Help? Tigger's AMPS 59! Advice??

Status
Not open for further replies.

CarolandTigger

Member Since 2015
He started 2.5 of Lantus last week after his DKA. Vet said if he tests under 90, don't shoot. So what do I do? Test him again in an hour? Or lower the dose? This is new to us! Advice??
 
Carol


I'm on my way out..please post a 911 in the Lantus forum. Right now...just stall without feeding for 30 minutes and recheck.
 
Carol - just info for next time this happens. Don't feed until you know he's high enough to shoot. Reason: Adding food in causes food spikes so you really don't know what his true bg is....the food will wear off leaving with possibly with low bg again. If you don't feed and test, you'll see when his body itself begins to rise. With the DKA, you'll likely need to shoot something as soon as you see shootable numbers but it may end up being a reduced dose. I'll try to stay with you here for a bit....you may have started another thread, I'm going to go search now....
 
my husband actually fed him before knowing the protocol. I think I would have retested him immediately. I'll test him in a bit..he's outside!
 
Because your cat had recent DKA and is still in the process of recovering, it's important not to skip shots if possible. Because lantus is a "slow" insulin, often after they eat the blood sugar can increase for a couple hours after the shot. So shooting on a lower number is scary at first, but is something that experienced people do regularly.

That said, -AT THIS POINT- because he had DKA, he might have more swings, and risk for hypos, so you do want the BS to be more in the blues. If you shoot half a dose for a green number, often that reduction is enough to keep them from going hypo, and to keep the blood sugars from going too high during the day. If you are feeling nervous about half the dose, go even lower than that and see what happens. But shoot something. No insulin may cause his blood sugar to be skyhigh at next shot time, and may allow ketones to come back. As always, have a hypo toolkit ready and be comfortable in using it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top