Help please for Ginger Roger(Ginge)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ann jones

Member Since 2019
Ginge is 16 years old and has been diabetic for many years.
He was put on Lantus in 2012.
Recently he was quite ill and was hospitalized for 48 hours and put on a drip.
He was diagnosed with stage 2 CKD.
His BG has been in the 20's, sometimes 30's.
He was on 5 units of insulin until then but I have increased it steadily and now he is on 9 units.
His readings today were 8.2 pre shot.10.6 mid day(these readings are practically unheard of) but then this evening he is back up to 19.4.
I don't know what to do!!!!!!

Ginge's Spreadsheet
 

Attachments

  • 104_8365.JPG
    104_8365.JPG
    78.3 KB · Views: 104
Welcome to FDMB and great job getting the SS attached.

First, we need to get your SS working correctly. Those numbers are not lime green range and your US SS isn’t converting because you needed to enter those numbers on the World SS. We go by US numbers here, not World, so it’s important that SS work properly. Actually, they both should because the proper coloring is really helpful in spotting patterns. With everything lime green (which we use for really low numbers), it’s hard to pick out the patterns without looking at every single number (which is time consuming especially since they are in World format and everything has to, right now, be manually converted).

Can you please send me a private message by clicking on “Marje and Gracie” to the left and then “start a conversation”. I could then work with you to fix the SS (I can fix it for you if you give me editing rights).

I will say that the dose was increased way too much, way too fast by going up 2u in 24 hours. Even with a cat at 6u of Lantus, we’d raise by 0.5u every three days at the fastest.

He’s diving and bouncing and without nighttime tests each evening, it’s hard to tell if he might be overdosed right now although the mornings after you didn’t test at night, he’s not clear up in black so that can be a good sign.:)

Do you have any other data prior to what is on the SS? Is his BG drastically different than what it has historically been? What has his dose generally been in the past and did he just start needing 5u or is that typical?

Thanks for the info! Once we get the SS sorted out, we will have some other ideas for you.

He’s very handsome!!!!!!!! I hope he’s doing much better since his hospital stay.
 
Welcome to FDMB and great job getting the SS attached.

First, we need to get your SS working correctly. Those numbers are not lime green range and your US SS isn’t converting because you needed to enter those numbers on the World SS. We go by US numbers here, not World, so it’s important that SS work properly. Actually, they both should because the proper coloring is really helpful in spotting patterns. With everything lime green (which we use for really low numbers), it’s hard to pick out the patterns without looking at every single number (which is time consuming especially since they are in World format and everything has to, right now, be manually converted).

Can you please send me a private message by clicking on “Marje and Gracie” to the left and then “start a conversation”. I could then work with you to fix the SS (I can fix it for you if you give me editing rights).

I will say that the dose was increased way too much, way too fast by going up 2u in 24 hours. Even with a cat at 6u of Lantus, we’d raise by 0.5u every three days at the fastest.

He’s diving and bouncing and without nighttime tests each evening, it’s hard to tell if he might be overdosed right now although the mornings after you didn’t test at night, he’s not clear up in black so that can be a good sign.:)

Do you have any other data prior to what is on the SS? Is his BG drastically different than what it has historically been? What has his dose generally been in the past and did he just start needing 5u or is that typical?

Thanks for the info! Once we get the SS sorted out, we will have some other ideas for you.

He’s very handsome!!!!!!!! I hope he’s doing much better since his hospital stay.
 
He does not have any historical data.
He was started on 5 units in 2012 and remained stable until recently.
People have been giving me lots of advise, my new vet does not seem to know much about diabetes.
Oh dear God, please don't say I have been overdosing him, the poor poor boy.
My neighbour's husband has been diabetic for 57 years so she has been telling me what to do.
I mean is it even the same in humans?
 
Ann don't panic, take a few deep breathes.
Treating diabetes in humans and felines is similar.
Once Ginge's SS is fixed and more understandable forum members will be able to see more accurately how Ginge is reacting to his insulin.
Were you able to PM Marje to help with your SS?
She is the one that developed the SS that we use on the forum and is invaluable when it comes to fixing problems with SS and advice.
 
So here is a general reference to the SS data.
AMPS= morning preshot (BG) Blood Glucose Number.
U= units of insulin given
+1= 1 hour after given insulin shot, +2= 2 hours after insulin shot etc.

PMPS= evening preshot (BG) Blood Glucose Number
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top