help..

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by sugarsquishy, Jun 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sugarsquishy

sugarsquishy Member

hello everyone i am very new to this and i am not really sure what i am doing. i have so many questions i just dont know how to ask them.. my kitty Squishy was just diagnosed 2 weeks ago, and this has been the most stressful emotional 2 weeks of my life. ok i guess i will start with my squishy is 6 years old, he is on the PZI insulin. We started out at 1 unit every 24 hours, and we are now at 3 units every 24 hours. Tonight i messed up his shot and i think i went through the other side of his skin because his fur was wet when i went to rub the spot where i give him his shot. i know i am not to give him the shot again and just wait till his next dose is due, but it really made me doubt myself. i feel like i am hurting him. he has tried to bite me when i give him his shot and sometimes he flinches pretty bad. i am not sure if my vet has treated any other diabetic cats so i am feel that i am little mis-informed about some things. any advise for beginners would be great. i do feed him dry food but i have just started mixing his dry food with his wet food. i have read on here that a wet food diet is better and i used the list when i bought his wet food. please help i am scared, confused, and feel hopeless like this will never get any easier.

2. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

hi sugar, first breath ok?
    let's start with this...are you testing his bg's?
    Lori

3. sugarsquishy

sugarsquishy Member

no i am not testing them. i am not sure how to go about doing that. or what and how to ask my vet about it. i have read a little on it, but i am really lost with the whole thing.

4. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

ok, we all start out scared and confused....you wil be doing this like a pro in a week, i promise.