Help with Elmo Hypo

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sorry I am all over the place...just got PMPS of 202....scares me....what dose to give in 30 minutes ????
 
I think it's probably time for a new thread Beth....this one's getting pretty long

You shot .25 this morning at 165.....I'd hold that dose tonight too
 
Sorry I am all over the place...just got PMPS of 202....scares me....what dose to give in 30 minutes ????
Hi Beth,
Can you eyeball 0.25 u and then let out a small drop to estimate 0.125? Or you can go with what Chris and China has suggested.
 
Still have 15 minutes before the 30 minute eating period...he is eating ok....what do I need to watch for tonight???
 
Still have 15 minutes before the 30 minute eating period...he is eating ok....what do I need to watch for tonight???
Same as what you had to watch for yesterday: too rapid a drop, too low a nadir, too early a nadir, etc. You could always test hourly up to +6 or +7 and be ready with small amounts food to steer. Don't feed too much at once and avoid using syrup if you can.
 
Last edited:
Same as what you had to watch for yesterday: too rapid a drop, too low a nadir. too early a nadir, etc. You could always test hourly up to +6 or +7 and be ready with small amounts food to steer. Don't feed too much at once and avoid using syrup if you can.
Mercy....how u all have done this for as long as u have amazes me
 
how u all have done this for as long as u have amazes me

We're all a bunch of crazy cat ladies!! (with a few gents thrown in)

But seriously, all this testing now helps you to learn how your cat reacts.....as you get more experience under your belt, you'll learn what signs to watch for and will learn when it's probably going to be OK to take a pokey break and when you need to keep a closer eye on things
 
I'm on board with the 0.25u again. 202 isn't that high and it could just be Elmo reacting to the low numbers of late. Beth you are doing fine and while we all know how panicky this can make you, take deep breathes. You've got this. The trick here is to let Elmo direct you without immediately getting aggressive about dosing. It's tough and we all go through it but it does get easier with time. I find myself almost complacent (perhaps too strong a word) when my sugar throws me a low number now. It's become more of a routine than a panic.
 
Hi Beth,

Just saw this. I would stick with the 0.25 IU dose, even with the 202 preshot; the 0.5 IU dose is IMO too high and unsafe.

Is all well on the ketone side of things today?


Mogs
.
 
Hi Beth,

Just saw this. I would stick with the 0.25 IU dose, even with the 202 preshot; the 0.5 IU dose is IMO too high and unsafe.

Is all well on the ketone side of things today?


Mogs
.
Ketones negative ....I think I may be too old for this :nailbiting:
 
Will test hourly mostly for my comfort... be ready to steer up with 1teaspoon low carb food if goes below what number ???
 
Beth, I think MamaBean needs a little rest so if I were you, I'd test at +2 and see where your little sugar is headed and then again at +3. As Kris says, any green is time to steer. Then hopefully Elmo will let MamaBean grabs some ZZZZZ's. It would be ideal to keep him in the blues but low blues. I wagering bets that Elmo will behave himself tonight. Elmo, please don't call my bluff! :)
 
So keep him in blues??
Aim for that, Beth. I said any green because of what you've been through and blue gives you that margin of safety that will give you peace of mind after your ordeal. You'd be erring on the side of caution. I wouldn't panic if he gives you a high green at or post nadir though. Just dose with food.

Meanwhile look at that Elmo face! He's saying, "Who? Me? Cause trouble for my mom? Never!" :)
 
FYI peeps, I've got sleep meds on board so I won't be around tonight.

Hope all goes well and safely, Beth, and that you get some quality rest once you're sure his nibs is in good numbers for the rest of the cycle.

:bighug:

Oiche mhaith, a chairde, agus codladh sámh!


Mogs
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top