Henrys BG still in the blue

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sue, thanks for your coaching with the U40 conversion. I think I understand the unit marks on the U100. Until I realized that you guys shoot 1.2, 1.4, etc- !!
I was just happy to understand 1.5, and actually see it on the syringe. I wont fret about the 1.2's & 1.4's yet.

Question- Im now able to tell whole and half unit amounts by sight on the U100, do I still need to refer to conversion chart?

Just to confirm, do you and Robin think we're still OK with a "no-shoot under 200" rule?

Henry seems lively enough

ALSO- Do I need "Ketostix- or KetoDIA stix? I tried Rite-Aid & Petsmart with no luck

thanks again
 
Yes, always refer to the chart when drawing up insulin. Every single time no matter what. You can't get the insulin back out once you shoot it in.

Again yes, until you have more data on your spreadsheet stay with a no shoot of 200. Although I don't think you will get much more data for shooting lower. Keep testing to see what is going on but (anti jinx) I think you are headed to a really great place.

And again yes, you should be testing for ketones, even if you have low numbers they are still diabetic numbers sometimes and testing is easy and cheap. Bringing the kitty back from DKA is not easy or cheap. Testing can keep you out of trouble.
 
Sue or Rob-

I may be nitpicking here, but prior to testing, I've been warming Henrys ears using a hot, hot tap water washcloth, wrung out very dry, and then applied to his ear using gentle pressure for approx 10 sec- then the prick.

Results are great, but can that little bit of moisture affect the test results?
 
Wow Taisia! Beautiful blue numbers!! And you're doing a purr-fect job with the testing!!! I'm so proud of you, missy!!!!
 
He's doing beautifully.

I was hoping that after a few more cycles he would drop down into double didgets. I know I said no shot under 200 but if starts creeping back up to 150 or 160 you will want to start shooting tiny microdoses to help him out.
 
Ok Robin- - i guess it will be time to see if i can figure out the ever scary u100 :(
I will have my conv chart ready- ho boy

Will post his BG tomorrow am. Since you wont be on the board at 630am est tomorrow, is
there a way you can tell me what his dose should be - if hes at- lets say 150?
Or how about dose for 160?
 
Since you don't have any data for shooting low numbers I wouldn't try it unless you will be there to moniter.

U 100 isn't scarry, just double check, have you been practicing? :-D
 
I wont be home to monitor after 7 am, no. Soonest I can run home would be
around noon or 1 when im on lunch. As for practicing the U100, not
sure how to do that- ? I understand the whole and half marks like 1 unit- and .5 -thanks to someones picture with the
little green numbers, but
no smaller than that -- feel like id actually need someone on the phone with me while i
actually figure it out
 
THANK YOU ROBIN- hes 146 at 5: 40 am today- I weighed him on my scale- hes 14 lbs- He still seems 'skinny' to me, but hes always been round and plump- thats probly why i think he seems 'skinny' now-
i will look for your pm---
 
8:17 BG test 157-a tad higher than previous few tests- (stress? ) no shoot because I have to leave in a bit, and wont be home to monitor - had some pure bites as a reward - left food out
 
He's sneaking up but he does seem to bring himself down. Are you practicing with the U100s? I am thinking if he does get insulin sometime, it will definitely be less than .5.
 
Funny you should mention practice Sue!
Robin spent a lot of time with me on the phone
earlier, and yes! I think I may be able to handle the U100
micro dose. I will see how he reads tomorrow AM and
take it from there. Robin also said he may need alittle
help in coming down a bit!
 
Yes, I had a lovely conversation by phone with Taisia tonight. We discussed handeling low numbers, hypo kits, steering the numbers with med & high carb foods, the half unit syringes, the conversion chart, shooting as needed, etc, whew, I think we both feel better and more confident now.

Since she doesn't have alot of data I feel that she should look at dosing as needed. Shooting micro doses once he reaches a certain number but only when she will be there to monitor since it is uncharted territory.

I think anything over 150 would be a shootable number and pretty standard, I would suggest shooting a .2unit in the U100 syringe and test to see how that works and gather data on that dose and go from there.

I'll check back in the morning.
 
Thanks Robin for my much needed tutorial! Home at 11:30PM- Henry seems to still * always * want to eat- Im guessing thats normal( ?) He always acted like he was starving before the diagnosis, and now that hes on food he enjoys, hes still wanting food constantly--

Will post numbers in the am !
 
Nice 130 BG at 6:40am- Robin was on the money in noticing he does seem to be able to bring his numbers down- Will retest at lunch time. Sent Dr Pierson Henrys medical records from orig vet, and have a final phone consult at 3 today with her just to review current progress-

will check in at lunchtime
 
I'll be interested in what Dr. P thinks. I wonder if there is any way for you to decrease the carb count to push the numbers a teeny bit lower. For instance, if you are giving a 8% carb food, can you find a 3-5% carb food he will eat (that is not seafood)? Raw food often does this, but it is a big switch to make. You might consider one of the ready made raw choices (Dr. P will know the choices). See if he likes it by buying a sample or small amount)

But 130 is really close to our target 120. Now we just need to see some double digits midcycle. (can you get some numbers during the day at odd times to see? Be sure to note when they are in combination with food
 
Nice AMPS, I'm still hoping he will drop down into double digets soon.

I'll be interested to hear what Dr. Lisa thinks.

Sue is right about trying to lower the carbs more. My guys loved their raw food diet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top