Help, please? Am despairing--insulin resistance?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lily Phoenix

Member Since 2016
I'll try to keep this really focused. I am not focused enough to comprehend the spreadsheet thing, nor do I have enough results to really get anything from it. My Mamacita went into hospital 11/11/16 and started on 1U ProZinc. Her baseline at 8:55 a.m. after 12 hours fast was 330. During the day and evening she had 5 more tests and BG went down at first a little and then, after the 2nd shot in evening, a lot: 293, 279, 284, 176, 129. The next morning her first test was 420, then 409, then 353, then released to me. Since that time I have been testing at home once I finally learned how, but at most once or twice a day due to my schedule, serious ongoing stress (this is not my only crisis)--and while she's great with the insulin shots, she's unhappy with the blood testing, whimpers--I put her in a grooming bag. It's very difficult to get blood from her also, as her vein is at the absolute outer edge of her ears, there is no sweet spot, and usually I hit the vein. Meanwhile, the vet requires me to bring her in every Monday and he tests her and every time just tells me to take it up another half unit. Very stressful and expensive for us. Once we went to 2.5U 2x/day, she was obviously ill--weak hind legs, tottery, clearly felt bad--but her numbers were still high. So I cut the dose back at once to 2U in a.m. and 1.5 in p.m. She stabilized overnight and I just stayed there at that dose.
From the 2nd day of her hospitalization to today, her numbers have always been in the mid-300s to the high-400s, with the absolute lowest being 330. No matter what. No matter what time of day or food she's had or hours since she had any. No matter what. BTW, she had full blood tests the week before hospital, which did not show any problems except the blood sugar.
On the forum I learned she might have developed antibodies to the particular insulin ProZinc, or might have general insulin resistance due to some underlying condition or infection. So I wanted to try Lantus and finally, after serious upset at the vet's, got a script for it. I took the weekend completely off and girded myself to test her and get a full curve. Due to severe insomnia I am just too incoherent and tired first thing in a.m. to do a test before her first shot, going back to 1U to start. But I did do 4 more tests through day, every 3 hours from first shot, as follows: 375, 377, 403, 433. That last test was an awful experience for both of us as she'd had more than enough and it took me 4 tries on 2 ears to get blood and then hit a vein, and then took still longer to give her her shot, which I increased to 1.25U though I was shaking by that time and could not hide it. Although I always get into a good space when doing any of this to her, as of this test I just lost it, and promised her no more today. She seemed very well through the day and evening.
Today, since I didn't sleep until very late and cannot sleep in due to needing to give her her shot, I was exhausted and I've only given her 1 test, hoping to find a nadir in there somewhere by testing 5.5 hours after a.m. shot. 431.
The rise the morning after her first day in hospital--that could well have been a bounce, but it's never unbounced. I could keep increasing her Lantus dose and hoping for some change. But my first question is: Shouldn't there have been some significant decrease even if the Lantus dose wasn't big enough yesterday? Shouldn't there have been some kind of nadir? To me it seems she's insulin resistant, and I cannot afford to change vets and go to the even more staggeringly expensive vet here--if they'll take me, which they might not, they pick and choose--and start everything all over again. She is not obese, does not have acromegaly, I forget the third thing on the list of insulin resistance causes but she did not have that, so that leaves only underlying condition or infection.
And my second question: she is steadily losing weight, after having rapidly gained weight when she started on the ProZinc (eating/drinking/peeing then way too much, like an unmedicated cat). She doesn't seem to eat/drink now as much as then. Her legs, once I went to the lower dose of ProZinc, are straight and she stays high on them all the time now though the legs are stiff. Her peeing is not the huge flood it was and she is now actually sitting in the litterbox, though peeing outside of it, which is a huge improvement. Is it possible the insulin is doing her some good even though she has insulin resistance?
I guarantee you my vet will not be able to answer these questions. He did not even know what Lantus was. His wife demanded that I provide them with all the research on it, all the papers I'd read, etc., but most of that BS is because it just kills her to have them write a script for anything and pass up their 100% - !000% markups. I don't even want to continue with him at all. I had a cat die in January this year, huge expense, didn't help anything, but I really expected I'd be able to manage Mamacita's condition just fine. But I've been surprised to find that I'm going through hell, hemorrhaging money for no benefit, and just massively stressing out, confused, and feeling very alone.
 
Oh my gosh, I'm sorry you are going through such hell right now! You and Mamacita sound stressed to the max! So first, take a DEEP BREATH, and have a hug :bighug:.

Okay. I don't usually give dosing advice so I'm not real helpful in that department, but maybe I can help make the testing a little easier on you both.

It's best to find a calm, quiet place in the house where you can do all testing. Lots of petting and snuggling is a requirement before beginning! Gently rubbing her ears before poking sometimes helps them not mind the stick as much. You can also apply a very thin layer of Neosporin with Pain Relief ointment beforehand - it eases the sting and also helps the blood to bead up, rather than dispersing through the hair. You could also try testing on her paw pad, it works well for some folks (Squallie shot up to the ceiling and wouldn't come back down for an hour when I tried, lol).

Does Mamacita have a particular treat she is fond of? Squallie loves the Orijen treats, and the ONLY time he gets them is after each test. That makes it special, and he knows we have to do the test before he can have the treat. He hears the zipper on the test kit now and comes running.

Sorry your vet seems to be such a lost cause, but please know you are not alone. We will try to help you and answer your questions, and we are here with you when you need it. It can take a while before you see a change when you first start Lantus. Have you read the "stickies" on the Lantus & Levemir forum? There is a lot of information there about dosing. Also, if you post for dosing advice on the L&L forum you will probably get more help from someone who can help.

Last but by no means least, try to take care of yourself, too! I have severe insomnia, too, so I know how hard it is, you have my complete sympathy. But you need to stay healthy yourself or you won't be able to help Mamacita be healthy! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hello--

First off, mega- :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: to you-- you really have been put through a wringer with this, and it's obvious how much you just want Mamacita to get better, and how much it is stressing you out to see such little progress. Hang in there, you're in exactly the right place to get some help with this situation, the folks on this board are wonderful and immensely knowledgable about feline diabetes.

There are others more experienced that I am who can possibly offer some insights about the possibility of insulin resistance or other complicating issues. I don't know much about those issues, but I can tell you that it's really too soon to tell at least with respect to the Lantus. It's a "depot" insulin, and sometimes (especially at first when you are first "filling the depot") it takes several cycles before you can really tell what a given dose is going to do. Mamacita may indeed need a larger dose eventually, but a couple days isn't enough to make that call-- assuming she's on an appropriate starting dose for Lantus (see questions below), I'd give it at least a week. Use the time to rebuild the relationship with Mamacita and get a (low-stress) testing routine going-- some cats are harder than others, but most (if properly reinforced with snuggles and yummy snacks) eventually do just fine with the tests. My own cat has been off insulin for six months now, and I continue to test her more frequently than I'd intended, just because she guilts me into it by going over to the testing spot and looking at me hopefully ("treats? treats now???"). It will get easier.

Believe me, I know what it's like to deal with insomnia while trying to cope with something like this. Been there, big-time. And if you've had insomnia for a while and figured out your own personal work-arounds for the fogginess, etc. that allow you to just barely function almost-normally in your day-to-day life, having something like this can feel like the straw that broke the camel's back. All of a sudden you have this other creature who is completely dependent on you being on top of things... and you just aren't on top of things. It can feel overwhelming, but the bottom line is, you can only do the best that you can do, and whatever you manage to do is going to put Mamacita in better health than she would be otherwise. It may mean taking a less aggressive approach to dosing than you might like to in a perfect world-- and that's OK.

Some questions to give other folks a head start in giving you some more specific advice about dosing, etc.:

1) What is the current dose of Lantus, and when exactly did you start?
2) What kind of glucose meter do you use (human vs. pet, i.e. Alphatrak)
3) How old is Mamacita, and does she have any other health issues that you know of (I know you said the recent bloodwork was good, just double-checking)
4) General area where you live (you don't have to be specific; this is just for things like knowing what country/timezone you're in so folks can offer specific tips on cat food shopping and dose timing).

You can put this info into your "signature" so people don't have to keep asking. Another thing that will be really helpful will be to set up an online spreadsheet with the blood glucose numbers you have and more going forward (this will probably be a task for a time when you aren't feeling :blackeye: from the insomnia-- it's not too hard to set up, but there are some little tricks to it, the folks here can help).

Again, :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: for what you're going through and the frustration you're feeling! Be good to yourself, for your own sake and for Mamacita's-- as they say on the airplanes, you gotta put your own oxygen mask on before helping others. It will get better, this is do-able!
 
Please take some deep breaths and try to unwind as best you can. You don't have to do anything right at this moment.

I think there are two main issues you have in front of you:
  1. Learning to test BG at home with the minimum of fuss and bother for both you and your lovely kitty. You can train her to come to your testing/injecting area by making it a place where she gets lots of attention, petting, scratches, ear handling and treats. Keep doing this until both of you are at ease. Then try the BG testing when you have time and are relatively relaxed. Warming the ear helps, having a lancet needle that's thick enough (28G) helps and holding it so the bevel (slanted) side is up helps. Practice makes perfect and staying as calm and business-like as you can is important.
  2. Insulin: You're only little over a month into this and you're already on your second insulin. Each insulin has its own characteristics and best way to use it. ProZinc and Lantus are different in some key characteristics. No kitty gets regulated overnight and there's often a LOT of trial and error in dosing that needs to happen to get BGs looking better. Another complication is that too low a dose and too high a dose can both give high BG numbers. You need to be testing on a regular schedule to sort this out.
You haven't said what you feed your kitty - or I've missed it in your post. If she gets any dry food that has to be changed because, with very few exceptions, kibble is very high in carbs. Canned low carb, high protein food is best and there are grocery store brands that are economical and suitable.

We can certainly help you to address these two main issues and any others.
 
Hello--

First off, mega- :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: to you-- you really have been put through a wringer with this, and it's obvious how much you just want Mamacita to get better, and how much it is stressing you out to see such little progress. Hang in there, you're in exactly the right place to get some help with this situation, the folks on this board are wonderful and immensely knowledgable about feline diabetes.

There are others more experienced that I am who can possibly offer some insights about the possibility of insulin resistance or other complicating issues. I don't know much about those issues, but I can tell you that it's really too soon to tell at least with respect to the Lantus. It's a "depot" insulin, and sometimes (especially at first when you are first "filling the depot") it takes several cycles before you can really tell what a given dose is going to do. Mamacita may indeed need a larger dose eventually, but a couple days isn't enough to make that call-- assuming she's on an appropriate starting dose for Lantus (see questions below), I'd give it at least a week. Use the time to rebuild the relationship with Mamacita and get a (low-stress) testing routine going-- some cats are harder than others, but most (if properly reinforced with snuggles and yummy snacks) eventually do just fine with the tests. My own cat has been off insulin for six months now, and I continue to test her more frequently than I'd intended, just because she guilts me into it by going over to the testing spot and looking at me hopefully ("treats? treats now???"). It will get easier.

Believe me, I know what it's like to deal with insomnia while trying to cope with something like this. Been there, big-time. And if you've had insomnia for a while and figured out your own personal work-arounds for the fogginess, etc. that allow you to just barely function almost-normally in your day-to-day life, having something like this can feel like the straw that broke the camel's back. All of a sudden you have this other creature who is completely dependent on you being on top of things... and you just aren't on top of things. It can feel overwhelming, but the bottom line is, you can only do the best that you can do, and whatever you manage to do is going to put Mamacita in better health than she would be otherwise. It may mean taking a less aggressive approach to dosing than you might like to in a perfect world-- and that's OK.

Some questions to give other folks a head start in giving you some more specific advice about dosing, etc.:

1) What is the current dose of Lantus, and when exactly did you start?
2) What kind of glucose meter do you use (human vs. pet, i.e. Alphatrak)
3) How old is Mamacita, and does she have any other health issues that you know of (I know you said the recent bloodwork was good, just double-checking)
4) General area where you live (you don't have to be specific; this is just for things like knowing what country/timezone you're in so folks can offer specific tips on cat food shopping and dose timing).

You can put this info into your "signature" so people don't have to keep asking. Another thing that will be really helpful will be to set up an online spreadsheet with the blood glucose numbers you have and more going forward (this will probably be a task for a time when you aren't feeling :blackeye: from the insomnia-- it's not too hard to set up, but there are some little tricks to it, the folks here can help).

Again, :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: for what you're going through and the frustration you're feeling! Be good to yourself, for your own sake and for Mamacita's-- as they say on the airplanes, you gotta put your own oxygen mask on before helping others. It will get better, this is do-able!


You're the first person I've ever met who actually understands how you live when you don't sleep--thank you so much. It has messed up my whole life, I can't drive before 9:30 or 10, can't do appointments or work before 11, plus only am my former intelligent self 2 days a week tops--I do sleep on my own 2 days a week usually. I can't take things like I used to be able to, it has sapped my courage and slashed my IQ, not being able to take things in or understand them, especially when under any rush or stress (and there's been nonstop stress since September)--which is why it took me so long to be able to home test. I actually LOST the meter the day I got it, so confused by all the stuff to try to read and understand, and it stayed lost almost a week. And especially with a vet who hasn't opened a book or read an article since vet school--and whom I'm afraid to alienate as there has to be an emergency vet available to my cats in this rural location. Mama's situation has been like having a 20-hour a week job suddenly added.
I just tried to answer your questions and the others' in signature and gave up after half an hour. They don't tell you how many characters you actually get. So: (1) I started Lantus pen (after ProZinc since 11/11) yesterday morning, 12/17/16 and so far have given 3 shots: 1st at 1U (thinking I'd use the Start Low Go Slow method, and knowing for sure the 2.5U 2x/day the vet prescribed was too much. Raised that to 1.25U last night since her numbers never went down below 375 thru day and were back up to 433 by time for 2nd dose.
(2) Human meter, Arkray from ADW.
(3) Mamacita's probably 13, not much older. Only health issue she's had has been intestinal parasites (she was in a colony for years by a creek, they all had these) and her diabetic behavior began immediately after a course of metronidazole for these. She had metro twice this year. I feel it's related. She used to be the friskiest of my 4 cats. All of them are rescues from that colony and 3 are afraid of everyone but me, but Mama is totally tame, like a dog, follows me around (until I started giving her all those blood tests).
(4) We live in Northern California.
I still have so much to do today, may not be able to come back on here too much more tonight. I appreciate everyone's replies so much, and especially the hugs. Have no one to talk to about all this.
 
Please take some deep breaths and try to unwind as best you can. You don't have to do anything right at this moment.

I think there are two main issues you have in front of you:
  1. Learning to test BG at home with the minimum of fuss and bother for both you and your lovely kitty. You can train her to come to your testing/injecting area by making it a place where she gets lots of attention, petting, scratches, ear handling and treats. Keep doing this until both of you are at ease. Then try the BG testing when you have time and are relatively relaxed. Warming the ear helps, having a lancet needle that's thick enough (28G) helps and holding it so the bevel (slanted) side is up helps. Practice makes perfect and staying as calm and business-like as you can is important.
  2. Insulin: You're only little over a month into this and you're already on your second insulin. Each insulin has its own characteristics and best way to use it. ProZinc and Lantus are different in some key characteristics. No kitty gets regulated overnight and there's often a LOT of trial and error in dosing that needs to happen to get BGs looking better. Another complication is that too low a dose and too high a dose can both give high BG numbers. You need to be testing on a regular schedule to sort this out.
You haven't said what you feed your kitty - or I've missed it in your post. If she gets any dry food that has to be changed because, with very few exceptions, kibble is very high in carbs. Canned low carb, high protein food is best and there are grocery store brands that are economical and suitable.

We can certainly help you to address these two main issues and any others.

I can blood test and benefited from all the tips here and also videos--it's the amount of time and focused attention all this takes that make it impossible to do throughout day/night. Plus it upsets her, she purrs loudly to reassure herself, whimpers, struggles. I have to bag her in grooming bag. I warm the ear, have the right lancets, etc., but sometimes it just goes wrong, especially when I'm tired. She gets Pure Bites after everything. I read up on Lantus vs. ProZinc dosing while I waited for the Lantus to arrive and read that while ProZinc dosage is based on the curve, Lantus is based on the nadir, which should come 5-6 hours after the shot but that hasn't happened. I stayed home yesterday to do a strict regimen of testing and finally get some kind of curve data but I truly didn't get anything else done all day except feed, lift/food/put food down, shoot, and test and prep/clean up/soothe all day long. And upset my cat and myself terribly by nightfall. I don't understand how anybody can keep this schedule going, especially with other cats.
 
I can blood test and benefited from all the tips here and also videos--it's the amount of time and focused attention all this takes that make it impossible to do throughout day/night. Plus it upsets her, she purrs loudly to reassure herself, whimpers, struggles. I have to bag her in grooming bag. I warm the ear, have the right lancets, etc., but sometimes it just goes wrong, especially when I'm tired. She gets Pure Bites after everything. I read up on Lantus vs. ProZinc dosing while I waited for the Lantus to arrive and read that while ProZinc dosage is based on the curve, Lantus is based on the nadir, which should come 5-6 hours after the shot but that hasn't happened. I stayed home yesterday to do a strict regimen of testing and finally get some kind of curve data but I truly didn't get anything else done all day except feed, lift/food/put food down, shoot, and test and prep/clean up/soothe all day long. And upset my cat and myself terribly by nightfall. I don't understand how anybody can keep this schedule going, especially with other cats.
The routine takes time to develop but it will happen. Right now you have a million question marks around testing, insulin and dosing and that adds a huge extra burden. You are still confused, disoriented and in the early stages of dealing with this. I promise it gets better with time and assistance from the knowledgeable people here. We've all been where you are now.
 
OK... I definitely think the thing to do is to pull back on the intensity for a week or so-- stick with the 1U for now, don't change it for at least a week. Lantus isn't like Prozinc, it works best when dosed consistently, and you do want to fill that depot to get it to work properly. Get whatever tests you can this week, but mostly spend the time getting yourself and Mamacita more comfortable with the whole testing routine.

The "sugar dance", as we call it, is often confusing and frustrating, especially at first. Often, things just don't seem to make sense! If you click on the link in my signature for "Amber's spreadsheet", you can see how it went for us the first few months. I was testing, but not really engaging with the board here, so I made a lot of (in retrospect) silly moves. The thing was, with all the moves I made (changing doses, skipping shots, etc.) that you would think logically should have had an effect on her numbers (good and bad!), nothing did. I thought I was going crazy!!!! Luckily, things did start to move eventually and she went OTJ-- "off the juice"/off insulin. :)

When you get a chance, let us know what Mamacita eats (forgot to ask that question-- my own brain fog coming through a bit there :confused:). Diet can have a huge impact on blood glucose numbers, though, so don't make any changes until you're comfortable with the home testing so you can track her reaction and keep her safe.

Hang in there, sending more :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: your way!
 
Believe me, I know what it's like to deal with insomnia while trying to cope with something like this. Been there, big-time. And if you've had insomnia for a while and figured out your own personal work-arounds for the fogginess, etc. that allow you to just barely function almost-normally in your day-to-day life, having something like this can feel like the straw that broke the camel's back. All of a sudden you have this other creature who is completely dependent on you being on top of things... and you just aren't on top of things.

You're the first person I've ever met who actually understands how you live when you don't sleep--thank you so much. It has messed up my whole life, I can't drive before 9:30 or 10, can't do appointments or work before 11, plus only am my former intelligent self 2 days a week tops--I do sleep on my own 2 days a week usually. I can't take things like I used to be able to, it has sapped my courage and slashed my IQ, not being able to take things in or understand them, especially when under any rush or stress [...] so confused by all the stuff to try to read and understand [...] Mama's situation has been like having a 20-hour a week job suddenly added.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Make that three of us. The two of you have just described what day-t0-day existence has been like for me for many, many years. I developed PTSD after an accident over 10 years ago. I actually cannot remember what it feels like to have a good night's sleep and I'm heavily reliant on sleep meds to knock myself out. What happens in my brain is like what happens to a car engine when one sticks the accelerator pedal to the floor while the clutch is disengaged: an insane amount of noise and revving ensues but it doesn't get me anywhere and then the engine seizes up completely.

The constant fatigue is miserable; it can be a major undertaking to get into the kitchen to pour out a glass of juice for myself. Here I am: a once-upon-a-time, up 'n' at 'em, life 'n' soul of the party, mad for more road engineering professional who has now been reduced to a chronically fatigued, quivering, panicky, OCD-plagued shut-in of a Billy No-mates who finds the whole world terrifying. :( (Definitely didn't say anything in the brochure about my life ending up this abysmal. :oops:)

It can feel overwhelming, but the bottom line is, you can only do the best that you can do, and whatever you manage to do is going to put Mamacita in better health than she would be otherwise. It may mean taking a less aggressive approach to dosing than you might like to in a perfect world-- and that's OK.

@Lily Phoenix - Nan's advice above is very wise. You are already doing so much more than the many, many pet guardians who don't even attempt any treatment. I had to adapt Saoirse's treatment method to what we could manage that was right for us. With a bit of help and support from the kind members here hopefully you'll be able to work out a routine that's right for you and Mamacita. We like answering questions and signposting you to the forum information that will be helpful to you (saves you wandering the place not knowing where to look for the stuff you need).

The way I managed to get stuff into my head about FD and all of the additional material here was to go to a thread or a forum sticky and just let my eyes slide over the content - over and over again. That, and scanning threads about the same themes/questions. The info eventually got into the noggin because of the sheer volume of repetitive content in posts about the most commonly discussed topics (testing, feeding, treatments, spreadsheet reviews, etc.). All that repetition helped the knowledge to slip in 'by osmosis'. It might take a little time but the stuff you need to know will percolate through to the grey matter. Eventually. :rolleyes: :)

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:


The constant fatigue is miserable; it can be a major undertaking to get into the kitchen to pour out a glass of juice for myself. Here I am: a once-upon-a-time, up 'n' at 'em, life 'n' soul of the party, mad for more road engineering professional now reduced to a chronically fatigued, quivering, panicky, OCD-plagued shut-in of a Billy No-mates who finds the whole world terrifying. :(

.

Sigh. Wish this didn't sound so familiar... :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: to you too, Mogs!

Hope you are getting one of your 2/week good night's tonight, Lily Phoenix. Let us know how it is going...
 
Hello and welcome. :bighug::bighug: There is a lot to learn with Feline diabetes, but it will get easier. There was a lot of crying when I first started testing and I am sure most people can say the same. As I learned to relax, so did my cat. They can feel our emotions. Silly as it sounds, try singing. Maybe the hokey pokey. :p Whatever it takes to relax you too.

My girl had two high dose conditions. Did Mamacita have the blood test to rule out acromegaly? You cannot tell by look. Neko had acromegaly, and insulin auto antibodies or IAA, but did not have any acromegaly look when she was diagnosed. Only 35% of cats have clinical signs on diagnosis. We don't usually suggest that people test for high dose conditions until the dose gets over 6 units, though there have been acrocats here on smaller doses.

If the Prozinc dose got up to 2.5 units, then starting Lantus at 1 unit is likely too little insulin. Typically people switch to the same dose when they switch insulins.

As for lack of sleep, that too gets better as you learn your cat's blood sugar patterns. After five years of blood sugar testing, I survived. My basic rule was to test more to keep her safe. If your cat's blood sugar is still in the 300 or 400'range 4 hours after the shot, stop testing that cycle. Get some sleep. Save the extra testing into the night for the times when kitty goes below 100. Mammcita will eventually get there. There is a dose for every cat that starts to move their numbers and she is still in quite low dose numbers.
 
You're the first person I've ever met who actually understands how you live when you don't sleep--thank you so much. It has messed up my whole life, I can't drive before 9:30 or 10, can't do appointments or work before 11, plus only am my former intelligent self 2 days a week tops--I do sleep on my own 2 days a week usually. I can't take things like I used to be able to, it has sapped my courage and slashed my IQ, not being able to take things in or understand them, especially when under any rush or stress (and there's been nonstop stress since September)--which is why it took me so long to be able to home test. I actually LOST the meter the day I got it, so confused by all the stuff to try to read and understand, and it stayed lost almost a week. And especially with a vet who hasn't opened a book or read an article since vet school--and whom I'm afraid to alienate as there has to be an emergency vet available to my cats in this rural location. Mama's situation has been like having a 20-hour a week job suddenly added.
I just tried to answer your questions and the others' in signature and gave up after half an hour. They don't tell you how many characters you actually get. So: (1) I started Lantus pen (after ProZinc since 11/11) yesterday morning, 12/17/16 and so far have given 3 shots: 1st at 1U (thinking I'd use the Start Low Go Slow method, and knowing for sure the 2.5U 2x/day the vet prescribed was too much. Raised that to 1.25U last night since her numbers never went down below 375 thru day and were back up to 433 by time for 2nd dose.
(2) Human meter, Arkray from ADW.
(3) Mamacita's probably 13, not much older. Only health issue she's had has been intestinal parasites (she was in a colony for years by a creek, they all had these) and her diabetic behavior began immediately after a course of metronidazole for these. She had metro twice this year. I feel it's related. She used to be the friskiest of my 4 cats. All of them are rescues from that colony and 3 are afraid of everyone but me, but Mama is totally tame, like a dog, follows me around (until I started giving her all those blood tests).
(4) We live in Northern California.
I still have so much to do today, may not be able to come back on here too much more tonight. I appreciate everyone's replies so much, and especially the hugs. Have no one to talk to about all this.
I wonder if you have ever seen an endocrinologist about your insomnia? Sometimes messed up hormone levels or vitamin deficiency can be a factor. One thing that helped a few people I know is to eliminate gluten, most importantly wheat, from their diet.

One thing I can suggest for your cat's legs is vitamin b 12. I bought caplets and just sprinkle it on her food. Also good for my cat with kidney disease, and while I am putting it on their food I pop one for myself. B vitamins are good for energy levels. (Could help you as well.)

I think k just a few weeks on insulin is too soon to determine there is insulin resistance.... Kitty just is not regulated yet.

If you aren't already feeding an all wet, low carb diet such as fancy feast classic or Friskies pate then start now. No dry food unless it's young again zero carb (amazing food) or evo cat and kitten. I personally credit young again with helping get my cat in remission. She was up to 3 units twice a day when we started her on it.... And a few weeks later completely off insulin.
 
Dear Lily!
I'm so sorry to hear hoe difficult it is for you right now.
I do know how you (and other girls here) feel as I'm in the same boat. The stress, very fast pace of life and ageing has brought on me the same: I'm a wreck! Can't really believe what is happening to me as I don't seem to be able to cope with everything due to lack of energy and drive, it used to be totally different for me, same as Mogs mentioned.
Dealing with diabetic cat is very stressful at the beginning, I feel for you.
It will get easier though, just don't panic and try to think that everything will be fine in the long run.
Don't worry too much about lack of regulation and don't think Mamacita has insulin resistance - too early for that!
Let us just help you out with this journey, post any questions, pour out your frustrations, we understand how you feel.
Sending lots of hugs,
Marlena:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Breathe, breathe, breathe. It will get better. Lantus has to build a depot first and it can take a few cycles.

You mentioned not seeing a nadir, but actually you have. It's the lowest number you get in a 12 hr cycle. There is no one low number for a cat. Depending on how high you kitty has been and for how long will determine the nadir in the beginning. My Smokey in the beginning had nadir in the 400's. As treatment continued then they were in the 300's and continued to get lower as time went on as his body learned to accept lower levels.

Don't despair, it will get better. Patience.
 
Hi Lily, we are neighbors. I also live in N Ca. 3 miles from I-5, between Sacramento and Redding. We live in a rural area where most vets know more about farm animals then house pets. At least I know that in an emergancy, they will meet me at their office. Country vets dont know a lot about diabetes or nutrition. The vet tech says I have learned more here about FD then the vets know. I am always making copies about nutrition or insulin and droping them at the office. Sometimes we have to educate our vets.

I also have insomnia. It comes in handy when kitty's numbers are low and you need to test a lot in the wee hours of the morning. I have been so foogy in the mornings that I have slept through the AM testing,feeding,insulin time. I feel so guilty when I wake up an hour after shot time. Somehow my Callie is forgiving and is doing ok with her sleepy mom. It takes time, but it will all work out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top