HELP!

Laura Martelle-Miller

Member Since 2020
Hello all. I don't mean to be an alarmist, but I am new to this with my sugar baby Ember. She was diagnosed only a month ago and I have her on Lantus. My vet started her first dose with 2 units and she had dropped to 77 (she had been ranging between 300-630). Vet told me to skip evening dose and start her the following day at 1.5 units. I did that for a couple of days and then dropped her to 1 unit 2x day.
She went to vet on July 16 for a fasting curve and vet told me to keep her at 1 unit 2x day and get a meter. I bought an Alpha Trak.
I received the meter on July 25th and started her reading that evening. She had been doing pretty well until today and I am concerned about low readings.
Today at 6:19 am before meal she was at 92, so I did not dose her.
I checked again at 7am after she ate and she was at 100. Still did not dose her.
8:55am she was at 144.
10:46 she was at 142.
1:25 she was at 226.
5:15 she was at 198.
Fed her at 5:30 and gave her .5 unit at 6:15
Her last reading at 9:30 was 89.
I am very concerned about this and will probably be up all night testing her.
Any advice?
 
Hi and welcome. You have come to the best place for diabetic kitties. We need you to set up a spreadsheet:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

Lantus is not dosed based upon the preshot. You test then to make sure it’s safe to shoot. Dosing is based upon how low the insulin takes the cat, the nadir. It’s common to drop a lot during the cycle so what you are seeing is expected.

Read the yellow stickies at the top of this forum. Start with what to do so we can help you and then read about depot drugs and the two methods used here. I know it’s a lot of info and you will have questions which we will gladly answer. Lantus lines consistency as it takes time to build and see what a dose will do so we need to help you find a dose you can shoot every 12 hours without skipping, unless the BG drops too low. With a human meter you always reduce With TR if the BG is less than 68. With SLGS the reduction number is under 90.
 
Thank you for your replies. I just read the Don't Panic sticky and I will read up on other links tomorrow. I am just too tired to absorb tonight. I do have a spreadsheet that I created in Excel but I will take a look at the one you have linked here. Hopefully, I will not be posting again until tomorrow morning. <praying>
 
Post as often as you need. If you need help setting up our spreadsheet we have people here who can get you up and running in just a few minutes. We need you to use ours. Get some sleep. Things will get better. I promise. :bighug:
 
Hey there everyone! It has been a roller coaster ride since last post. Ember is fine but I have contractors in and out of the house for a remodel and my cats are not happy! I finally got my spreadsheet set up with data entered from my 1st home testing date of 7/24. When I complete entry, am I supposed to click on share or just save it to my computer?
 
I shared with SingtoCats that I hope I am not doing more harm than good for Ember. I did not dose her for 3 days because she refused to eat her AM meal with contractors here and it was impossible to get her to come out while they were here for readings. She seemed fine in the evenings. I know that it is suggested that she be dosed 2x per day for best results, but I was afraid to dose her with her numbers being mostly under 200.
 
Hey there everyone! It has been a roller coaster ride since last post. Ember is fine but I have contractors in and out of the house for a remodel and my cats are not happy! I finally got my spreadsheet set up with data entered from my 1st home testing date of 7/24. When I complete entry, am I supposed to click on share or just save it to my computer?
Welcome! I was able to see your spreadsheet from the link in your signature so you've set it to share. Now when you update it, you shouldn't have to keep clicking share for others to see it.

While it can be scary seeing numbers in the 80s for the first time it may be helpful to realize that those are actually wonderful normal numbers. Some folks have their cats on insulin for quite awhile before their cats see a number in the normal range. You're lucky in that regard. You're also smart to ask for help with understanding how to make good dosing decisions when numbers are under what you're used to shooting. There are some really experienced folks here that will help.
 
Last edited:
You'll help everyone here provide you with guidance if you set upa signature with your cat's info including name, when diagnosed, what he or she is being fed, what meter you're using, and what method you've selected if you've read about tight regulation vs start low go slow.

There is also a way to write your subject line if you want to start posting daily that helps everyone follow your progress. I know it sounds like a lot, but it is easy. Everyone here will help.
 
Welcome! I almost as newbie as you! What I can tell you is that this group is super helpful, informative, supportive and PATIENT with us newbies! It’s a steep learning curve but people are always helpful.

I have brothers, both of whom have been diagnosed with diabetes. The first one was easy (I also knew absolutely NOTHING!) and he appears to be in remission (I’m cautiously optimistic with numbers all around or below 80 for about a week and a half with no Caninsulin). I haven’t been so lucky with his brother, Milo. He’s being very tricky, as usual, as with the various health problems throughout the years.

The best of luck with your kitty! I wish Milo’s numbers were as low!! It sounds like you’re figuring this all out very quickly. Good for you!
 
Hi. I can see your spreadsheet. I see you are skipping a lot and when you shoot are giving .50. I suggest you start giving .25 and see if you can give it every cycle. I think .50 is too much. Let’s see how she responds to that.

Please do set up a signature. What are you feeding her? Low carb canned food is best. You need to have some high carb like gravy lovers fancy feast in case she gets under 68. it’s also good to have karo syrup or honey in case you need it. I think you caught this early and some cats quickly become diet controlled and don’t need insulin at all.

If she is under 200, post here for help. Depending on the number if you have the necessary supplies you might be able to shoot and someone will stay with you and guide you.
 
Welcome! I almost as newbie as you! What I can tell you is that this group is super helpful, informative, supportive and PATIENT with us newbies! It’s a steep learning curve but people are always helpful.

I have brothers, both of whom have been diagnosed with diabetes. The first one was easy (I also knew absolutely NOTHING!) and he appears to be in remission (I’m cautiously optimistic with numbers all around or below 80 for about a week and a half with no Caninsulin). I haven’t been so lucky with his brother, Milo. He’s being very tricky, as usual, as with the various health problems throughout the years.

The best of luck with your kitty! I wish Milo’s numbers were as low!! It sounds like you’re figuring this all out very quickly. Good for you!
Thank you. It's all been a little overwhelming to say the least! My sugarbaby's litter sister (they are 13) is healthy so far but I am having a very hard time trying to switch her food to wet. I tried various ways and gave up after 48 hours of her not eating. I know I need to keep trying. My youngest rescue has become a little Tubby (her name is Tabby and I'm thinking of changing her name!) and I am going to TRY to get her on canned Purina One Weight Management.
 
Welcome Laura!

You are absolutely correct -- absorbing all of the information about managing your cat's diabetes is overwhelming. And then it becomes routine. It takes a little while, but it does.

It sounds like you've been reading the sticky notes. That's a great start. Let me do a bit of directing. Please look over the New to the Group sticky. You've gotten your spreadsheet set up. You need to get your signature set up, as well. This post on helping us to help you will give you information on what to include in your signature.

Before you switch your other cat to a new food, you might want to look at the ingredients in the Purina One. These are the primary ingredients for the chicken flavor: chicken, liver, wheat gluten, pork lungs, ocean whitefish, powdered cellulose, natural flavors, corn oil are the primary ingredients. Many cats are allergic to gluten. Who eats pork lung? Why does the chicken flavor contain fish. Cellulose is essentially sawdust!

If you are switching Ember to a canned food diet, you other kitty can eat the same thing. It will save you the headache of trying to feed your cats different foods. If you need information on the carb content of foods, Dr. Lisa's site on feline nutrition has a wonderful chart with lots of options of foods that are below 10% carb.

You will want to review the sticky on dosing methods. You will need to decide on whether to follow Tight Regulation (TR) or Start Low Go Slow (SLGS). Please keep in mind that the information in the dosing methods is based on your using a human meter. An Alpha Track meter is calibrated to run a little higher.

I think that's enough "homework" for now. Please ask questions. We're happy to help.
 
Hi. I can see your spreadsheet. I see you are skipping a lot and when you shoot are giving .50. I suggest you start giving .25 and see if you can give it every cycle. I think .50 is too much. Let’s see how she responds to that.

Please do set up a signature. What are you feeding her? Low carb canned food is best. You need to have some high carb like gravy lovers fancy feast in case she gets under 68. it’s also good to have karo syrup or honey in case you need it. I think you caught this early and some cats quickly become diet controlled and don’t need insulin at all.

If she is under 200, post here for help. Depending on the number if you have the necessary supplies you might be able to shoot and someone will stay with you and guide you.
I thought I did set up a signature. What is supposed to be listed there besides my name and spreadsheet? She eats Fancy Feast Chicken and Tuna flaked. I do have Karo on hand.
 
Welcome Laura!

You are absolutely correct -- absorbing all of the information about managing your cat's diabetes is overwhelming. And then it becomes routine. It takes a little while, but it does.

It sounds like you've been reading the sticky notes. That's a great start. Let me do a bit of directing. Please look over the New to the Group sticky. You've gotten your spreadsheet set up. You need to get your signature set up, as well. This post on helping us to help you will give you information on what to include in your signature.

Before you switch your other cat to a new food, you might want to look at the ingredients in the Purina One. These are the primary ingredients for the chicken flavor: chicken, liver, wheat gluten, pork lungs, ocean whitefish, powdered cellulose, natural flavors, corn oil are the primary ingredients. Many cats are allergic to gluten. Who eats pork lung? Why does the chicken flavor contain fish. Cellulose is essentially sawdust!

If you are switching Ember to a canned food diet, you other kitty can eat the same thing. It will save you the headache of trying to feed your cats different foods. If you need information on the carb content of foods, Dr. Lisa's site on feline nutrition has a wonderful chart with lots of options of foods that are below 10% carb.

You will want to review the sticky on dosing methods. You will need to decide on whether to follow Tight Regulation (TR) or Start Low Go Slow (SLGS). Please keep in mind that the information in the dosing methods is based on your using a human meter. An Alpha Track meter is calibrated to run a little higher.

I think that's enough "homework" for now. Please ask questions. We're happy to help.
Thank you! I updated signature with recommended info but as a newbie, not sure about dosing method.
I tried giving the little fatty some of the Fancy Feast and she won't touch it. She has been on Purina One Kitten Chow and my older one likes it too! They both refuse the wet, even when I tried mixing in dry or completely covering it with dry. My older on refused to eat for 48 hours. The fatty picked the dry off the top when she realized she wasn't going to get anything else.
 
shared with SingtoCats that I hope I am not doing more harm than good for Ember. I did not dose her for 3 days because she refused to eat her AM meal with contractors here and it was impossible to get her to come out while they were here for readings.

Hi and welcome!

I'm still a newbie and it has taken a month for me to finally start to make sense of all this with LOTS of help from this group. I will say we had a cat 22 years ago who was hiding from house guests and didn't eat and I wish we had skipped his shot.

You can only do your best given what you know at the time. You've got this!

Contractors of the other hand..... Ack
 
This is a section of Dr. Lisa's webpage on transitioning a cat from dry to canned food. There are only one or two dry foods that are low in carbs. If you keep your kitty on a high carb diet, it will be next to impossible to get your cat regulated or into remission.

Dr Elsey's Clean Protein and Young Again Zero Carb are the only dry foods that will work. You must follow SLGS if you are using them. Alternatively, there are some freeze or air dried raw foods (Stella & Chewy's and ZiwiPeak, respectively) that are more like dry foods and they are very low in carbs.
 
This is a section of Dr. Lisa's webpage on transitioning a cat from dry to canned food. There are only one or two dry foods that are low in carbs. If you keep your kitty on a high carb diet, it will be next to impossible to get your cat regulated or into remission.

Dr Elsey's Clean Protein and Young Again Zero Carb are the only dry foods that will work. You must follow SLGS if you are using them. Alternatively, there are some freeze or air dried raw foods (Stella & Chewy's and ZiwiPeak, respectively) that are more like dry foods and they are very low in carbs.
Thank you, I have read her link in the past. Ember has transitioned to wet food from day 1 with no problem, it's my others that refuse to eat the wet. I am trying to get them ALL on wet so I don't have issues with them down the road. Still working on it!
 
Back
Top