here we go again tonight! shooting low?

Status
Not open for further replies.

katlady1974

Member Since 2013
so, Timber is low again tonight- lower than lastnight's preshot. i tested him at +10 just out of curiosity and he's gone down even more since then. i'm going to wait 30 mins and test him again. today was the first day he's had no dry food. and we noticed tonight that his nose is wet again! not sure if that means anything, but his nose hasn't been wet in a long time!

so, i feel like the roller coaster evenings continue! :dizcat
 
Ok wait another 30 while i find some help.

1. Are you able to get more tests in tonite?
2. Do you have at least 20 strips, syrup and high carb gravy food?

Are you ready for some fun?

Let me know
Wendy
 
Great. we can fake the high carb food if we need to with low carb and syrup mixed in.

anyway While we wait.. Read this

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Just so you know what to expect.. Chances are the experinced member will have you shoot and feed then do a test maybe 1-2 hours after to see how he is doing. And then go from there... More tests if he is dropping, less tests if he is rising.

Put the coffee on!!

Wendy
 
Low carb Fancy Feast wet plus a drop or two of Karo syrup will give you a high carb food. Ice cream works too!
 
Hi!

Wendy PMd me and asked if I could help. We don't use dry food to control low numbers so as long as you have his regular food and syrup or honey (and ice cream is fine), then it will work.

Can you please post the next test number while I look at his SS? Then we will decide whether you shoot or not, ok?
 
Well here's hoping you don't need it. Marje is coming her soon to help you. She is very experienced and helpful. Listen carefully to her instructions and check back to read the posts often.
 
i just tested him again- one hour past the PMPS with still no food. he's slowly rising. he's at 183 now. should i give him 1u instead of 2u?
 
Normally when we stall, we shoot the full dose because stalling is like giving a dose reduction.

However...this is your first time shooting a blue number AND you completely stopped dry food today, correct? One thing to keep in mind is that if you reduce the dose at shot time, the cycle will probably look fairly similar to what it would be with 2u. You will see the effects later....perhaps late this cycle, perhaps tomorrow.

There's also a good chance that this number is low enough that his liver will start to release counterregulatory hormones and he will head back up.

What makes you feel most comfortable?
 
yes, today is the first day with no dry food at all. i'm totally freaked out! i'm not sure what to do!! nailbite_smile
 
Don't freak out :-D remember you are in control because:

---you test
---you can feed to bring up numbers
---you have us to stay with you...and we do...all night if necessary.

If you are scared to shoot the full dose, it's ok....you can shoot 1u. Or perhaps shoot 1.5u. What do you think about that?
 
ok, i think i'm going to shoot 1u. and then i'll test him at +1 and +2 to see how he reacts.

THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!! :-D :-D :-D
 
Sounds good but keep posting here as/when Marje asks, we don't want any surprises and she is going to be waiting and watching and worrying...
 
Ok. I will be here for you tonight, ok? I have your thread marked to send me a message when you post so if you have a question or when you get the +1, please post and I will be right over, ok?

Just remember to breathe :-D It's ok...we do this all the time and if I thought it wasn't safe for you to shoot, I'd recommend against it.

See you soon. :-D
 
I'll be watching from the sidelines too. There's probably a half dozen or more folks watching. You're in good hands ;-)
 
awww, you all are a wonderful group of people!!!! :YMHUG:

i gave him 1u of insulin and i'll definitely keep you all posted throughout the evening!! :-D :-D :-D
 
Assuming he ate just before the shot, that's probably the beginning of the food hitting his bloodstream (and your meter).
 
tested at +4 and he's pretty much the same- 217 now. so i'm calling it a night. thanks again for all of you help!! :-D :-D
 
ok, thanks for that! i tested him this morning at +10 and he's 268. luckily i have no early appts today so i can go in to work a bit late to adjust his shot time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top