Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

JulieL

Member Since 2024
Just did first glucose test +9 after 1unit ProZinc at 8am. (Liberty ate half can Fancy Feast with dose this morning. Had first dose insulin2units last night at 8p.)

His level is 47!
 
Give Liberty something high carb -- a teaspoon or two if you have a gravy based food. If you don't have a higher carb food, use a few drops of honey or syrup. Re-test in 15 - 20 min. Repeat the process if his numbers are still low.

Please work on getting a spreadsheet set up. Let us know if you need help with the spreadsheet.
 
If I'm understanding, you tested and got the 47 at +9 (9 hours after his AM shot). Did you test before you gave him his AM shot? If so, what was his pre-shot number? If not, it's very important to get a pre-shot test. It's the only way to know if it's safe to give insulin.

the 47 tells you that the dose is too large. You have a choice. You can reduce the dose by 0.25u which would be consistent with the protocol. However, you're starting out on a dose that's larger than where we typically suggest. You can reduce the dose more.

Numbers may wobble around. Do not become overly confident. Depending on where Liberty's numbers are at PM shot time, you may need to skip. Can you get a test at +11 and post the results?
 
If I'm understanding, you tested and got the 47 at +9 (9 hours after his AM shot). Did you test before you gave him his AM shot? If so, what was his pre-shot number? If not, it's very important to get a pre-shot test. It's the only way to know if it's safe to give insulin.

the 47 tells you that the dose is too large. You have a choice. You can reduce the dose by 0.25u which would be consistent with the protocol. However, you're starting out on a dose that's larger than where we typically suggest. You can reduce the dose more.

Numbers may wobble around. Do not become overly confident. Depending on where Liberty's numbers are at PM shot time, you may need to skip. Can you get a test at +11 and post the results?
Glucose meter did not arrive this morning so I did not have it. Vet had starting dose at 2 units and wanted me to start last night (which I did). He didn't eat much this morning so I only gave him 1 unit this morning. After the 74 at +9.5 , I had trouble getting another reading. Multiple errors. +11 was 72. I am trying to do spreadsheet!
 
With a number that low, I would not recommend giving insulin unless by shot time, the numbers skyrocket. They may skyrocket later due to a bounce but there's no way to know that for sure.

A bounce is the way your cat's liver and pancreas may respond to lower numbers. It's a temporary response whereby numbers "bounce" upward due to the stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones being released. It can take roughly 3 days for a bounce to clear.

The +9.5 was 9-1/2 hours after Liberty's usual shot time? (I want to make sure you have the time references correct so we're all talking about the same thing.)
 
With a number that low, I would not recommend giving insulin unless by shot time, the numbers skyrocket. They may skyrocket later due to a bounce but there's no way to know that for sure.

A bounce is the way your cat's liver and pancreas may respond to lower numbers. It's a temporary response whereby numbers "bounce" upward due to the stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones being released. It can take roughly 3 days for a bounce to clear.

The +9.5 was 9-1/2 hours after Liberty's usual shot time? (I want to make sure you have the time references correct so we're all talking about the same thing.)
yes.
 
Other than maybe wanting to see what happens to his numbers, you're fine with not testing. What was his +12 (PMPS) number? Even though the +11 was lower, you really do need to test at shot time. It's possible that the numbers could have been high enough to shoot.
 
I'm skipping the PM dose. He ate at +12. Since he didn't get his PM insulin do I need to test during the night or just wait to do AMPS?
Looks like he is headed down today. It will be interesting to see where he decides to go from here. You are doing a great job!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top