HELP with BUDDY please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marci and Buddy

Member Since 2009
Need to leave -was 39 at +4...gave him grilled FF -but now only 43--should i give him karo, or just leave a big plate of low fat food-scared and not sure what to do-have 5 min before leaveing-anyone there?
 
leave TWO big bowls of HC if you must leave.
It's better to deal with numbers too high when you return than the alternative.
Karo does not last long, so it'll be a temp fix.
Hopefully Buddy will eat to bring himself up.
 
Paws crossed that he will be ok - you did have similar numbers on the 14th (with a higher dose) and he ate and slowly came up over a few hours (then bounced higher), so I think he will be ok with the food left down.

After this, I would consider a small dose decrease to .4u (or skinny .5u) - assuming that this mornings shot was at +12. I noticed a few evenings ago you shot at +13.5, so I am wondering if you are moving him a little earlier to get back on schedule? Remember, shoot the same dose early = dose increase, and later = dose decrease.
 
i was not aware of that-thanks. i shot at +13 b/c he was too low, so waited.
and now I am back, after being gone for 2 hours and
HE IS STILL AT 47 at +7...After eating 4 oz. of grilled can FF and a huge handful of DRY food!he alawys goes way up after eating , i thought he's be in the 200's when i came home-this never happened before!
Tonight, assuming he's up past 150 or so, guess i'll shoot slightly less than .50, right?
(I continue to be amazed at how often FD needs change, and how ill advised it is of vets to not stress home testing.)
 
He may shoot up still - plenty of time for that between +7 and +12..... but he has earned a dose reduction. I'd say .4u or maybe .3u. When Beau did this same thing, I dropped from .5u to .3u and after a few days it wasn't enough, it seemed, and I raised him to .4u. ECID, of course, but somewhere in that range should be good.
 
Marci, Alley was also 39 at +4 today, cannot figure it out since he had his regular dose and was AMPS 254. Much higher than Buddy's.
I hope Buddy is stabilized now and all is well.

Best of luck,
Pam & Alley
 
Just tested PMPS is 305 and we are bouncing on the trampoline! He was doing so well, have no idea what happened, no dose change, food change, nothing.

I personally do not shoot under 180** because Alley could drop like a rock for no reason, and other times, he stays steady. Today he went from 254 AMPS to 91 at +2-1/2.
But a 94? I don't think so. Sheila advised maybe a dose reduction soon?

Hang in there, Marci, you are doing great.

Pam & Alley
** edited-180? maybe someday I would shoot at that but for now, I am too nervous! Need more experience than just 1 month. --Pam
 
ok so in the past i understood it's better to shoot something/anything, at 12/12
to keep shed full, but you are suggesting skip shot until he goes to higher, and then as Sheila said, shoot a lower dose. Do i have thta right?
Thansk so much for your support Pam. this stuff is scary, huh?
 
Never mind last post -he is at 258 at +12.5...believe that?
i shot 40u, i think(the bottom of the stopper hit the top of the .50 line)
wish I could diagram it for you but a s some of you know by now, when it comes to computers I am like from Amish county! (not to say anything wrong with A.C.)
 
Marci and Buddy said:
Never mind last post -he is at 258 at +12.5...believe that?
i shot 40u, i think(the bottom of the stopper hit the top of the .50 line)
wish I could diagram it for you but a s some of you know by now, when it comes to computers I am like from Amish county! (not to say anything wrong with A.C.)

I know you did not shoot 40U ;-)

Again, this is where diligent testing comes in. If you had not tested you would have had no idea how low he was. I doubt anything scary would have happened upon your return, but it's always a good idea to make sure they have food available when you are gone.

Just a note - dry food is not the best to try to get numbers up - takes too long to digest, but then it also sticks around too long as well. The grilled Fancy Feast is excellent as it's about 18% kcal in carb.
 
hey Pam -thanks so much for nioticing no pinks this year(6 days)-
i am actually thrilled with Buddys progress-don't know why it took me
so long to trust that less could be more ohmygod_smile,but since his dose reduction he's doing so well- (hope he doesn't read this or you know what will happen).
I have renewed hope he will go otj ..hopefully this will be his year.L ooks like it will be Alleys too ! dancing_cat
 
HI Nina-i have been wondering where you are.
Buddy is doing great now-thanks to all you peeps here.
hope your boy is good too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top