? HELP, what’s next?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Midazmi

Member Since 2021
Quick question. Fifi is on 1.5iu of ProZinc. Started a glucose curve this morning (vet request) and before food BG was 3.6mmol/l. Have fed her and not given insulin. Do I check in an hour and then give it over 10mmol/l or not give it at all?!
 
Sorry no one has got back to you.
As I know nothing about your kitty, I would skip the dose this cycle. Once you have fed him, the BG is food influenced.
If this happens again, I would suggest stalling, not feeding and testing again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising. And post and ask for help.
With a BG of 3.6 (65) I would reduce the dose to 1.25U at the next cycle.

Have you thought about setting up a spreadsheet and your signature? It makes it much easier to help you if these two things are set up
Here is a link to how to set them them up HELP US HELP YOU
 
Thank you so much for your response. That’s exactly what I did. She had a good feed and then I retested an hour later and it had gone down to 3.1mmol/l. Have been trying to get a urine sample all morning but no joy. Will retest tonight when next dose is due.

yes, I’ll definitely set up a spreadsheet later today. Meant to do it ages ago. Thank you again.
 
From the Prozinc dosing methods:

How to handle a lower than normal preshot number when following SLGS:

Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top