Steve & Merlin
Member Since 2019
We are new to the forum as we just found out about its existence. Merlin is a 14 year old orange tabby that was diagnosed with diabetes almost 11 years ago. Except for some very very bad beginnings with trying different insulins and severe hind quarter neuropathy from sky high BGs, he has been extremely stable on Lantus for 10 years @ 2.0 units twice a day. His historical BG's were in a stable average band between 100 and 250 during this time. He ranged in the high parts when he had dental issues and was on antibiotics and had some teeth removed. He was very comfortable and solid in this range and I did not want to upset his stability trying to go lower and fiddling with his dosage. He only eats low carb canned food. His neuropathy completely disappeared once his BG reached his normal range and giving him B12.
In January his BG numbers started going unstable and he was losing weight and his fur was shedding in clumpy patches. No bald spots and new fur was growing in before the old fur fell out, but he no longer looked sleek. He was also drinking tons of water and terribly hungry all the time. He was kind of looking like the BG unstable cat of 11 years ago. I took him to the vet to find out what caused his sudden BG instability. I had them do every test in the book to look at all possibilities. The blood tests, thyroid, endocrine, kidney, etc. looked great. With the exception of his BG (410), he is in remarkably good health with numbers for a much younger cat. His kidneys are fine.
I followed my vet's instructions as annotated on Merlin's spreadsheet. Nothing has worked and I am concerned that he will start showing clinical signs of his high BG and don't want more scary bounces high and low which are something he never did before. His recent drop to 36 was precipitous and scary and I intervened with Fancy Feast Gravy food as recommended in the Don't Panic Sticky. Our vet suggested a 0.5 unit reduction for his next dosing and following up at 2.0 units. It looks like this was not a good idea. I finally got all the data I had entered in the spreadsheet so there is data on his BG numbers to review. Any help would be appreciated. He needs his next dose in 3 hours and I don't know if I should stick with 2.0 or up it higher. I think the SLGS approach is best for him.
Thanks
In January his BG numbers started going unstable and he was losing weight and his fur was shedding in clumpy patches. No bald spots and new fur was growing in before the old fur fell out, but he no longer looked sleek. He was also drinking tons of water and terribly hungry all the time. He was kind of looking like the BG unstable cat of 11 years ago. I took him to the vet to find out what caused his sudden BG instability. I had them do every test in the book to look at all possibilities. The blood tests, thyroid, endocrine, kidney, etc. looked great. With the exception of his BG (410), he is in remarkably good health with numbers for a much younger cat. His kidneys are fine.
I followed my vet's instructions as annotated on Merlin's spreadsheet. Nothing has worked and I am concerned that he will start showing clinical signs of his high BG and don't want more scary bounces high and low which are something he never did before. His recent drop to 36 was precipitous and scary and I intervened with Fancy Feast Gravy food as recommended in the Don't Panic Sticky. Our vet suggested a 0.5 unit reduction for his next dosing and following up at 2.0 units. It looks like this was not a good idea. I finally got all the data I had entered in the spreadsheet so there is data on his BG numbers to review. Any help would be appreciated. He needs his next dose in 3 hours and I don't know if I should stick with 2.0 or up it higher. I think the SLGS approach is best for him.
Thanks