Help. Prtsitter missed pm shot obviously. What to do

Status
Not open for further replies.
If the petsitter tried to shoot - don't give any more insulin. We never reshoot because you never know how much got it.

Even if nothing got in, Otto will recover from a missed shot. I'd just wait til the next shot time is due and give the regular dose then. It's possible that Otto is beginning to bounce and that his high numbers have nothing to do with the last shot.
 
Thank you. I'm out of town and he is a vet tech so he can give a shot. Just not seen this with him. Just raised him today to 3u. Again thank you. !!!
 
Sure - the first part of the thread i linked above is about New Dose Wonkiness. Some cats react to an increased dose with higher numbers, too. That may be what you are seeing. Increasing him from 2.25 to 3.0 is really too big of an increase. The very most we increase a dose of a cat that isn't a high dose cat would be 0.5u. You can't rush a cat to regulation. Increasing by too large of an increment can make you overshoot the "right" dose for him - and a cat that is overdosed can also have high numbers.

If I were you, I'd drop back to 2.75 with tomorrow morning's shot.

Probably nothing wrong with the vet tech's shot - more likely it's the NDW or bouncing.
 
You were right. It was obviously a bounce. Amps was 279. I'll pop back down. I knew I couldn't go upper than .50. My math was skewed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top