Help! PMPS BG 154

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffyozmo

Member Since 2020
I just got home from work and tested Maverick’a BG (154). I gave him 1 unit this morning around 6:00AM. What should I do? Can I feed him? He’s starving and needs to take other medications (Clavacillin and Benazapril in the PM) as well.
 
Hi I sure someone with more experience than me when it comes to give insulin, but one thing I've noticed you are not doing any other testing other than AMPS and PMPS
It's very important to do some testing during both those cycles to see how low he is dropping
If you work all day I can understand that you can't, maybe before you leave for work you can test him @+2 meaning 2 hours after you give the insulin ,

At night is it possible for you to get more tests in such as +3 meaning 3 hours after giving the insulin, then maybe @+5 or @+6 etc

On weekends you can test more often, you can fill in test times such as +4, +7 or +8 etc

The more data you collect to see how he is responding to the insulin the better we can help you. If you want take a look at my spread sheet just to get an idea
 
Last edited:
I wasn’t sure at what level I should not give the insulin. My vet didn’t tell me this. I went ahead but and fed Maverick and gave other meds. Should I give him the insulin then and check after 3 hours?

I leave the house for work in the morning M-F around 6:45AM and don’t return until ~5:30PM, so testing during the week days is impossible. I can do +3, but it’s getting late now. Should I just skip the dose tonight?
 
Should I just skip the dose tonight?
Yes.

We don't suggest that new members, new to insulin, new to home testing, new to this message board, give insulin if the pre-shot tests are <200.

That threshold will be lowered as you gather more data on your cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top