it can be overwhelming but promise it gets lots easier. Ask lots of questions!!! You are in great hands!! Sue is a guru and great teacher
 
Last edited:
310 to 138 is more than a 50% drop. How long was it since the shot? ( we use +2/+4 etc to record tests, so +2 is 2 hours after the shot. If it's the nadir, it's fine. If earlier than that, and the nadir is lower, then yes, the dose may be too high. If he drops low at nadir, the preshot can be a bounce. When his body senses a lower number than he is used to, it releases extra glucose.
 
You can get the google docs SS also on the FB page file section. Sue, I think to attach SS you hover over your name in the dark bar top right of page, you will see a drop Dow menu, click signature. You can edit, add, etc... Here. Just copy URL to browser, highlight the as title if it is still there, click link icon above, then paste into box. Be sure to save changes before exiting
 
I saved the chart I modified from someone else's b/c the link on the main page isnt working. It's at https://onedrive.live.com/view.aspx...=file,xlsx&app=Excel&authkey=!APNxp2olYdaHa2o

I'm going to test him again now but that big drop was 2 hours after giving him his PM insulin at 8PM so it wasnt his nadir. I plan to stay up till 4 and test every 2 hours to see if I can find his nadir or at least make sure he doesnt go too low. I did reduce the insulin to 3u after yesterday's results.
 
well i just got 65 +4 since his last insulin shot. after his shot (3u) he ate about half a can of friskies, maybe 3/4. then when i was doing the +2 test i was feeding him pieces of chicken breast but its still dropped. i offered him some of he no-grain dry food and he didnt seem to be too interested at first but is now eating it. it's weird, its like he came looking for me to let me know he was hungry or something, he usually doesnt do that, he rarely leaves his spot in my bedroom when the dogs are out of their crate.
 
i am definitely thinking he's on too much insulin. ill check him again at 2 and if it doesnt go up ill give him some food with gravy or some honey if i have to. if it doesnt dip much further i think ill cut back to 2u the next time he's good to shoot (hopefully tomorrow am) and call the vet.
 
Do you have any Karo syrup, honey, or similar? Those get in faster than dry food.
Low number intervention:
If below 50 mg/dL on a human meter, or 68 mg/dL on a pet meter:
You add a few drops to a teaspoon or 2 of canned food, give it, wait 30 minutes and re-test.
Repeat every 30 minutes until the nadir is past and the numbers rise 3 times in a row.
 
Last edited:
They are supposed to drop, and will continue until past nadir. He has probably not oeaked yet. If he gets really low you could feed a couple teaspoons of gravy. For a number like this a little lc is fine. Rember to feed only small amounts so he does not get too full and will still eat if you need him to. Most kitties peak/nadir between 5-7 hours after their shot.... There are exceptions but this is good rule of thumb. You will figure your kitty's nadir out. If you test soon after feeding the number you get will be food influenced. This is OK, its just information. But if you are ever steering a curve because of too low bg,'s you want to be sure numbers are ultimately rising on their own not spiked only from food which will wear off. These are still safe numbers...you are not near needing honey. If you get a low number and don't know what to do, post for help. And you can always cross post in main forum for more eyes if no one is here. Aren't you glad to be able to see what is going on?...you are learning so much that will help your baby
 
Bj, we don't use prozinc, on lantus would feed LC to maybe mid 40s. Gravy low 40s, Karo drops added if lower. You recommend intervening w/ karo at 50 with prozinc?
 
Jennifer, you want to see where his nadir is..just keep him in safe numbers. Just like a human diabetic he may need a little food during his cycle to bump numbers here or there. You can get help here with finding his best dose. This is all good information... We all typically adjust doses up/down in .25 or at most .50 increments. You were being adjusted in full 1U increments....too much. My kitty was on 1u initially, then .75, .50 gradually down to .25 and less. Otherwise you can skip right over their optimum dose and they are forever bouncing. You want a dose you can shoot every 12 hours and them to even out
 
Last edited:
what is lc? is that low carb cat food? he knows where that is on the kitchen table and he took a few bites when i offered it to him (or so i think) but he seemed to be waiting for me to give him more wet food. i think he likes it :)
so the nadir is the low point for his sugar levels right? they should start to rise on thier own after the nadir with no food? just making sure i understand. i just dont want him to get below 50 on the human meter.
bjm when u say add a few drops? you mean of honey to the wet food?
 
Yes lc=low carb 10% or less. (See Dr Lisa's food chart I linked you on FB)

MC= med carb. 11-18/19%
HC= high carb 19%++

Normal non diabetic numbers are 50-120 so the 65 is lowish but safe. But it depends where in the cycle they come. getting a 50 or 60 2hours into a cycle with hours left to nadir demands attention, and probably some food to slow the drop. A 50 /60 at nadir is actually a good thing, as BG will begin to rise after nadir as the insulin is wearing off. You have what you need to manage the numbers, if you want to slow a drop you can steer w/ some lc...just a teaspoon or 2. If you want to STOP a drop, then you use HC and/0r Karo. But in small amounts. Poor the gravy off some gravy lovers fancy feast, just a teaspoon or 2...that's where the carbs are..this will bump them up. But will wear off quickly, which is why you test more often if they are low, low...is 40's or less. Karo can be added in drops to food, or rubbed on gums. Honey is fine too, or even ice cream. We would not be advising Karo until low 40s or less in Lantus, but I would rather a prozinc user advise you on those benchmarks side the nuances may be different
 
It is up to 162 so maybe the 65 I got 2 hours after shooting was the nadir? I'm going to head to bed soon and check him again in the morning, I have a feeling he'll be back up in the low 300s which is where he seems to be when the insulin has worn off. I'm not sure why he got so low the other day after 12 hours. It's possible it was a bad test result I guess. Still getting the hang of this. Glad he isnt too low but what would a 2 hour nadir mean? That he needs insulin more often? I wouldnt think it would mean a higher dose like the vet said to use (4u) because then he might get too low. The vet's reasoning for increasing the dose was that he went down but then right back up on 3u during his glucose curve. Maybe more data is needed and missing his shot this AM could be throwing things off. Maybe I also need to monitor how much he's eating more carefully.
 
I edited my prior post to make it more clear.
Note: with ProZinc, if you're dropping fast and it looks like you're going to go below 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer, or 68 mg/dL on a pet glucometer, you can "steer the numbers". This means feeding small amounts of food to slow the drop. It may have the effect of keeping the nadir safely above these numbers without requiring medium or high carb food. As you collect data on your cat's response, you will learn what works the best.

And no, a 2 hour nadir may mean the dose is too HIGH, unless there is another condition affecting the levels (ex infection). Ideally, you want an insulin dose that can be given safely every 12 hours, which gets the glucose close to more normal numbers (50-130 mg/dL on a human glucometer), for as much of the period as possible. This may allow the pancreas to heal. The nadir for most long-acting insulins tends to fall betwee +5 to +7 hours post shot for ProZinc, BCP PZI, and Lantus. Levemir's nadir can fall later, sometimes as late as the next pre-shot.

Can we get you to fill in some details for your User Profile and Signature? It'll help us give you feedback and ensure you get notified of responses to your questions.

Editing your Profile and Signature
In the upper right corner of the screen, within the dark blue bar, you will see ID, Inbox, and Alerts

Click on your ID.

On the left, under Settings, Personal Details:
If there is a small image you would like to use as an Avatar, click on the Avatar box.
The picture should be at least 200*200 pixels.

Indicate gender, if you wish it to be known.
Optionally fill in your birth date; you can check if you want it to show year or not.

Fill in as much location as you would like known.
Fill in Occupation if you would like it known.
If you have a home web page, you may enter that.
You may indicate when your joined FDMB.

In About You, fill in any details you would like to share.
Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature.
This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as
your name,
cat's name,
date of Dx (diagnosis)
insulin
meter
any other pertinent issues like if there are any food issues, history of DKA, hepatic lipidosis, pancreatitis, allergies, IBD, etc.
Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Contact Details.
This section lets you customize what communications you receive.
Adjust those you wish to alter.
Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.

Continue through the section list of
Privacy
Preferences
Alert Preferences
People You Follow
People You Ignore
Password

Always click the Save Changes button at the bottom when you have changed anything.
 
It was 348 at 1PM when we got up (we were up late) and I fed him but forgot to give him insulin (I was in a rush to my dr). I just took a measurement and it was 301 so I gave him 2.5 u of Prozinc and will test him every 4 hours tonight, maybe he will be OK to shoot again at 1am but so far I'm guessing he wont based on the past few days even though I lowered the insulin.
 
How will I know if I'm using too little insulin? If he never drops too low? Ideally we want (from FMDB FAQ), right?
  • Regulated [generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia]
  • Well regulated [generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia]
  • Tightly regulated [generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin]
 
You want a smile shaped curve with ProZinc. So say, amps is 220. Then a nadir 5-7 hours after the shot in the low 100s. Double digits are okay for a nadir too, as long as it is above 50. Then the hope is that he rises slowly to about the same range as your am preshot. So, smile curve.

Here's my formula for guiding low numbers: If you get a 50 or below anyplace in the cycle, feed some low carb and monitor. If he drops into the 40s, feed a little gravy off the higher carb food (you need gravy flavored foodin your hypo kit) and test every 20 minutes until he rises consistently. Give a little gravy as long as he stays in the 40s. Below that, honey.

i think I'd drop the dose, maybe to 2 units and get a curve. (that's a test every 2 hours for 12 hours). It'll give you an idea of how soon he drops how low he drops, how fast he rises etc. It's great info to have for dosing. Then if he does drop low enough on 2 units, add .25 more. If he is in good ranges with 2, hold the dose. If he drops in the 50s, lower the dose.
 
Hi Jennifer! Welcome! I've been off the board for a few days so haven't said hello yet.

I'm with Sue. Dropping to 2 units and doing a curve would probably be very helpful. That'll help tell you how low he is going and help determine the best dose.
 
I justed testing him again 7.5 hours after his 3.u shat that was given +2 after he ate and he was about 103 so that's pretty good. I'll check him again before bed and I'm hoping he'll be high enough to shoot. (stlll planning to use 2.5)
 
Am I right he dropped to 52 today? If so, I would go down to 2 units. Better too high than too low. You can always increase the dose; you can't get the insulin out of the cat once shot.:smuggrin:
 
I justed testing him again 5 hours after his 3.u shot that was given after he ate. It dropped to 101 so maybe that his near the nadir. Should I stick with 2.5 for a while and see how he does on that? Or go down to to 2u?

I'll know if he's not getting enough because his numbers wont be going down right?

I updated the signature in my profile signature. I was a little suprised to see the # drop from 1 until about 3 but it only went down from 348 to 301 with no insulin after eating wet food. Guess his insulin is working somewhat?
 
My phone can't see onedrive; sometimes, it can see Google Drive.
My notebook can see either.
 
I moved it over to Google+. Just now, his +4hr (after 2.5u) was 168 which I'm surprised but maybe that's a good sign that we are close to the right dose. He'e eating his friskies now and i'll give him 2.?u when he's finished and do another test to see what that does if I can stay up another hour. I'm expecting it should go up after eating a can of food even if I only gave him 2.5. What if it goes down but slowly? Should I then just restest before the morning feeding? and watch it if its going low?

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...2A-SWbFHQWUw9a5lRf7sKBZMY/edit#gid=1153899506
 
2 more steps on the spreadsheet (it won't let me view it):
In Google Drive, please do
File, Share.
Then do
File Publish to the web, copy that link, and put that link in your signature.

Always test before you shoot; lots of things may affect glucose levels, including food batches, activity levels, time of day, stress, and more. By testing, you find out if you're starting from the usual level, or if you need to consider adjusting based on your data and the current level (the nice thing about ProZinc; with data, you may adjust based on history and pre-shot levels!)

Food tends to cause a rise over the following 2 hours, then the insulin begins taking care of it and it will come down some. Because of this, some folks feed mini-meals to spread the food out along the time frame of the insulin working. This helps minimize the amount of food rise that is possible and may make for a smoother curve.

Hold food for 2 hours before injection, barring a hypo situation. That way you may see a non-food influenced pre-shot.

If you have concerns about low levels, test about +11, then pre-shot to see if the glucose is rising. If rising, it can be safe to shoot, if your data show its OK.
 
i just did a +5 on his last shot and got 349. id reduced it to 2.5 bc he had a really low # the other day (54). he was on 4u (prozinc). i wonder if i shoot even though its not time for hm to eat for another 5-6 hours. he always has access to low carb dry food but i dont want him to get too high. do i just check him again again 2 hours?

AMPS U +2 +6
362 2.5 150 349
 
Couldn't hurt to check and see where he goes in a few hours. Did you retest to make sure it wasn't just a bad test? Sometimes that can happen.

Did he maybe get into some contraband that might cause the numbers to go up?
 
It could be a bounce. Dropping 50% in 2 hours is steep. I am not sure what you are asking, but you should not give more insulin until the next regular shot time. As Rachel said, just keep testing and see what the rest of the cycle looks like.
 
I am confused with your spreadsheet, Jen. It looks like you got a 300+ for morning preshot. 150 at +4 and 349 at pm preshot. Is that right? I thought in your post the 349 came at +6. If you're confused about how to fill out the spreadsheet, just ask and we'll help.

If the spreadsheet is right, it was a nice cycle. A good smile shape, with the possibility of his going down further after the 150?
 
Welcome Jenifer!

Testing is soooooo important! My DH says that I am "the Queen of Testing"!:)

And that's ok, cause the more data you collect the safer your kitty will be. You'll know how he responds to the dose.

Testing...when I was learning poor Hank's ears! Believe me, it hurts us more than them! I have been blessed from the get go with Hank. Hank lays down when I put the rice sock into place and starts purring when I start rubbing and prick. NO matter how many times it may take to get the blood spot! Some people give a low carb treat afterwards so they learn to associate testing with a yummy treat. Giving a small piece of cooked chicken is fine.

Can you teach your dad how to test? That way your dad could test before each shot to keep Kinu safe while you're gone. You could get a sm. spiral notebook so he could write down the date, time and the #. Then you could record them later.

What really helped me when I first got on this forum in mid-September of 2014, was I started a folder of important papers for easy access. Such papers that I printed off were; What to do in case of a Hypo episode, Forum commonly used words and abbreviations and their definitions, both of BJM's articles, Prozinc protocol and a few others that I thought were important.

I agree with Sue and Rachel about a dose of 2u for right now, especially with you going out of town. It will be less worry for you while you're gone. Jenifer, we're here to help you. We've been where you are and are paying it forward for the help that we got.
You're doing great with Kinu! Home testing takes about 2 weeks to get the hang of it.

Oh, one more thing...those darn "patience pants"!! Here at the forum you'll hear people say to "put them on and pull them up TIGHT"!!! It's hard, believe you me! I've lost mine a few times! :banghead:

Hang in there! It does get easier!!

Kimmie
 
Kimmie, I dont think my dad will be able to test him. He's nervous about just giving him the insulin shots and is coming over to watch me do it and then again to try it himself before we leave although I told him how easy it is.
I'm just going to ask my dad to feed him canned food 2x a day and leave dry out and shoot 2.5U after feeding the cats and petting them for a few minutes. He's never gone hypo that I've noticed but since I changed him to wet food it's a good thing I started blood testing or else I could have been shooting when he was too low (and too much insulin - he was on 4u before I started testing him).

So tonight, I didnt test him before feeding him or give him his shot after he's done like I usually do, but I just tested him now +2.5 hours after feeding his wet food and he's at 372. He's usually below 350 before eating and then I feed and give insulin and he drops down to maybe 150 it looks like so far. I just gave him 2.5u just now after seeing the 372 2.5 hours after feeding him.

I wish he didnt hate me testing him so much or I was better at it. My mom offered to pay for me to take him to the vet so they can show me the best way to get blood from his ears and how to interpret his #s but I think we are doing OK and I'm hoping his ears will start to bleed more easily and I still need to get the neosporin with pain relief - I keep forgetting every time I'm out!
 
You might make a checklist of some of the Secondary Monitoring Tools in my signature, so he can do a quick assessment when he stops by.
Ex. appetite good/bad; water drinking: none, some, tons; litter box flooded/not, Behavior: plays, lethargic, irritable. etc.
List the things that are most 'normal' behaviors, so that things which have changed can be observed in comparison.
 
It's hard to figure out how much water he is drinking and also to get a urine sample since I also have his sister and they share a litterbox and will drink and eat each others food and water. When I feed the wet food, I give them separate plates and usually they each eat their own plate but sometimes he steals hers if she lets him get away with it. I will definitely ask my dad to keep his eyes open to as many of those things as he can.
 
Have you tried the rice sock? It really does help their ears to bleed, as does the 25-27 gauge lancet.

You might also consider reducing the dose .25 while you are gone. It is better for them to run a little high than ever to go low?
 
Hi jennifer- maybe we can find someone near you who can help you get the testing technique down. Perhaps if you post on the main forum, add your location to the subject line, you'd get more eyes there. It sounds like you may not be spacing your shots out to every 12 hours? I think sue may have suggested 2u above...and if you are going to be away without him being tested, you may feel better that he would be safer on a lower dose. Lots of folks do that if they cannot be around to monitor. Its always safer to have them higher for a couple of days than too low ever. Low numbers are not necessarily something you will 'see' ...they can be near hypo territory with no outward symptoms at all. That is why we all encourage testing so you can see what the insulin is doing in them and catch if it goes too low. If you can try to read back through and try some of the things that have been suggested I think it would help. Maybe you will start feeding him canned more frequently spread through the day in mini meals, start transitioning him off the dry (but test a lot while doing this)...and post every day, getting advice before your shots until you start getting an understanding on your own what to do. I would let sue and other Experienced PZI users help you with dosing (I have only used lantus w/my kitty- and it works a bit differently). As long as you are testing, you will be able to manage any lows with food. Be sure you have some high carb gravy foods in the house along with your LC canned. Did you read catinfo.org? That is truly one of the most helpful sites for dealing with the nutrition aspect of diabetes. It really does help clarify things, plus she has the great food charts there with carb values. We have members all over, see if you post on main board if maybe we can catch eyes of someone near you who may be able to help.
 
Hi Jenifer,
That's a good idea what Betty suggested about posting to see if there is someone near you to help you with testing.

Also, I think what Sue was suggesting was to have the dose at 2u, 2x/day, 12hrs apart while you are gone.

If you don't have someone that can test before each shot, I think you should hold off any injections until you return. The reason is that I have heard a couple of stories where people have had someone (they trusted) give an injection that went terribly wrong. Example of one story that was posted: The member had a rehearsal dinner for a wedding the next day that she was going to. She had already showed this person how to give the injection. When she got home that night she forgot that she had both kinds of syringes there. The person used the wrong syringe and gave her cat 7u of insulin instead of 1.75u. Her cat was ok and lived.

Another story that was told to me was from a lady I know that I'm in church choir with. Her and her husband went on vacation and put both their diabetic cats in a reputable kennel till they returned. Both of her cats died while there. She told me that she thinks the staff may have mistakenly given the wrong dosage injection to each of the cats.

The point I'm trying to get across is that testing before each injection is VERY important!

Kinu should be fine while you are gone. High numbers kill slowly while low numbers can kill quickly.

When I first took over care of my grandkitty, Hank, his numbers were in the 700's! I took him twice within 2-3 weeks to the vet to get tested and both times were in the 700's! That's when we asked our son to bring Hank over to let us try to help Hank. I found this site on September 21, 2014 and started a spread sheet soon after.

Take a look at Hank's SS. You'll see a lot of high numbers at first; 600's, 500's, 400's. You'll also see a couple of below 5o BG numbers. They were very unexpected cause Hank was acting fine and I hadn't changed the dosage.

I know it's not the ideal situation to not give shots while you're away but it will be less worry for you and your dad. Just have your dad feed and maybe use the rice sock by placing on the inside of his ear and use his thumb to rub his ear. Then give a treat afterwards. That way your dad can get Kinu used to having his ears rubbed.

I'm just trying to help. I mean no disrespect to you.

Kimmie
 
Hi Jen,I agree with everyone who has told you to drop his dose down some.For one,it will be much easier for your dad to give an accurate measurement while you are gone,and secondly it will greatly reduce the risk of him dropping too low.Better to be safe than sorry,and much better for him to run a little high than too low.
 
Well we got back from our trip and my dad came over 2x a day and gave him 2.5u each time and fed him and hung out for a little while. He wasnt drinking excessive water. Since we got back I have been having trouble sleeping and also testing him so my spreadsheet isnt filled out completely but today his AMPS was 81. That was after my husband gave him PM shot of 2.5U but didnt test him. I think I do need to at least show him how to do it. He's around more than my dad but not much since he works like a hundred hours a week. I have no idea why his AMPS was so low. Hubby forgot to feed him last night but i fed him a few hours later after the shot.
 
His AMPS was probably so low because his dose is still too high. Without monitoring his cycles to see how low the insulin you are giving is taking him (at nadir) then you can only guess, and he may (likely) still be getting too much. As we have said, if you can try to spread his food out over the day, and leave LC canned for him to eat if he goes low it would really help. The ONLY time to withhold food is roughly for the couple hours prior to his pre-shot test so you are sure you are getting a clean, non-food influenced number. Otherwise it is best for him to eat small meals spread throughout the day. You cannot rely on symptoms to tell you what is going on with him, especially not if he is too low, often they will be asymptomatic and by the time any symptoms are apparent it is in dangerous territory. Because you were on such a high dose, you may not realize still that 2.5 is still a lot for most cats. If you can be consistent with testing for awhile, and get his patterns established, you will be able to fine tune better to find his dose. You can get help with that here. Just keep posting as you go, and don't try to punt on your own. We can help you get him back on track. If you can start being consistent with the monitoring, then get rid of the dry food, he will be well on his way.
 
Last edited:
I'm glad he did okay while you were away. I'm with Betty. Time to hunker down, get some data and see if he needs less insulin now that he is eating wet food.
 
Glad you're back! And glad to hear that he did well while you were gone!

I'd like to just throw my agreement with everyone else in here. Without monitoring and some more numbers, we really can't be sure of what is going on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top