Help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ziggyloveforever

Member Since 2021
Okay so Im new to kitty diabetes and forums so here’s what happened Ziggy was diagnosed yesterday with diabetes I tested at home just now and his BG is 90 could I be doing it wrong ? I will not give the shot but I just want to know if it took me too long to have the slide sit in the monitor while I tried to get the vein could that offset the reading ? He has had only one dose of insulin last night around 1am that’s about 23 hours ago when he tested 300. But now it’s down to 90 I’m so confused! At the 12th hour after his first insulin shot he was 146 and now he’s 90 is this normal he was diagnosed yesterday I have no clue what’s going on
 
how much insulin was given? what kind of insulin was it? did you recently change his food to something low carb? (BTW, don't aim for the vein... aim for the area along the edge between the vein and the edge.) it's POSSIBLE that you had too small of a drop and got a strange reading, but we have to assume it's correct unless you get another test. If that's the case then 90 is too low to shoot, so skip the shot. it makes me wonder if he actually is diabetic. Did they run a fructosamine test to diagnose him?
 
how much insulin was given? what kind of insulin was it? did you recently change his food to something low carb? (BTW, don't aim for the vein... aim for the area along the edge between the vein and the edge.) it's POSSIBLE that you had too small of a drop and got a strange reading, but we have to assume it's correct unless you get another test. If that's the case then 90 is too low to shoot, so skip the shot. it makes me wonder if he actually is diabetic. Did they run a fructosamine test to diagnose him?

No fructosamine test at all they told me he’s diabetic at 265 bg level reading we have lantus as an insulin currently. I’m wondering the same thing my self. I’m so confused because yesterday after not even eating for 6 hours he was 202 and then at night he was 400+ (the 400+ one was a urine test but it was clearly as dark as possible within 30 seconds did even take the full 60 to be as dark as possible) I used the vein that lines the edges on the ear tonight and yesterday and for the 202 reading today for our 146 reading and tonight for the 90 bg reading
 
how much insulin was given? what kind of insulin was it? did you recently change his food to something low carb? (BTW, don't aim for the vein... aim for the area along the edge between the vein and the edge.) it's POSSIBLE that you had too small of a drop and got a strange reading, but we have to assume it's correct unless you get another test. If that's the case then 90 is too low to shoot, so skip the shot. it makes me wonder if he actually is diabetic. Did they run a fructosamine test to diagnose him?
Half a unit was given when he was 400+ on the urine strip I couldn’t get an ear prick that night and that’s the only insulin he’s gotten and that was 21 hours ago
 
Half a unit was given when he was 400+ on the urine strip I couldn’t get an ear prick that night and that’s the only insulin he’s gotten and that was 21 hours ago
i think that' a good idea to lower the dose. One thing that would really help us help you is if you could set up a spreadsheet with all the readings you have and add it to your signature. this is a link to the spreadsheet template. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

to set up a signature, click on your name at the upper right and choose signature. add info such as your pets name, age, date diagnosed, insulin you are using and the food you are feeding. let me tag a few lantus users for you.

@tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom
 
i think that' a good idea to lower the dose. One thing that would really help us help you is if you could set up a spreadsheet with all the readings you have and add it to your signature. this is a link to the spreadsheet template. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

to set up a signature, click on your name at the upper right and choose signature. add info such as your pets name, age, date diagnosed, insulin you are using and the food you are feeding. let me tag a few lantus users for you.

@tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom


I will absolutely set up a spreadsheet when I can right now even just learning to prick him and monitor him via urine has proven difficult I’ve never used a forum before and it’s so many new things at once I’m trying my best he’s been testing normal the last few days he’s only had one dose I’m really struggling to ear prick him and he tested normal all day but just not tested high on a urine strip he hasn’t had insulin since the 15th should I give it to him ?
 
I will absolutely set up a spreadsheet when I can right now even just learning to prick him and monitor him via urine has proven difficult I’ve never used a forum before and it’s so many new things at once I’m trying my best he’s been testing normal the last few days he’s only had one dose I’m really struggling to ear prick him and he tested normal all day but just not tested high on a urine strip he hasn’t had insulin since the 15th should I give it to him ?
The urine strips can't read it if it's under the Renal threshold which for most cats is around 250. So under 250ish there's no glucose in the urine.


Someone can set the spreadsheet up for you if you want. @Chris & China (GA)
 
Good job setting up your spreadsheet!

It looks like Ziggy does need insulin, but a smaller dose. Do you have syringes with half unit marks?

If he's over 200 tomorrow, I think I'd try .25 (you'll have to eyeball it even with half unit marks) and then you'll want to get some tests in between the shots. Lantus dosing is based on how low it takes them, so it's important to get tests in between the shots so you see how low that dose is taking Ziggy. If he's under 200, stall, DON'T feed and test again in 20-30 minutes. If you haven't already done it, start a new thread with something like 'STALLING! NEED HELP!" as the subject line until you get somebody's attention...then you can go back and edit it.

Also, it's important that Ziggy not eat for the 2 hours immediately before shot times so that when you test, you get a number that's not influenced by food.

Besides the 2 Pre-Shots, if you can get a test between 5-7 hours from the AM shot that's usually when they're the lowest and then it's very important to always get at least 1 "before bed" test on the PM cycle because most cats go lower at night. If you can get more tests, that's even better!

The Pre-Shot tests are important because they tell us they're high enough to get insulin at all, but it's the tests in between the shots that tell us how they're really responding to the dose we're giving.

You'll want to hold the .25 dose for 5-7 days unless it drops him too low (below 50 or 90 depending on the dosing method you decide on)
upload_2021-11-18_22-45-19.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-11-18_22-45-19.png
    upload_2021-11-18_22-45-19.png
    114.5 KB · Views: 142
Last edited:
Hi Gen, would you be able to write in the remarks column of the SS what you are feeding Ziggy each day please? That would be helpful. Thanks
 
I will absolutely set up a spreadsheet when I can right now even just learning to prick him and monitor him via urine has proven difficult I’ve never used a forum before and it’s so many new things at once I’m trying my best he’s been testing normal the last few days he’s only had one dose I’m really struggling to ear prick him and he tested normal all day but just not tested high on a urine strip he hasn’t had insulin since the 15th should I give it to him ?
Nice job getting that signature and the spreadsheet going. I agree whenever it's over 200 give 0.25 but then try to get another test or two stirring the mood cycle so we see how low or goes. Changing to a low carb food will be extremely helpful and I wouldn't be surprised if it causes him to be mostly diet controlled.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top