Henry 3/4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela&Henry

Very Active Member
We just got home from the vet. Henry was dropped off at 10:00 am and was at vet until 6:00 waiting for him to pee. He finally went at 5:30, after fluid. I knew when he went at 8:30 this morning it would be sometime before he went again.
So they got a culture to send off and he also has no ketones. Of course he ate nothing there as usual.
They checked his BGs with his meter +4 was 181 +8 was 240.
His AMPS was 440.
 
I think his dose may be a little bit too low, but I'm not sure. I like the idea of the timed feeder and see if some snacks overnight help his AMPS come down. It makes sense to me to stay at 1.5 a little longer and collect some more data. Today doesn't really count b/c the patterns at the vet can be different than at home. Hopefully things will be clearer in a couple more days, especially if you can get in a bed-time or early morning check here or there.

If you wanted to try 1.75 though I think that would be ok. No low #s so far to worry about, and the nighttime PSs haven't been under 150, so I think there may be room for a little more insulin. I wouldn't rush into it though, and it would be nice to have a couple night-time #s 1st to be sure he isn't going lower then.
 
I am going to try to get in a bedtime check tomorrow night, he has had a stressful day and we still have to do his +12 check in a few minutes. I just want to let him relax and enjoy being home the rest of the night. I think I will stick with 1.5 a bit longer and hope hes shootable tonight. If he is at 200 or 190's I will give him a reduced dose, maybe .75. I am really chicken to shoot if its lower than that especially at night. I would be having a panic attack and not sleep at all.
Will post his PMPS in just a little bit.
 
Oh yeah, definitely not tonight, vet trips will wonkify the #s anyway. Hope you both have a nice relaxed evening - you've earned it!

drinking11
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top