Help with Oliver's PM dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

AbyResq

Member Since 2016
I reduced Oliver's dose from 1.6 to 1.4 this morning hoping to see a yellow number at PMPS. Instead I got blue!

His number tonight is lower than the typical nadir time.

AMPS - 408
+5 205
+7 214
+11:40 170
+12:10 165

I fed him a small meal so I could get Zobaline into him. How long after the small meal should I retest and think about insulin again? What if he won't eat a meal? He tends to graze if his number isn't off the charts low or high.
 
Who hoo! (Had to get that out first)

Well, you fed him so he will probably rise because of food. You could wait 2 hours and test again and if he is high enough, dose. As long as you can shoot 12 hours after that, without messing up your schedule.
 
In case no one is around.... what if he's somewhere in the yellows when I retest? Will I give a reduced amount?

And yes, woohoo for the blue. This is a good problem to have! The two boys looked similar all day until PMPS, so so different.
 
I think they are conspiring with each other, and threw today in to keep you guessing

Tuck and his sister are starting to gain freedom in my house and stop living the life of foster cats maintained in a spare bedroom. He was introduced to new spaces and cats this afternoon. He also quickly found their Fancy Feast and had an extra snack. So his day was atypical. I decided to go back to his original dose of 1.4 and hold it while he's getting acclimated to the rest of my house. Tuck's number tonight is hard to interpret with all of the changes in his routine.
 
Did Tuck have any issues with Oliver and his sister joining the household today? Maybe he was a little stressed and that caused the PM? That and the slightly lower dose this morning maybe? Wish I was better at this stuff and could help :(
 
Did Tuck have any issues with Oliver and his sister joining the household today? Maybe he was a little stressed and that caused the PM? That and the slightly lower dose this morning maybe? Wish I was better at this stuff and could help :(

It was Tuck and Tuck's sister, Cricket, who got to start joining the house today. He was very relaxed and no real altercations upon meeting other cats, whew. Cricket on the other hand is more uptight! Regardless of how at ease he seemed I'm sure stress was a factor in his number tonight.
 
At +10 this morning he's 459. Maybe I should've reduced the dose when I finally shot him last night???
 
Thanks @Sue and Oliver (GA) , I did feed him at +10 and decided I would retest and shoot at +11 which is in a few minutes. I was thinking 1.4 too. Guess he's helping us get back on schedule :confused:.

Another day of data gathering, I'm pretty good at muttering.
 
It was Tuck and Tuck's sister, Cricket, who got to start joining the house today. He was very relaxed and no real altercations upon meeting other cats, whew. Cricket on the other hand is more uptight! Regardless of how at ease he seemed I'm sure stress was a factor in his number tonight.
Sorry, mixed up the boys! :)
 
Tuck was looking good yesterday morning, then his numbers jumped up again o_O Hope you can get him on track again easily, but at least half of the duo is cooperating, that has to help a little! :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top