Julie and Alice
Member Since 2014
Please can anyone help re Alice, 3 weeks since diagnosis when had diabetic ketoacidosis (4+ ketones). She is alive but not well. She has Caninsulin 3 units at 8am and 7pm. I feed her & give insulin at the same time. I home test. Blood glucose is soooo high before each insulin shot. It drops after insulin for a very short time only. She is clearly not feeling good - wants to eat but has a little appetite until glucose has fallen a little, drinks ++ then seems to wait until her sugar is down abit (around 2-3 hours) & then will feel like eating, until then she has few mouthfuls or licks it. I am then going back & forth to encourage her to eat as much as possible within the first 3 hours. She then has a bit more around 4+ hours. Eventually she seems to feel a little better & will enjoy a roll on the floor and a fuss. She is very lethargic & not playing although at times shows an interest but no energy - I tell a lie - she tried to catch a butterfly today but missed it (thankfully!) it was good to see a moments action though!
I did my first glucose curve in the evening 28th March which surprised me as it started lower than usual:
Started - 18:00 BG 20.6 (immediately before insulin & food - I gave insulin 1 hour earlier as clocks soon to change & very hungry. Hungry & eating well.)
19:00 BG 22.9 (resting in her bed - hour one )
20:00 BG 19.2 (Eating ++!)
21:00 BG 17.2 (Fed when encouraged. Lethargic struggled badly with stairs).
22:00 BG 13.2 (Asked for food so gave a few grams only).
23:05 BG 11.6 (sleeping - nadir?)
00:00 BG 11.6 (sleeping)
01:00 BG 13.9 (sleeping)
I stopped there as vet said only wanted to see where turned at bottom (& it was rather late!)
I then checked the next am’s (29th) BG at:
07:00 BG 27.9 (Insulin & food then given. Poor appetite & drinking++ No ketones).
12:05 BG 9.2 ( 5 hours later - lowest EVER!)
13:05 BG 12.5 (resting)
18:05 BG 29.3 (Actually RAN upstairs no problem!!! A first since unwell. Insulin & food given immediately after this BG test as usual.
I haven’t given her vet these figures yet but he said I should give 0.5-1.0 more insulin if lowest nadir figure was over 11. I haven’t adjusted because of the low surprisingly at 9.2 once).
I have previous blood sugars if needed, usually 5 hours after shot (learning the lingo!).
My feeling is that this insulin is too short acting & she is usually very hungy and asking for food, 3-4 hours before its insulin time, its so hard to refuse & sometimes I just give her 5-10gms but it doesn’t satisfy. Her blood glucose shoots up between shots & then she suffers from poor appetite until it settles more often than not. It is miserable to see. She keeps going to the water bowl for the first 2-3 hours approx. after shot & food.
The vet has a different opinion. He thinks she is difficult - most of his patients aren’t. He would prefer to test for Cushings & maybe tumor causing the problem. I dread any time at the vets as she is very timid & petrified. She had a rotten time in Hospital, they had to put her in the quiet isolation pen - they removed her bed as she wouldn’t get in it & just tried to hide her head at the side of it like an ostrich! Instead they gave her a blanket which she hid under the whole time until I visited.p890a`
I will test for cushings if worth it, but wouldn’t she still need a different insulin. It doesn’t make logical sense to me to not be able to feed her because the insulin has run out! I may be wrong, vet says its suits his other patients. She is so thin I don’t want to mess around for ages & her get weaker. I don’t know how to get another insulin, he wouldn’t commit to it at any point. He asked if I would like a referral to a Vetinary consultant miles away. She hates travelling - I could Skype but she would possibly need MRI & tests. he can test for Cushings at his own practice.
My question is, why the very high sugar swings? Does she need a different insulin? If so HOW do I get it!!
I hope this rings a bell somewhere and that you are able to help. I am so pleased to have found your site - THANK YOU!
I don’t have children, may seem pathetic, but I so love this pussy, she’s a lovely little gentle friend who follows me, chats to me & waits for me when I’m out!
Thanks
Julianax
I did my first glucose curve in the evening 28th March which surprised me as it started lower than usual:
Started - 18:00 BG 20.6 (immediately before insulin & food - I gave insulin 1 hour earlier as clocks soon to change & very hungry. Hungry & eating well.)
19:00 BG 22.9 (resting in her bed - hour one )
20:00 BG 19.2 (Eating ++!)
21:00 BG 17.2 (Fed when encouraged. Lethargic struggled badly with stairs).
22:00 BG 13.2 (Asked for food so gave a few grams only).
23:05 BG 11.6 (sleeping - nadir?)
00:00 BG 11.6 (sleeping)
01:00 BG 13.9 (sleeping)
I stopped there as vet said only wanted to see where turned at bottom (& it was rather late!)
I then checked the next am’s (29th) BG at:
07:00 BG 27.9 (Insulin & food then given. Poor appetite & drinking++ No ketones).
12:05 BG 9.2 ( 5 hours later - lowest EVER!)
13:05 BG 12.5 (resting)
18:05 BG 29.3 (Actually RAN upstairs no problem!!! A first since unwell. Insulin & food given immediately after this BG test as usual.
I haven’t given her vet these figures yet but he said I should give 0.5-1.0 more insulin if lowest nadir figure was over 11. I haven’t adjusted because of the low surprisingly at 9.2 once).
I have previous blood sugars if needed, usually 5 hours after shot (learning the lingo!).
My feeling is that this insulin is too short acting & she is usually very hungy and asking for food, 3-4 hours before its insulin time, its so hard to refuse & sometimes I just give her 5-10gms but it doesn’t satisfy. Her blood glucose shoots up between shots & then she suffers from poor appetite until it settles more often than not. It is miserable to see. She keeps going to the water bowl for the first 2-3 hours approx. after shot & food.
The vet has a different opinion. He thinks she is difficult - most of his patients aren’t. He would prefer to test for Cushings & maybe tumor causing the problem. I dread any time at the vets as she is very timid & petrified. She had a rotten time in Hospital, they had to put her in the quiet isolation pen - they removed her bed as she wouldn’t get in it & just tried to hide her head at the side of it like an ostrich! Instead they gave her a blanket which she hid under the whole time until I visited.p890a`
I will test for cushings if worth it, but wouldn’t she still need a different insulin. It doesn’t make logical sense to me to not be able to feed her because the insulin has run out! I may be wrong, vet says its suits his other patients. She is so thin I don’t want to mess around for ages & her get weaker. I don’t know how to get another insulin, he wouldn’t commit to it at any point. He asked if I would like a referral to a Vetinary consultant miles away. She hates travelling - I could Skype but she would possibly need MRI & tests. he can test for Cushings at his own practice.
My question is, why the very high sugar swings? Does she need a different insulin? If so HOW do I get it!!
I hope this rings a bell somewhere and that you are able to help. I am so pleased to have found your site - THANK YOU!
I don’t have children, may seem pathetic, but I so love this pussy, she’s a lovely little gentle friend who follows me, chats to me & waits for me when I’m out!
Thanks
Julianax