Jeanne & Dottie
Member Since 2016
Dottie and I are playing a game of insulin tag. She's on Protamine Zinc Insulin, and we're in the first days of getting her regulated.
This is proving to be quite a challange. She's had dental surgery to remove all her teeth, and her mouth was severely infected before the dental work. (stomatitis). She had also been given prednisolone to try to control the inflammation. ALSO she does not react well to surgical anesthesia and it took her several days before the effects finally wore off.
NOW, suddenly she is feeling better, wants to play..but getting her numbers down is proving to be an issue.
Before her dental surgery her BG was at 445.
Here's her numbers for today.
12:30am 165
3:15am BG 206
4:45am BG 231
11:00am BG 248
3:15pm BG 274
7:30pm BG 204
9:45pm BG 105
Chris is helping me with Dottie's spreadsheet and I just sent her the BG numbers ( I have visual issues that make that Spreadsheet daunting..but I'm working to develop a workaround soon)..not sure if they'll be up on the SS yet.
Originally my vet started her off at 5 units. But he wants me to report problems, and yet when I do talk to him on the phone I am keenly aware that he's in a rushed state..he's between patients. And he can't hold everything in his head..he's not a computer..and he probably didn't have Dottie's record in his hands when I talked to him..the vet tech kind of just dragged him away from another patient.
So the 5 units wasn't enough at the time so the very next day he upped the dose to 7 units, and she had a bad crash. So he dropped back to 5 units..and she had a scary dive with that. This is when I started to really ask for help here, only on the main forum. Doc said divide the dose to 2.5 units BID...we did..and that seemed too strong as well. So I'm not sure if we now need to go back to once a day injections or not. I rather like the idea of BID because I feel we can get a better all even distribution of numbers, but for the past two days I have not been able to give two injections a day.
Today after her 11am test I tried a very small dose of insulin, .2 of a unit, Protamine Zinc, (100u/ml)..after the pretest. I also fed her 15 minutes after the pretest. As you can see, the insulin had little effect so tonight I want to try .5 of a unit.
As you can see, between 7:30 pm and 9:45pm there is a BG drop of 99 points. This has to be because she suddenly got taken by a fit of playing. She loves her little krinkleballs, (mylar crackly sounding toys), and batted them all over. After she played I even fed her a meal of Friskies Chicken & Tuna pate, to try to head off a BG drop...but her number went down anyway.
Looks like I'm going to be living A LOT in the Prozinc forum for at least a while. I need wiser heads who use Prozinc and are familiar with it's protocol.
What do I do when she wants to play? Banish her to another room without toys until we can get a better fix on what she needs as a dose?? The evening before was pretty much the same..when she plays her BG takes a nosedive.
My feeling is that her body is still adjusting to Life Without Infected Teeth And Gums, not being on prednisolone, and bad reactions to anesthesia during surgery. So her body is changing even as I try to anchor her with a good daily dose of insulin.
Help! I need help, from other Prozinc users.
This is proving to be quite a challange. She's had dental surgery to remove all her teeth, and her mouth was severely infected before the dental work. (stomatitis). She had also been given prednisolone to try to control the inflammation. ALSO she does not react well to surgical anesthesia and it took her several days before the effects finally wore off.
NOW, suddenly she is feeling better, wants to play..but getting her numbers down is proving to be an issue.
Before her dental surgery her BG was at 445.
Here's her numbers for today.
12:30am 165
3:15am BG 206
4:45am BG 231
11:00am BG 248
3:15pm BG 274
7:30pm BG 204
9:45pm BG 105
Chris is helping me with Dottie's spreadsheet and I just sent her the BG numbers ( I have visual issues that make that Spreadsheet daunting..but I'm working to develop a workaround soon)..not sure if they'll be up on the SS yet.
Originally my vet started her off at 5 units. But he wants me to report problems, and yet when I do talk to him on the phone I am keenly aware that he's in a rushed state..he's between patients. And he can't hold everything in his head..he's not a computer..and he probably didn't have Dottie's record in his hands when I talked to him..the vet tech kind of just dragged him away from another patient.
So the 5 units wasn't enough at the time so the very next day he upped the dose to 7 units, and she had a bad crash. So he dropped back to 5 units..and she had a scary dive with that. This is when I started to really ask for help here, only on the main forum. Doc said divide the dose to 2.5 units BID...we did..and that seemed too strong as well. So I'm not sure if we now need to go back to once a day injections or not. I rather like the idea of BID because I feel we can get a better all even distribution of numbers, but for the past two days I have not been able to give two injections a day.
Today after her 11am test I tried a very small dose of insulin, .2 of a unit, Protamine Zinc, (100u/ml)..after the pretest. I also fed her 15 minutes after the pretest. As you can see, the insulin had little effect so tonight I want to try .5 of a unit.
As you can see, between 7:30 pm and 9:45pm there is a BG drop of 99 points. This has to be because she suddenly got taken by a fit of playing. She loves her little krinkleballs, (mylar crackly sounding toys), and batted them all over. After she played I even fed her a meal of Friskies Chicken & Tuna pate, to try to head off a BG drop...but her number went down anyway.
Looks like I'm going to be living A LOT in the Prozinc forum for at least a while. I need wiser heads who use Prozinc and are familiar with it's protocol.
What do I do when she wants to play? Banish her to another room without toys until we can get a better fix on what she needs as a dose?? The evening before was pretty much the same..when she plays her BG takes a nosedive.
My feeling is that her body is still adjusting to Life Without Infected Teeth And Gums, not being on prednisolone, and bad reactions to anesthesia during surgery. So her body is changing even as I try to anchor her with a good daily dose of insulin.
Help! I need help, from other Prozinc users.
Last edited:
