HELP Pierre **AMPS 101** 8/27 hr later 158

PierreW

Member Since 2025
Pierres previous post

morning. i was told to create a new post this morning. i have linked the previous thread above for reference.

Pierre had a follow up this morning to go over his progress from his URI as well as the DKA and new diabetes dx. nothing of significance was said.

she took my meter to test pierre as well as her own meter so she should compare. i believe there was a 60pt difference? she only showed me a picture which i probably should have written down.

she said that i had two options in 2 weeks. i could drop pierre off to be monitored (a curve) or i could have a libre placed. i actually suggested doing it myself. only, im going to start now and then i can send the results to her.

she mentioned a slow change in diet. i told her that i had already done it since they were already on the FF. (i removed the dry as well as the other wet option)

she said that i dont need to monitor often. if i wanted to, it could be twice a day.

the er vet did not send over anything of significance either apparently. which is disappointing.

i have a question about his injection, he did not get it until an hour later today since his appt fell over the normal time. i asked if we should do it there and she said at home was fine. 1, is that something i add to the SS and 2, its 12 hrs after still? not revert back to the original time? (typical time is 9a/9p) today it was given at 10a.

she honestly didnt give a whole lot of info. i said i was getting help online. i did leave with some syringes.
 
With glargine, the depot influences how the insulin works. Fundamentally, glargine likes consistency. To shift the shot time, you have two options. You can adjust the time by 15 min at every shot or adjust the time by 30 min once a day. You can work the timing in either direction until you're back to your preferred time.

I would put a note in the "Comments" section of your spreadsheet.

Needless to say, I disagree with your vet about the frequency of testing. The minimum number of tests is 4 -- your two pre-shot tests plus a minimum of one test during each the AM and PM cycles. Why would the vet suggest you wait 2 weeks to have a Libre placed?

If you're looking for reading, the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus board are largely specific to Lantu. There's lots of other good information on the Health Links page. And, we're always happy to answer your questions.
 
Pierres previous post

morning. i was told to create a new post this morning. i have linked the previous thread above for reference.

Pierre had a follow up this morning to go over his progress from his URI as well as the DKA and new diabetes dx. nothing of significance was said.

she took my meter to test pierre as well as her own meter so she should compare. i believe there was a 60pt difference? she only showed me a picture which i probably should have written down.

she said that i had two options in 2 weeks. i could drop pierre off to be monitored (a curve) or i could have a libre placed. i actually suggested doing it myself. only, im going to start now and then i can send the results to her.

she mentioned a slow change in diet. i told her that i had already done it since they were already on the FF. (i removed the dry as well as the other wet option)

she said that i dont need to monitor often. if i wanted to, it could be twice a day.

the er vet did not send over anything of significance either apparently. which is disappointing.

i have a question about his injection, he did not get it until an hour later today since his appt fell over the normal time. i asked if we should do it there and she said at home was fine. 1, is that something i add to the SS and 2, its 12 hrs after still? not revert back to the original time? (typical time is 9a/9p) today it was given at 10a.

she honestly didnt give a whole lot of info. i said i was getting help online. i did leave with some syringes.
 
With glargine, the depot influences how the insulin works. Fundamentally, glargine likes consistency. To shift the shot time, you have two options. You can adjust the time by 15 min at every shot or adjust the time by 30 min once a day. You can work the timing in either direction until you're back to your preferred time.

I would put a note in the "Comments" section of your spreadsheet.

Needless to say, I disagree with your vet about the frequency of testing. The minimum number of tests is 4 -- your two pre-shot tests plus a minimum of one test during each the AM and PM cycles. Why would the vet suggest you wait 2 weeks to have a Libre placed?

If you're looking for reading, the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus board are largely specific to Lantu. There's lots of other good information on the Health Links page. And, we're always happy to answer your questions.th

thanks for that. I will adjust to maintain the original time.

comment will be added

honestly, I agree with what a lot of people tend to say within the FB group. the vet isn't presenting me with info as if this is *urgent* or *important*. when I said that I'm doing my homework and I'm making sure I'm following a protocol that was given to me online. I then proceed to list all of the things that I feel are going to benefit Pierre most. I'm speaking as if this is a child who was just diagnosed and I want the medical team to know that I am on top of it and I'm trying me best to understand how best to keep my kid alive. the main response I have received from both the ER and the primary vet was "well, if you see signs of xyz then you can bring him in and well take over"...which of course if it was a true emergency then I would, but wouldn't you rather I make every attempt to prevent that from happening in the first place? I think they know that there is likely a larger number of people who wouldn't be going to this length *for a pet*...I would much rather the vet say "this is what you need to do", even if its a lengthy list with times and numbers and what if scenarios written (just like the great info I have been given here!), than to say "eh, just bring him in if you notice a change"...even with that its hard because this entire thing started from an URI and he's not 100% how he was previously even now. I can not rely on the ER vet for basic care/questions when the cost is so astronomical.

as far as the libre, that was an option she gave me and I honestly don't know what the 2 weeks part is about other than it aligns with the follow up timeline. I think the libre suggestion also aligns with the "for a pet* line above. it'll make the process "easier", right? just place this thing and the phone does all of the work. give the injections and go on about your day.
(but this is an expense, not the standard, and apparently isn't always the best choice if the cat might remove it etc)

the second choice I was given was to bring Pierre in (in 2 weeks still), have them keep him over a period of time to establish the curve. I suggested that this might not be best for him since he's already such a nervous/anxious cat. I cant imagine the readings would be very good. this is also why I wish the ER shared his numbers because then we could have them to compare to the current at home numbers. although he doesn't have a high dose, if were going to monitor him to see if there could be a dosage change, wouldn't it be best to do it at home? this is why I said I wouldn't mind doing it myself, I just need to know what her timing protocol request would be.

soo for the time being I'll do my own, and in 2 weeks I might have my own curve data that she could base any adjustments off of that.

I asked about feeding. she said spread out is fine if necessary but she would prefer two larger meals a day (the ones around the injections). I mentioned that they are mostly grazers. they might eat *most* of a larger serving but there will always be food left and then all 3 cats end up bowl hopping when someone might not finish. to this she said "might have to keep Pierre separate for a time in order to get that bigger feeding in him"...

I'm going to keep my chart along with whatever I feed him and I guess go from there.

they did not do a ketone test. they did not run labs. they did nothing at all other than what I wrote above. she didn't even suggest monitoring the ketones. we did not discuss the URI. we did not discuss the herpes. as I was walking out that was when I brought up feeding and if it should be a specific amount per day. she said no and I left. this was very much a standard follow up appt similar to ones I have for my dog that just started librela injections.
I didn't walk in with a "I know what I'm doing, see you in 6 months"..exact opposite actually. I'm begging for help for this animal and its very "meh, you can call if something happens"...ok, what's considered "something"


yes, I know I over explain. its a disease. 🫥
 
ill figure this out eventually. sorry.

i made a post this morning about pierres AMPS numbers being 101. heres the link to that. we can continue here..ill change the heading instead.
 
Back
Top