Marianne Lima
Member Since 2022
Previous thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...1-year-burnaby-bc-canada.278337/#post-3078958
Good morning guys,
Yesterday I've ran a BG curve on Samuka, and his nadir was on +8 259 (his BG increased from his AMPS, dropping at +8. I am currently giving him 4.75u of Lantus twice a day, and I would like your help if I should increase or maybe even decrease his dosage (he was doing well on 3u in September 2021, until the vet told us to give him only one shot of Lantus per day. Since that it has been very difficult to control his BG)?
Fact: Samuka never lost weight since we started his insulin treatment. He has been fluctuating between 17 to 18lbs even though his diet changed (way less calories than before - when he was free fed -; 85% wet food instead of high carb dry food before...), and he is doing OK with his water intake and pee times (way much better than before starting treatment). Is this something that we should consider?
Also, I have a few questions that the answers may be different than what the vet has been sharing with us:
1. Should I feed Samuka before or after his AMPS/PMPS test? After the test, give him the insulin shot, or feed him and give insulin after?
2. During the BG curve day, should I feed him only at AM/PM (2x per day only), or it is ok if he eats a bit of Fancy Feast; freeze dried chicken; a few kibbles of Dr. Elsey's (max. 10g)?
3. It would be a good idea to decrease his dosage and start increasing slowly after 1 week?
4. I am giving him 1 capsule of Metamucil per day, should I keep with this or maybe stop?
Thank you all for your support!
Good morning guys,
Yesterday I've ran a BG curve on Samuka, and his nadir was on +8 259 (his BG increased from his AMPS, dropping at +8. I am currently giving him 4.75u of Lantus twice a day, and I would like your help if I should increase or maybe even decrease his dosage (he was doing well on 3u in September 2021, until the vet told us to give him only one shot of Lantus per day. Since that it has been very difficult to control his BG)?
Fact: Samuka never lost weight since we started his insulin treatment. He has been fluctuating between 17 to 18lbs even though his diet changed (way less calories than before - when he was free fed -; 85% wet food instead of high carb dry food before...), and he is doing OK with his water intake and pee times (way much better than before starting treatment). Is this something that we should consider?
Also, I have a few questions that the answers may be different than what the vet has been sharing with us:
1. Should I feed Samuka before or after his AMPS/PMPS test? After the test, give him the insulin shot, or feed him and give insulin after?
2. During the BG curve day, should I feed him only at AM/PM (2x per day only), or it is ok if he eats a bit of Fancy Feast; freeze dried chicken; a few kibbles of Dr. Elsey's (max. 10g)?
3. It would be a good idea to decrease his dosage and start increasing slowly after 1 week?
4. I am giving him 1 capsule of Metamucil per day, should I keep with this or maybe stop?
Thank you all for your support!
Last edited:


