HELP WITH INSULIN DOSE, WORRIED ABOUT HYPO...

Status
Not open for further replies.
my cat has gone hypo and been hospitalized for days in the recent past because she had diarrhea while i was on vacation and the cat sitter gave her insulin still, which ran her into the ground.

the vet told me not to give her insulin if she was under 200. recently she has been lower than 200 in the mornings, and i have not been giving her insulin.
however, i am worried this is throwing everything off, because she gets insulin at night with dinner when she has finally gone up to 230 or so.

this morning her BG is 95, 30 minutes after a meal.
she is on 0.5u of lantus.....is it rational to skip this dose? i don't want her to go hypo, and i am leaving for work soon.

i am taking to her the vet soon, but i just moved and this will be a new vet.
help!
 
I would skip at a 95 especially after she has already eaten that is a really nice normal number.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette and The Fur Gang
 
If you're not going to be able to test and without being able to see any test numbers other than your morning pre-shot, I would err on the side of safety and skip the shot.

FYI - with a hypo, a cat can be sensitive to the effects of insulin for the next day or two. Also, depending on what you are calling a hypo, with Lantus, because of the insulin depot, the symptoms and low numbers can last far longer (e.g., 16+ hours) than with shorter acting insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top