Help! Not sure if I just did the right thing...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marvin

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone,

I'm sure many of you have seen my recent posts about my kitty Marvin. Thanks to those who have offered advice and support thus far.

I did something this evening that I'm not sure was the correct protocol. Marvin's PMPS at 7:45 pm was 6 so I did not give a shot. About 2.5 hours later, I tested and he was up to 17.2 so I gave his usual 0.5 unit. Was that the correct thing to do? I imagine that if I had not given him a shot this evening, his AMPS would be through the roof.

If I did do the correct thing, his AMPS is now moved to 10:15 am, right?

I don't have a lot of data as I just started an SS but please feel free to take a look and any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Carolyn
 
Yes. You have changed the amps time.

I'm only a few weeks old here. My opinion is that you did fine. Looks like you are paying attention to others posts. This is usually done by the veterans , not the newbies.

You can work your way back to your original time slowly. You can shoot earlier by 15 minutes each time you give a shot.
Of course, you could continue to have the situation you just had and wind up with another postponement because your numbers may
continue to trend the way they did today.
You do want to learn the pattern of when Marvin peaks and when he drops off.
 
I would also say that delaying tonight was a good idea. Maybe you can test Marvin in the morning at usual shot time and post. Hopefully someone who uses Lantus will be here. I'm wondering if he is showing a late nadir. More data will be interesting. At the moment, there isn't enough data to be comfortable suggesting shooting at those lower numbers - at least not for me!
 
well. I think everybody took tuesday off.

If you are nervous about today, put a 911 icon by your post this morning for input and then you can go back and edit your original post
and take it off when you feel you've gotten the answer. (otherwise, it will keep calling out --if you want people to keep paying attention
then you can leave it up )

Your numbers look good this morning. You are all yellow.
If you stay the course with the same dose, you are likely to get some blue today or tomorrow.

I'm dealing with a similar situation as you, keeping my dosage consistent as my numbers drop into the mid greens.
 
Since you shot 2.5 hours late, that means that your AMPS was 10:15pm. That means you need to shoot at 10am this morning, and slowly move the shot back if you want your shot times back to 7:45 in 15 minute increments at each shot (30 minutes each day). Do not shoot 2.5 hours early at your normal shot time; This acts as a dose increase because it creates overlap between the action of the two shots and can potentially dangerous.

EDIT: Changed to 10am; got my times of day mixed up!
 
Thanks everyone! I think I get the concept of stalling now in shorter increments of time. I just didn't expect him to shoot up from 111 to 310 in just two hours. It's starting to look like his lower numbers come late in the cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top