? Help please!!! Admin? Insulin now or no??

Lola+Cali

Member Since 2025
I've received information from my vet that conflicts with the research I've done in this group and online. This group tells me <11 (198), don't give insulin. My vet called today and said definitely give insulin unless <8 (144). She hasn't been very informative, and only just told me this fact 4 days after prescribing her Prozinc.

AMPS (9am) 9.6 (172.8) *as it was under 11, I did not give the insulin shot.
- breakfast: dry kibble 1/2 low carb
Retested (3pm) 12.2 (219.6)
- lunch: low carb (1%) wet food + very small amount dry dietetic (13% carb)
PMPS (9pm) 9.8 (176.4)
- dinner: dry kibble, 75% low carb dietetic (13% carb)

Insulin dropped since 3pm...
Is it possible my Contour Next Gen is off.or does it trend low?

!!! DO I give her insulin now or no? Prozinc 0.5u (SLGS).

I fear what will happen if I do and it's the wrong thing to do..
 
If you look at this Sticky Note on the Prozinc/PZI forum: INSULIN CARE AND SYRINGE INFO Proper Handling and Drawing you'll see there is a method to use U-100 syringe to draw smaller doses. If you do have a 1/2 unit marked U-40 syringes, you can still eyeball the distance between the zero line and the 0.5 unit line to get a 0.25 unit dose.

Without the spreadsheet, it's too hard for us to help. If it's a technical challenge for you to set up the spreadsheet, we have people who can help, just let us know.
 
Back
Top