? Help w/Dose Theodore 11/3

NadineTheodore

Member Since 2023
Hi,
Theodore was too low this morning to shoot so I gave him his dose at 11AM. He's rather low right now, I gave him 4 units this morning as he wasn't coming up even after food. This is new for me as I am used to rather high numbers. I know being VERY low is more dangerous then high so it makes me nervous. What should I shoot tonight? PMS will be 11PM so in 40 mins

I don't want to skip as that previously sent us backwards but I think he should get something? I did 4 units this morning since it seemed OK

@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee

PREVIOUS POST: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/theodore-dose-amps-85-1-137-3-209.284044/#post-3127660
 
When he’s lower than normal at shot time you stall without food and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if on the way up. Since you shot 4 hours late you don’t want to give tonight’s dose sooner than 11 1/2 hours from then. Can you be that much off schedule and can you stay up to check in him? I would skip tonight’s dose and shoot at your normal time in the morning. It’s an opportunity to change yiur **** time if you want a different time as well. What do you think?
 
When he’s lower than normal at shot time you stall without food and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if on the way up. Since you shot 4 hours late you don’t want to give tonight’s dose sooner than 11 1/2 hours from then. Can you be that much off schedule and can you stay up to check in him? I would skip tonight’s dose and shoot at your normal time in the morning. It’s an opportunity to change yiur **** time if you want a different time as well. What do you think?

I will go ahead and do that then :) My boy is so funny, always throwing curve balls at me. I was thinking to maybe even give him 1 unit but it's better to be safe than sorry. Thank you @tiffmaxee
 
Now that you are shooting Levemir, you will have to get used to shooting lower numbers. Today you couldn't because it was too late at PMPS, but if you could have monitored, you could have shot that 97 this morning. With SLGS, the suggestion is not to shoot if below 90.

To show that you shot late on the spreadsheet, it's best to put the actual AMPS number in that cell. But put something like 160@+4, if it was 4 hours later than your usual shot time. I'm guessing there, cause I don't know how 11am compares to what your normal shot time is. Which is why we talk in the +times. Then you could put the normal 97 test in the +11 column from the night before, something like "97@+12".

I'm not sure why you were shooting 5 units the last couple days, he did earn a reduction down to 4.75 units on 11/28, but you only shot it twice. With SLGS, doses are held for 7 days, unless they go below 90. It looks like you were trying to compensate for the higher numbers by shooting more insulin. But the L insulins don't work that way. A skip depletes the depot, so you need to be patient and wait several cycles for the depot to build again.

His dose in the morning should be 4.75 units.
 
Just hypothetically, when he was at 97 would you recommend doing the full 4.75 or lowering the dose? Just so I know for the future
 
Depends how well you can monitor. The lowest I ever shot Neko on Lev was 51. But I knew that was most likely her nadir, and food would bump her up from there, and she'd keep going up until the next shot onset. Which in Neko was 5 hours later. So if you can monitor, I think shooting a 97 would be a good idea. With SLGS we suggest not shooting below 90. You've been at this 7/8 months now, so getting some good data on how Theodore responds. Typically shooting lower means a nice flat cycle. (unless they bounce)
 
Back
Top