Help please, shot/no shot PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emmatacey

Member Since 2021
Can anyone help me on what I should do.

I have been trying to get my cats numbers down and just up the dose to 3.75 last night. It is all on his spreadsheet. Tonight for his PMPS he is 144. I tested his right ear and got 144 and then tested his left ear and got 147 on my Relion and used OneTouch Verio as back up and it gave me 142. I'm currently holding shot and food and will test in 20 minutes but should I no shoot at all or lower dose?

His spreadsheet

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...vzvJShSNzsM1JRmfrxYxLsl__A/edit#gid=361360320
 
I just checked him 30 minutes after the first check and he is 141.

I have plenty of strips, honey/syrup and HC wet food but he won't eat wet food. I can test through the night but I'm so nervous on even giving him anywhere near 3.75u.
 
Well he was on 3.5 for 12 cycles which wasn't really doing much but it's important that you are OK with what you decide too.

If you have everything you need and can test, I'd suggest going ahead with the 3.75, get a +1 and +2 and go from there. Remember, you'll also be feeding him so that's going to help bring him up too

Or you can give a reduced dose is that's what your gut is telling you but I'd still suggest getting a +1 and +2.

Remember, if you're home testing, YOU are in charge of his blood glucose (which is why we test!)
 
I do wonder how low he went today, but I'm not sure it would have been enough to earn a reduction. He's flat, which is good (we mostly care if dropping).

I have a slightly different opinion, since this is lowest youve shot by far - I'd go back to 3.5U for this shot only (provided you can monitor and have hypo kit). It's possible you're breaking through glucose toxicity, or diet change coming into play. I wouldn't go lower than 3.5U because you don't want to lose these numbers...though he may bounce anyway
 
I just gave him food and then I'm going with 3.5 and will test.

Next question, we are about 45 minutes late on shot than we typically go. In the morning, if things go well, can I give shot at our normal time?

Off to give shot now.
 
In the morning, if things go well, can I give shot at our normal time?

If he's over 300, then yes. If under, you might want to wait 30 minutes so you're not shooting more than about 15 minutes early....and then you'd shoot another 15 minutes early for the PM dose and be back on your normal schedule the following morning.
 
If he's over 300, then yes. If under, you might want to wait 30 minutes so you're not shooting more than about 15 minutes early....and then you'd shoot another 15 minutes early for the PM dose and be back on your normal schedule the following morning.
I believe you mean over 200?
 
I believe you mean over 200?

No...when shooting that early, we usually want them to be higher. If she was talking 15 minutes early, then 200 but not close to an hour. (besides, from the look of the spreadsheet, being over 300 is probably in the cards).

Another option would be to get a test about an hour before AMPS and then see if the AMPS is going up enough to feel good about shooting that early
 
I am back to 3.75u and his numbers are coming down again, which is good. The other night my choice to go from 3.75 to 3.5 bounced hard but since back to 3.75 he is doing better. Today at +5.75 we had our first green. We have been so long in all the other colors, I don't even know what to do with green other than if he is 50 he needs sugar. Now that we are coming down in numbers, how long do I hold 3.75. I had to go to work but plan to go home and try testing at +7.
 
Nice green! Curious what he is at +7 if you can get it.

The only time you need to do food intervention is if you're seeing big drops early in the cycle, and/or dropping into green, and/or starting to enter into 70s or lower (note this is specifically because he's on dry food, therefore you are following SLGS)

If you see early drops, try to estimate the trajectory to what he'll be in the next hour, 2 hrs, etc all the way til nadir. If the drop is so big he'll get into low greens or cause a bounce you want to try to slow it down with food.

Your best bet is to post and ask for help if you're seeing big drops that you think will eventually take him into green, and/or numbers lower than 80 ish. The idea is to be proactive and slow drops/prevent low numbers vs react to a number that's already low (but that can be unavoidable sometimes).
 
Here I am again. PMPS is 124. Last time his PMPS was 144, held for 30 minutes and rechecked 141. I reduced to 3.5 and his numbers bounced quite a bit. I'm holding now for 30 minutes. I'm inclined to do 3.75 because going down didn't work out. What should I do?
 
OK....he's going up slowly and you'll also be feeding him which will help raise his BG too

Do you have plenty of supplies and can you test as long as may be necessary tonight?
 
Will he eat canned at all? I know you're working on it but the problem with dry is it takes longer to break down and get into the bloodstream.

Will he eat something like Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers? (Or have you ever tried?)

I'd also get a +1 and +2 and see how he's doing
 
Last edited:
Will he eat canned at all? I know you're working on it but the problem with dry is it takes longer to break down and get into the bloodstream.

Will he eat something like Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers? (Or have you ever tried?)

I tried fancy feast pate, about 3 different kinds. I have tried Friskies and same thing. I keep trying but he walks away and it sits. They have an entire cat room (bedroom on second) and I feed them there. He will come down to first and just sit and won't touch anything wet.

I have some wet food I could try if we get low, honey, and syrup. I'm planning to check every hour.
 
You might get 1-2 cans of the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers (beef) next time you go to the store. Most cats, even the ones that won't eat pates, love the gravy part of the Gravy Lovers and then you'd have a good option for your "hypo kit". The beef flavor is 20% carb

What I did was pop the top, put it back down and squeeze the gravy part out into another bowl. Just a teaspoon or two of just the gravy is usually enough to bring them back up to a safer number and because it's mostly just the gravy part, it doesn't "fill them up" in case we need them to eat more later.
 
You might get 1-2 cans of the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers (beef) next time you go to the store. Most cats, even the ones that won't eat pates, love the gravy part of the Gravy Lovers and then you'd have a good option for your "hypo kit". The beef flavor is 20% carb

What I did was pop the top, put it back down and squeeze the gravy part out into another bowl. Just a teaspoon or two of just the gravy is usually enough to bring them back up to a safer number and because it's mostly just the gravy part, it doesn't "fill them up" in case we need them to eat more later.


I did grab a Friskies lil' gravies packet. Roasted Turkey flavor. Any experience with that?
 
I did grab a Friskies lil' gravies packet. Roasted Turkey flavor. Any experience with that?

No, they're too new for us to know much about but from the ingredients and the Guaranteed Analysis, I'd say they're actually very low carb since they're 96% water.
upload_2021-12-13_20-39-11.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-12-13_20-39-11.png
    upload_2021-12-13_20-39-11.png
    78.8 KB · Views: 115
When I transitioned my cats to wet food, I sprinkled dry food on top of the wet food and gradually reduced the amount of dry food they got until they recognized the wet food as food. Cats are pretty stubborn, so it may take many weeks and lots of patience but it's worth it because the wet food is so much better for their long term health and preventing lots of other conditions such as kidney disease, urinary crystals and infections, much of which stems from the lack of moisture in a dry food diet. No matter how many fountains or bowls of water you leave out, moisture in food is the best way of getting it into them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top