Help Pls!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meg25

Member Since 2019
I have a newly diagnosed 13yo diabetic cat, which I think was from a round of Steroid use for food allergies... My vet put him on Hills d/d (dry) around nov/dec 2018. Since then he has had 2 major bouts of constipation with fecal impact and one resulting in a hospital visit.
I 100% blame this food, and am desperately trying to wein him off this, and strictly to a wet food diet to not be insulin dependent and also not have colon issues.
I am having a exceptionally hard time, as he is literally "addicted" to his dry food, it is like crack to him. I am beyond terrified of a Hypo episode with adjusting his food and I want to know what is the best ratio to start with him so I am not putting him in any sort of risk.
**Also can I use a human Glucometer on a cat, and what are the appropriate levels of his BG that they should be between?
I also read that the effects of the wet specifically fancy feast can reverse the need for insulin. It is stating that it is immediate, to not need insulin.. but I am now terrified to give or not to give. ** He was on 2 units, but with his hosp visit being last week and not eating, my vet decreased insulin to 1 unit, until eating regular again. ** again adjustments/ratios etc

THANK YOU! :)
 
Hello, and welcome. :bighug:

I have a newly diagnosed 13yo diabetic cat, which I think was from a round of Steroid use for food allergies...
Steroids can trigger diabetes. However, cats with steroid-induced diabetes also have a higher than average chance of going into remission (becoming diet-controlled diabetics).
My vet put him on Hills d/d (dry) around nov/dec 2018. Since then he has had 2 major bouts of constipation with fecal impact and one resulting in a hospital visit.
I'm so sorry to hear that. A diabetic kitty that I'm now fostering had a similar thing happen, but with Hill's M/D.... Getting her onto a wet diet has worked wonders for her...
I am having a exceptionally hard time, as he is literally "addicted" to his dry food, it is like crack to him.
My foster kitty was also a dry food addict. Had eaten dry food all her life. Transitioning them to wet isn't necessarily 'easy' but it can often be done, with patience... Or, it may be that you could first transition to a lower carb dry food in the interim...
I am beyond terrified of a Hypo episode with adjusting his food and I want to know what is the best ratio to start with him so I am not putting him in any sort of risk.
Reducing the carb content of the diet can reduce the blood glucose, sometimes significantly. And the insulin dose may need to be reduced accordingly. For this reason, for cats already on insulin, it's safest to only switch to lower carb diet if the caregiver can test blood glucose at home and can reduce the insulin dose as necessary.

If a cat is not yet on insulin this is the safest time to switch to lower carb. And some people will stop insulin for a short spell while transitioning to lower carb.
However, stopping insulin is not 'risk free'. It should never ever be done with a cat who has had ketones. And it is always advisable to test for ketones if a cat is having insulin withheld or significantly reduced. For a cat who is not eating well it is especially important to test for ketones.

The urine test is simple to do with ketone test strips. But since the strips don't register all types of ketones it's important to also notice how the cat's breath smells; a smell that is fruity or like acetone can indicate ketones.

Also can I use a human Glucometer on a cat, and what are the appropriate levels of his BG that they should be between?
Most of us use human glucose meters. The normal BG range for a non-diabetic cat is approximately 50 – 120 mg/dL [2.7 to 6.6 mmol/L] as measured on a human glucose meter. Some cats may naturally have blood glucose levels that run slightly lower or higher than the typical normal range.
A newly diagnosed diabetic cat may have significantly higher BG levels. Levels in the 400s mg/dL [20s mmol/L] are not uncommon. Don’t be alarmed if your cat’s BG levels are high at diagnosis. Things can turn around quickly once a cat is on insulin and eating an appropriate diet.

Numbers below 50mg/dL [2.7mmol/L] on a human meter can be considered in hypoglycemic range. The lower you go, the greater the risk.
I also read that the effects of the wet specifically fancy feast can reverse the need for insulin. It is stating that it is immediate, to not need insulin..
Low carb wet food (less than 10% calories from carbohydrates) can reduce the need for insulin significantly sometimes, and a minority of cats will not need insulin after a change to a lower carb diet. However most cats do need some insulin.
but I am now terrified to give or not to give [insulin].
The best way to know what is going on with your kitty's blood glucose levels is to learn to test the blood glucose at home. Seeing what is happening to the blood glucose in 'real time' is immensely reassuring and empowering.
'Hometesting' will help you understand how the insulin is working in your cat's body; will help you to keep your cat safe from hypo; and it will save you money in vet's bills as you can do all blood glucose testing at home.

In a nutshell testing involves pricking the outer edge of the ear to get a little drop of blood, transferring that to a test strip in a glucose meter, and rewarding the cat with a yummy treat or a cuddle.
Most people can learn to test and most cats can be tested. Some take to it like proverbial 'ducks to water', others may find it more of an initial challenge. It's just like learning anything new.
If you'd like to learn to test we have lots of tips and tricks that may help you do that.

Eliz
 
Hello, and welcome. :bighug:


Steroids can trigger diabetes. However, cats with steroid-induced diabetes also have a higher than average chance of going into remission (becoming diet-controlled diabetics).

I'm so sorry to hear that. A diabetic kitty that I'm now fostering had a similar thing happen, but with Hill's M/D.... Getting her onto a wet diet has worked wonders for her...

My foster kitty was also a dry food addict. Had eaten dry food all her life. Transitioning them to wet isn't necessarily 'easy' but it can often be done, with patience... Or, it may be that you could first transition to a lower carb dry food in the interim...

Reducing the carb content of the diet can reduce the blood glucose, sometimes significantly. And the insulin dose may need to be reduced accordingly. For this reason, for cats already on insulin, it's safest to only switch to lower carb diet if the caregiver can test blood glucose at home and can reduce the insulin dose as necessary.

If a cat is not yet on insulin this is the safest time to switch to lower carb. And some people will stop insulin for a short spell while transitioning to lower carb.
However, stopping insulin is not 'risk free'. It should never ever be done with a cat who has had ketones. And it is always advisable to test for ketones if a cat is having insulin withheld or significantly reduced. For a cat who is not eating well it is especially important to test for ketones.

The urine test is simple to do with ketone test strips. But since the strips don't register all types of ketones it's important to also notice how the cat's breath smells; a smell that is fruity or like acetone can indicate ketones.


Most of us use human glucose meters. The normal BG range for a non-diabetic cat is approximately 50 – 120 mg/dL [2.7 to 6.6 mmol/L] as measured on a human glucose meter. Some cats may naturally have blood glucose levels that run slightly lower or higher than the typical normal range.
A newly diagnosed diabetic cat may have significantly higher BG levels. Levels in the 400s mg/dL [20s mmol/L] are not uncommon. Don’t be alarmed if your cat’s BG levels are high at diagnosis. Things can turn around quickly once a cat is on insulin and eating an appropriate diet.

Numbers below 50mg/dL [2.7mmol/L] on a human meter can be considered in hypoglycemic range. The lower you go, the greater the risk.

Low carb wet food (less than 10% calories from carbohydrates) can reduce the need for insulin significantly sometimes, and a minority of cats will not need insulin after a change to a lower carb diet. However most cats do need some insulin.

The best way to know what is going on with your kitty's blood glucose levels is to learn to test the blood glucose at home. Seeing what is happening to the blood glucose in 'real time' is immensely reassuring and empowering.
'Hometesting' will help you understand how the insulin is working in your cat's body; will help you to keep your cat safe from hypo; and it will save you money in vet's bills as you can do all blood glucose testing at home.

In a nutshell testing involves pricking the outer edge of the ear to get a little drop of blood, transferring that to a test strip in a glucose meter, and rewarding the cat with a yummy treat or a cuddle.
Most people can learn to test and most cats can be tested. Some take to it like proverbial 'ducks to water', others may find it more of an initial challenge. It's just like learning anything new.
If you'd like to learn to test we have lots of tips and tricks that may help you do that.

Eliz
@Meg25
Regarding the suspected food allergy/allergies, do you know exactly what your cat is allergic to..?

Eliz

Thank you so much Eliz! I have been beside myself with anxiety, worry, stress. The cat food plugged him so bad he had to have 3 enemas, and now a bout of laxatives and stool softners..its endless. But he is my baby, and god forbid something happened, i would never be able to live with myself. it has been a intersting 4 months when prior to this we never had a vet visit.. except shots. unreal!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top