Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karina Smet

Member Since 2024
My cat was just diagnosed with Diabetes and has had been insulin for about 2 months. In the last 2 weeks he has trouble walking. Vet said this was diabetic neuropathy and gave him gabapentin but this is doing nothing to make it better and he can now barely walk. I’ve been giving him methyl B12 after reading this for him 3 mg twice a day for the last week, but he’s still not improving. What else can I do?
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
When you say he’s been having trouble walking, are you sure it is not from low blood sugar? Have you tested the blood sugar when this happens?
What insulin is he on and how much?
If it is neurology, and it could well be that if he is unregulated and still in high numbers, Gabapentin will not help it. What is the methyl B12 you are giving him? There are 2 types of B12 and one is not suitable. If you are giving the correct one, it takes time for it to work and you will also need to make sure his blood glucose numbers are becoming more regulated. Can you show me what you are giving him? To put a photo into this page you need to copy and paste it.
To get him better regulated I would recommend you think about home testing the blood glucose as this is the only way you will be able to tell if he is getting enough insulin. Just going to the vet for curves every so often will not be enough.
If you would like to do this I can help you get sorted.
What type of food are you feeding him?
 
HI Bron & Sheba, I'm sure it's not low blood sugar, I've checked. He's consistently dragging his front and back right side and this has come on quickly after he was on vetsulin for the 1st month. He's currently on 4 units of vetsulin 2x a day. We did start home testing and have done 2 curves for the vet. (vet had him on 2 units to start, then 4 units, then to 3.5 units and now back to 4). I've been giving him 3mg of Zobaline like this page suggests for the last 2 weeks now and he's continued to get worse on the neuropathy. I'm thinking it's his BG. He's fed 1 1/2 servings of Sheba fish pate in the morning and at night. (he weights about 12 lbs). He does have access to dry food (Iams weight control-as we have other cats in the house that graze feed). Yes any help you can offer would be appreciated. I'm new to this forum and not sure how to use this page
 
His first curve at home was on 3.5 units on 9/9. (about 2 weeks after being switched from 4 to 3.5 units). He ate at 11am this day and was gave insulin.
11:15am: food & shot, 3.5 units (no test)
2:15pm: 210
4:18pm: 186
6:30pm: 279
9:24pm: 315

We increased him to back to 4 units on 9/12. Did a new curve on 9/16. He ate at 9:30 and was given insulin w/ meal.
9:07am: 374 (preshot)
11:29am: 259
2:30pm: 270
5:02pm: 77
8:25pm: 594

We work during the day so it was hard to get them right at the +2 hour mark each time.
 
Would you be willing to set up our spreadsheet and add a couple of weeks data into it so we can see it?
You will find the link to how to do this here HELP US HELP YOU
The signature link is also in this link. It will tell us all about your kitty. See mine. It is below all my posts and is in pale typing. People who help you will always look at the spreadsheet and the signature.
It is not a good idea to go from 2 to 4 units of insulin. That is doubling the dose. We recommend going up in 1/4 unit increments.
Looking at your curve on 9/16 I can see he dropped to 77. This is too low for vetsulin. You need to to reduce the dose. I am going to tag @Suzanne & Darcy as she is a vetsulin user and can guide you about dosing with vetsulin.
A couple of other things.
With vetsulin you need to feed 30 minutes before the insulin is given. So you test, feed, wait 30 minutes then give the dose. This is because vetsulin hits hard and fast and your kitty needs food aboard to cope with the drop.
Also I would give another snack at +3 each cycle.
I would also consider swapping to another insulin such as Lantus or Prozinc. They are recommended by the American Animal Association and Vetsulin is not. Vetsulin is actually a dog insulin and not suitable for cats becasue cats have a faster metabolism than dogs.
 
I’m also not thinking of diabetic neuropathy for weakness on one side of the body. The diabetic neuropathy would manifest more as hind leg weakness and perhaps a plantigrade stance (down on the ankle hock.). I would ask the vet about this. Could he have had some sort of stroke? It could be the result of a blood clot or a fibrocartilaginous embolism where a piece of cartilage breaks off and can block the blood vessel supplying oxygen and nutrients to the spinal cord. I had a cat who recovered from this condition. There are many other things that could be causing this and I would have them checked out. He needs a careful neurological exam for starters. A skilled veterinarian can do this. If you don’t get help from your vet (i.e., if he/she is just going to continue to say it’s diabetic neuropathy and not consider other possibilities) I would find a new vet and/or take my cat to a specialty hospital through the ER of that hospital. What is the dose of Gabapentin? Gabapentin is known to give cats ataxia, although some will adjust to it over time and do just fine with their walking.
 
I'm not sure what his dose was of Gabapentin. He was given just half the pill in the am, and half in the pm. We've now been home testing him and with a change of diet he has been in remission and no longer needs the insulin shots. His BC is between 90-70 each morning/evening before food. He is not eating anything but 2 containers of wet food each AM and PM. Sometimes his BC before food is around 60 though. Is this too low? He's been off insulin since 9/23 now. He is regaining a small amount of control in his front left paw but it's so slight and I'm worried he is not recovering as quick as other posts have mentioned. He still can not move his left shoulder/arm/paw or his left leg well either. He's had a goopy eye for about a week but the vet said it's likely a virus and to monitor it. His eye looks better today.
 
This doesn’t sound like neuropathy with it only being on one side. Does he have any other symptoms? What does the vet say about it?
It stared as him walking on his hunches and quickly moved into his legs slipping out under him then moved to him not having good motion of his back and front left side. Vet saw him when it started and said it was the neuropathy and they couldn't do anything but they have not seen him since he's been worse or since he has been in remission. They have not been very helpful or knowledgeable about his condition and what we can do for him.
 
It stared as him walking on his hunches and quickly moved into his legs slipping out under him then moved to him not having good motion of his back and front left side. Vet saw him when it started and said it was the neuropathy and they couldn't do anything but they have not seen him since he's been worse or since he has been in remission. They have not been very helpful or knowledgeable about his condition and what we can do for him.
And you have been giving him Zobaline for the possible neuropathy? And has he had bloodwork done recently to check things like potassium and phosphorus levels/check kidneys, anemia, etc?
His BC is between 90-70 each morning/evening before food. He is not eating anything but 2 containers of wet food each AM and PM. Sometimes his BC before food is around 60 though.
No these numbers are not too low. Normal BG for a cat is around 50-120. His numbers sound really good. I am glad you have been testing him to verify.
 
Last edited:
It stared as him walking on his hunches and quickly moved into his legs slipping out under him then moved to him not having good motion of his back and front left side. Vet saw him when it started and said it was the neuropathy and they couldn't do anything but they have not seen him since he's been worse or since he has been in remission. They have not been very helpful or knowledgeable about his condition and what we can do for him.
:bighug::bighug::bighug: That is extremely upsetting and frustrating. Can you take him to a different vet? An internal medicine vet, perhaps? He needs a neurological evaluation.
 
Last edited:
He's had a goopy eye for about a week but the vet said it's likely a virus and to monitor it. His eye looks better today.
For goopy eyes, I use Viralys Lysine powder in my cats food. They do not mind it. It can really help if it’s caused by herpes (which most cats carry.). Of course, if he has a bacterial infection, he would need antibiotic - probably eye drops or ointment. I am glad his eye seems better today.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-10-17_15-24-2.png
    upload_2024-10-17_15-24-2.png
    364.3 KB · Views: 69
has the vet checked his potassium lately? insulin can drive potassium (K) into the cells and out of the blood. too low K (hypokalemia) can cause muscle weakness although I would expect it to be all limbs; I agree with others that one sided weakness sounds like a stroke. that said, my boy is stronger on his dominant side and with muscle wasting and electrolyte imbalance from his tumor he is definitely weaker on his right side when his K is low
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top