Help

92 is a great AMPS, you could have giving him his shot, and then posts us , as long as you give the small meal at +2 the BG always gets higher, remember when your cat eats the BG raises ,with ProZinc is good to test again at +2, as you do and feed a small snack or small meal, it keeps the insulin in check and as well as several meals./snack, during the day 82 is good also don't panic just go back to 1/12 you had 83 as well, now do not please give anything else than his regular low carb food, Do you have anyone that can help you to give tonight shot, it is not good to skip a shot, especially the PMPS, the morning reading will sky high, we want to regulate with low carb foods and the shots, not High carbs, again 82 is good, I am here keep posting

@Suzanne & Darcy
 
remember that you dis not give insulin and you are not giving insulin tonight either, just give some low carb food during the day, by feeding high carbs during the day by morning his BG will be in the high 400's range that is not good for his pancreas, or the system, test again in 1 hour, have you fed 1-2 tsp of low carb?
 
remember that you dis not give insulin and you are not giving insulin tonight either, just give some low carb food during the day, by feeding high carbs during the day by morning his BG will be in the high 400's range that is not good for his pancreas, or the system, test again in 1 hour, have you fed 1-2 tsp of low carb?
I just tested again it read 80. He usually gets his shot at 6 am it’s now 7:33am still no shot. And yes he ate some low carb food.
 
92 is a great AMPS, you could have giving him his shot, and then posts us , as long as you give the small meal at +2 the BG always gets higher, remember when your cat eats the BG raises ,with ProZinc is good to test again at +2, as you do and feed a small snack or small meal, it keeps the insulin in check and as well as several meals./snack, during the day 82 is good also don't panic just go back to 1/12 you had 83 as well, now do not please give anything else than his regular low carb food, Do you have anyone that can help you to give tonight shot, it is not good to skip a shot, especially the PMPS, the morning reading will sky high, we want to regulate with low carb foods and the shots, not High carbs, again 82 is good, I am here keep posting

@Suzanne & Darcy
just tested again it read 80. He usually gets his shot at 6 am it’s now 7:33am still no shot. And yes he ate some low carb food.
 
80 is good, test got now every 3,hours now that’s there’s anything wrong, is just for you comfortable, are yo feeding several meals during the day? What is his diet? What do you you feed
 
80 is good, test got now every 3,hours now that’s there’s anything wrong, is just for you comfortable, are yo feeding several meals during the day? What is his diet? What do you you feed
Yes I free feed young again mature and fancy feast
 
I am glad you skipped today’s shot. You don’t have to do much testing today. Can you get a +10 (two hours before his normal shot time?). I would like to have a heads up of where he might be at PMPS time.

And please post the +10 test on the ProZinc forum and not here.

What time will his evening shot time be in your local time. I am on Eastern time (as it says on my signature.)
 
We were last at the vets on January 3rd the results from the
Fructosamine test were in the 500’s the vet said that was his reason for the increase. His pm shot should be given at 6 pacific time. I will be home all day and night with him I’ll post results at +10
Thank you for ur help
 
We were last at the vets on January 3rd the results from the
Fructosamine test were in the 500’s the vet said that was his reason for the increase. His pm shot should be given at 6 pacific time. I will be home all day and night with him I’ll post results at +10
Thank you for ur help
Okay. That explains it. I kept looking at his spreadsheet and thinking…. I KNOW I never recommended an increase to 2.5 units — he had already earned a reduction down to 2.25.

Anyway, 2.5 is too high of a dose for him right now. Doses should be based on the nadir (the lowest point in the cycle, which will usually occur mid-cycle.) If his fructosamine test was in the 500s, the only useful thing that tells you is that he is diabetic. The fructosamine gives an average of his blood glucose over a period of about two weeks. So that tells you that he has some really high levels and also some lower levels and it’s an average and doesn’t tell you how low he goes. It also doesn’t take into account that, if he was on insulin on January 3, he could have been bouncing high from lower numbers (I see bouncing on his spreadsheet.) So a fructosamine test isn’t a good way of guessing (and that’s all it is… guessing) what an appropriate insulin dose is for a cat. The only way to be sure he doesn’t go hypo is to test at home and know his nadir. Once a cat has had a fructosamine test to diagnose their diabetes, it’s a waste of money to ever pay for another fructosamine test (especially when you are already home testing.) Also, your glucometer will give you an average of all your tests for the last week, 2 weeks, etc.
 
Now, I am also not saying that those green numbers on your SS are bad. Anything 50-120 on the ReliOn is within normal cat BG. He may need to increase back up to 2.25 units, but first we need to give 2 units a chance to settle for 7 days. Hopefully, it will be a dose that you will be able to shoot consistently without skipped shots.
 
His pm shot should be given at 6 pacific time.
Okay. At 4 p.m. your time (7 p.m. my time) please post the +10 test on the ProZinc forum. We will link this thread to that thread and go from there. Then I will see you over there also a little before 6 p.m. your time (9 p.m. for me) and we will see where he is then.

Give yourself and him a break from testing until then. 🙂
 
Back
Top