Hermione's Dosing Rollercoaster pt3

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShipsCat

Active Member
As pointed out, I let the previous thread get WAY too long, time for a new one!

And a lovely 188 for PMPS! More stalling, not that I'm complaining about these numbers! :p
I'm thinking I should go back to .25u when she's shootable again? Unless she suddenly vaults up high, of course.

I also put a note in my SS, yesterday's prolonged stalls messed up my recordkeeping.
 
424 @ +5 :(

It sure was nice while it lasted, though! Maybe she'll come back down like she did yesterday.
 
I hope she'll come down. I wonder if you should just give a tiny dose to anything over 180 or so? Maybe if after a test to be sure she is rising. For example, the 197 - I think that's definitely high enough to shoot. The 200 is a no shoot number for newbies, because they can't be sure how their cat will react and they may not be comfortable testing. It is true, we can't be sure how she'll react :p, but you do know what to do with low numbers. What do you think?

She is having long cycles. It may be time to try chasing the dose? (In the advanced options guide above under chasing the dose)
 
I think her little run of awesome numbers and really long cycles may be over. :(

She's at 574 for PMPS. I'm tempted to start fresh at 1u and see what happens. I'm off work tonight anyway. Thoughts? I'll certainly keep chasing the dose on the table if - WHEN - she starts doing that again! With all of your help, of course.
 
She does look a little messed up, with the dose changes and the long cycles. I think a restart is not a bad idea, but I think I'd try 0.5?
 
That sounds great too! I was just thinking that maybe 1u might be too much if she's just having a spiky cycle.

She's negative for ketones too, which is awesome. I was a little worried with the big jump in numbers this cycle.
 
179 @ AMPS! I'm going to make sure she's rising and give a tiny dose.

I'm SO glad you suggested .5u today Sue. The 1u I was considering would definitely have been too much. Little Hermione wants my hair to be as gray as hers :p

PS. I didn't mean to actually tag you, Sue! Not at this time of the morning when it's not an emergency. I apologize! I edited the post but I'm sure it pinged you anyway.
 
Last edited:
Seriously, Hermione is trying to drive me around the bend!

169 after 30min stall. Within the variance of the meter, but not exactly rising...
 
Agreed! If she is going down, Mr. P is visiting. (SO glad you got the other tests to know she was falling, not rising). I'd feed her and look again in 2 hours.

Good news!
 
I totally fell asleep after I posted (night owl here). That's cool that Mr. P may have dropped by! Hopefully he hangs around a bit.

She's 141 now (after 8hrs stall). I'll feed her half her breakfast & recheck after a while, if I feed her all of it she won't be hungry for shot time. She has been snacking on her YA throughout the morning too.
 
Fabulous Kimi! I can see a really big change in the progress. :) keep bustin those moves! ;)
 
Thanks, Tara!I'm super excited for our progress, but so superstitious too ;)

255 3hrs post meal & 24 hours without insulin! I gave her the rest of her breakfast can and .25u insulin.

I know what you mean I waited an extra day or so before believing we were otj
Haha fate and all that and I'm not overly superstitious either but won't tempt fate!
 
Wow!!!! That's awesome! Hermione seems to be definitely be getting a visit from Mr. P!
 
Well, shoot. (Pun intended). The tricky thing about Hermione is that she jumps up to such high levels after giving tiny doses on low levels. At this point in the sugar dance, a cat usually stays in relatively low levels, getting tiny doses and gradually dropping. You have a unique cat, Kimi, although I am sure that is of little comfort. :arghh:

You are doing great, adjusting to her every level. I wish it wasn't such a consuming process.
 
Yeh, she's a special little snowflake for sure! I know she's not sneaking high-carb food anymore, everyone is on YA. But as long as she's still feeling good I'll keep on keeping on.

451 @ +6 (too sleepy to turn on the computer in the am)

339 for PMPS, .5u given. At least she's out of the reds. And maybe Mr P will stop by again!
 
Your patience with her will get you where you need to go. There's really no other way to stay sane when you have a particularly tricky kitty. From a bean who understands ... :)
 
Thanks, Kris! Our rubber-ball kitties certainly try our patience. And just LOVE to make things complicated for us!

Speaking of complicated...

91 @ +4!

I guess I need to order some u100 syringes. I've got my 1/2 unit u40 syringes marked out at 1/4u (measured with a caliper, yes I'm that neurotic) but it looks like the 1/2 unit u100 offer even more precise dosing.
 
She hopped back up on the sofa with me so I wasn't as worried about testing. Hopefully she won't skyrocket back into the red/blacks in a few hours!

140 @ +7
 
308 @ AMPS, .25u given

Since .5u brought her into green from 339 and I'm really good at sleeping through my alarm clock for checks at nadir I chickened out and gave a smaller dose.
 
564 @ PMPS .5u given

Sleep is awesome, but I'd keep trading it for better numbers for Hermione, though :p
 
Don't worry...I'm betting in time you'll get your chance to forgo sleep in favor of keeping an eye on those numbers! :)
 
If she's still in the black/red for AMPS I'll go up to .75u, if she's lower I'll keep the .5u.

So hard not to be frustrated & worried for her after the wonderful numbers of a few days ago :(
 
484 @ +5

260 for PMPS! I'm stalling a little but just to see which direction she's going. I'm thinking .5u if she's rising, .25u if she's slowly decreasing? I'll be home tonight to monitor.
 
262 after 30 min, so within the strip variance. I went ahead & gave .25u.

I'm wondering if all that black and red was just a really long bounce? OR just Hermione trying to drive us crazy :p
 
262 after 30 min, so within the strip variance. I went ahead & gave .25u.

I'm wondering if all that black and red was just a really long bounce? OR just Hermione trying to drive us crazy :p

I agree - could be be both. But it looks likely that she bounced for 3 cycles after those greens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top