help please, unexpectedly low BG in PM homecheck

Status
Not open for further replies.

stan_disuko

Member
Hello,

I feed eddie twice a day. He's pretty hungry now, he's been meowing in front of the food cupboard.

i hometest him before every meal.

Usually his BG level is in the low-mid 20's (mmol/L). I just checked now, as I usually do before giving him a shot, and it's only 11.6!

I'm about to feed him. I expect his BG will shoot up after he eats..but it's so low right now, I am not going to give him a PM insulin shot.

Is this the right thing to do?

thanks!
 
stan_disuko said:
Hello,

I feed eddie twice a day. He's pretty hungry now, he's been meowing in front of the food cupboard.

i hometest him before every meal.

Usually his BG level is in the low-mid 20's (mmol/L). I just checked now, as I usually do before giving him a shot, and it's only 11.6!

I'm about to feed him. I expect his BG will shoot up after he eats..but it's so low right now, I am not going to give him a PM insulin shot.

Is this the right thing to do?

thanks!

You can hold off a bit and test after feeding (maybe 20 minutes?) and shoot when you are comfortable (I doubt it would be long) or you can cut back on the amount. You don't have enough tests yet to see what is happening between shots. If you have recently changed to low carb canned diet, I would actually do both perhaps; wait a short while, test again AND cut the dose back a bit. Try to get some in between shot time numbers.
 
thanks karen.

i called my vet and they suggested one of 2 things...wait until after eddie has eaten and shoot 1.0 unit (50% of usual shot) or hold off on the shot altogether and test again as usual in the morning.

i told them i would hold off altogether and test again in the morning as usual.

i may actually test in a few minutes, just to check the level. i may still change my mind if the test is high...maybe just give 1.0 unit if that is the case.

thanks for the advice!
 
stan_disuko said:
about an hour later, and after eating, eddie just tested at 17.4. I'm going to give him 1.0 unit of insulin now.

That seems reasonable. Try to get some in between tests so you know how the insulin is working. It will help you make decisions in the future.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top