HELP with dosing...3/13 Grey AMPS 485

kurikitty

Member Since 2019
I have been giving my cat 0.75u for about 4 days now and his numbers were really high at first because of some fur shots I believe. This morning his number was really high, but now it is dropping by a lot. Do I still give him his usual dose if it is still low by that time? I'm thinking maybe a smaller dose, but how much would that be if he is on 0.75u? I am doing the SLGS method. Thanks!
 
With SLGS, you hold the dose if you are seeing numbers between 90 and 149 as the nadirs. If you are asking about what to do tonight, it depends whether you will be able to stay up and monitor him. I rather suspect he went lower last night, and bounced today, but there weren't any tests last night so that's only speculation. Many cats go lower at night.

With SLGS you don't shoot at all if below 90. And you would only shoot that low if you have the data to support it, which you don't yet. One day I hope he'll give you a blue preshot when you are home so you can shoot the full dose and gather data. If you can't monitor tonight, then I would skip unless he starts heading up a lot by shot time. And I'd leave out lots of food for him to keep himself safe if you do shoot a reduced dose. There is a section on shooting lower numbers in the SLGS section of the dosing methods sticky notes that has some exact guidelines.
He is at 135 now...
What + time is "now"?
 
I ended up giving him the shot and I'm going to monitor him at +2 and +3.

And sorry, the "now" was his PMPS.
 
I think he did get really low last night. :( At +3 he was at 141 and this morning at +9 hes already at 272.
 
Could you update your spreadsheet? He may not have gone lower overnight if his +3 was similar to PMPS. He could be bouncing from that 114 in the AM cycle.
 
Back
Top