Help very low number

8catsplus2

Member Since 2020
Just got back from the emergency vet. Heat related..She was 136 before we left to go to the vet .it was 151 at the vets when I got home and took it it's 37 waited 20 minutes it's 36 She hasn't had anything to eat since 7:00 which was 7 hours ago.. should I feed her a medium carb or a high carb
 
Last edited:
Really sorry I missed this! Must have been really scary. Please tag me in future. Because I'm in India, I'm around in the middle of the night in the US.

Please take a 0.25 unit reduction in the next dose.

Here's the sticky for how to handle low numbers - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/


If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

Link to previous thread - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amps-advise-on-dosage.233986/
 
Just got back from the emergency vet. Heat related..She was 136 before we left to go to the vet .it was 151 at the vets when I got home and took it it's 37 waited 20 minutes it's 36 She hasn't had anything to eat since 7:00 whickswhick was 7 hours ago.. should I feed her a medium carb or a high carb

Below 40 or 50 is always high carb or honey if kitty won't eat. Feed and test in 20 minutes.
 
Really sorry I missed this! Must have been really scary. Please tag me in future. Because I'm in India, I'm around in the middle of the night in the US.

Please take a 0.25 unit reduction in the next dose.

Here's the sticky for how to handle low numbers - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/


If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

Link to previous thread - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amps-advise-on-dosage.233986/
Just tested her she was 143..
 
The tag worked :-)

Yes, please reduce to 0.75 from this morning. Any time she falls below 90, you reduce.

Also, feeding her several meals over the cycle may prevent large drops. Does she eat only at shot time?
 
Did you put her numbers from last night on the right date in your spreadsheet? It has them listed the night as the 21st but it happened last night correct?

Like Bandit said, give her 0.75u today, she's earned a reduction.
 
Did you put her numbers from last night on the right date in your spreadsheet? It has them listed the night as the 21st but it happened last night correct?

Like Bandit said, give her 0.75u today, she's earned a reduction.
Yes and today is the 23 so it's on the 22 day,
 
Okay, you'll want to edit your spreadsheet then.
Thanks with little to no sleep .plus a health scare with my dad yesterday morning and then my mom complaining of side pains in the evening and then Lucy. I'm exhausted I fixed it
 
She was 136 before we left to go to the vet .it was 151 at the vets when I got home and took it it's 37
Quite a few cats drop immediately after a vet visit no matter what the dose is or how fast they are sliding down the dosing scale. After future vet visits, check the BG for a couple of hours.
Now, I don't think this is the primary reason you saw low numbers last night. Lucy is on a mission. The race down to dosing scale is exhausting for the human but it does give good results in the end, even possibly remission.
 
When's the next test?

I've stayed online longer than I should have today. There is a grant application before me and I have to start my bread. I can randomly look in but cannot stay glued to the screen during a crisis.

@8catsplus2 - if the numbers drop and you don't get a respond in this thread, start a new thread in the Health Forum. "Help! Low numbers." If that does not get some eyes on it, post in the Lantus forum. "Help needed. Low numbers in Prozinc" and post a link to this thread.
 
@8catsplus2 - if the numbers drop and you don't get a respond in this thread, start a new thread in the Health Forum. "Help! Low numbers." If that does not get some eyes on it, post in the Lantus forum. "Help needed. Low numbers in Prozinc" and post a link to this thread.

Let me tag a few people on this thread. In case Amber is not able to post on other forums in case of an emergency. So they can help if numbers go low again.

@tiffmaxee
@Sue and Luci
@Briere Fur Mom
 
G'night to you Bhooma. You must be exhausted. Get some sleep. It is daytime for the majority of people here. There will be people around.

And do stay safe and snug. The numbers in India right now are scary.

Thank you :-)

We are 1.5 billion people here. Am sure the infection rates are at least 10X what has been reported. We aren't testing enough and I suspect a majority are unsymptomatic!
 
Interesting! I didn't know that. I thought they only shot up from the stress of a vet visit.
Thanks for the info.. I would have never guessed that.. at 10 am she was 148 at 7 am she was 143
When's the next test?

I've stayed online longer than I should have today. There is a grant application before me and I have to start my bread. I can randomly look in but cannot stay glued to the screen during a crisis.

@8catsplus2 - if the numbers drop and you don't get a respond in this thread, start a new thread in the Health Forum. "Help! Low numbers." If that does not get some eyes on it, post in the Lantus forum. "Help needed. Low numbers in Prozinc" and post a link to this thread.
 
When's the next test?

I've stayed online longer than I should have today. There is a grant application before me and I have to start my bread. I can randomly look in but cannot stay glued to the screen during a crisis.

@8catsplus2 - if the numbers drop and you don't get a respond in this thread, start a new thread in the Health Forum. "Help! Low numbers." If that does not get some eyes on it, post in the Lantus forum. "Help needed. Low numbers in Prozinc" and post a link to this thread.
I was going to post on the health form but I could not find the thing where it says post a new thread. Her test is in about 15 minutes at 12:00 noon.
 
Quite a few cats drop immediately after a vet visit no matter what the dose is or how fast they are sliding down the dosing scale. After future vet visits, check the BG for a couple of hours.
Now, I don't think this is the primary reason you saw low numbers last night. Lucy is on a mission. The race down to dosing scale is exhausting for the human but it does give good results in the end, even possibly remission.
It's like being on a roller coaster. And I don't like roller coasters.
 
Yes she is she scared the you-know-what out of me last night..
(((Amber))), I'm so sorry you're going through this when you have other things also going on in your life at the same time. No wonder you're exhausted... I do hope you manage to get some good rest soon. (((More hugs)))
.
158625.jpg
 
In any of the forums, in the top left hand corner.

Post New Thread.jpg

Given the exchange rate between Canada and the US, that 100 looks green to me. What a lovely cycle.
 

Attachments

  • Post New Thread.jpg
    Post New Thread.jpg
    8.9 KB · Views: 457
The tag worked :)

Yes, please reduce to 0.75 from this morning. Any time she falls below 90, you reduce.

Also, feeding her several meals over the cycle may prevent large drops. Does she eat only at shot time?
@Bandit's Mom so at the +5 she was 100
at +6 she was 86 ( then she ate 1.1 oz) at +8 she was 92... So no matter what her BG are between +9 and +12 I giver her .75 U
@Sue and Luci[/USER
@Briere Fur Mom
 
Last edited:
If she is still going down at +12 which is PMPS, stall, DON’T feed and retest in 20 minutes. If high you still will shoot .75. That’s the new dose.
 

Attachments

  • how to link.jpg
    how to link.jpg
    13.2 KB · Views: 423
Go up to the very top of the screen (this screen shows https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help-very-low-number.234018/#post-2618321

Copy and paste the old post to the new post.

Some people get all fancy by typing something such as "Yesterday's post" then they click on the link of chain just above the box you type in. You will then be asked to provide a url (the web page). Copy and paste the url and voila.

View attachment 55730
Thanks wish me luck when I do it lol
 
Back
Top