Help needed with dosing and syringes

Status
Not open for further replies.

judy and squamee(GA)

Very Active Member
I am starting Squamee on insulin. Vet is giving me ProZinc. Her numbers have been in the 270's. He said to start with 1 unit. He is only interested in the +6 BG. I need a refresher course! I know I must test before every shot, (and +6 whenever I can) but how do I decide what to shoot? I know not to shoot if the pre shot number is lower than 150.

To recap--she probably has a brain tumor, had a seizure, so I am particularly concerned about low blood sugar.

I have U40 syringes 29G1/2ml and also short 1/2 unit markings 31G 3/10ml. I am confused about the different syringes and which I need a conversion chart for---is it the short ones?
Thanks for your help!
 
I know you are not a newbie but you are new to Prozinc and it has it's quirks. Newbie no shoot # is 200 (until you've gathered enouth data) especially if you are worried about going too low. Once you have the data to know how she reacts to certain doses you lower your no shoot to 180, than 150, etc.

Onset is around +2 to +3, nadir moves around a bit in the beginning but somewhere between +4 & +8.

Pre shot tests are a must. If you want to start conservative and see how she processed the insulin you could start with .5 unit and get a curve on your day off to find her onset & nadir. That will give you some data to go on to make adjustments.

Prozinc is a U40 insulin. If you need to micro dose you can switch to U100 syringes and use the conversion chart.

I hope she's feeling better.

Robin
 
Hi Judy,

Be sure to understand which syringe to use with your Prozinc. Prozinc is a U40 "animal insulin, and is sold with U40 syringes which have RED caps.

Humulin, lantus, and levemir are u100 "human" insulins and have an ORANGE capped, u100 syringes.

To double check that, it will be clearly marked U100 or U40 on each syringe.

So if she wants you to start with 1u, she means one unit in a u40, red capped, syringe.

-Sometimes seizures can be a symptom of hypo, was she on insulin at the time?
-try to get your spread sheet up ASAP - directions are in the tech forum.
-read the PZI sticky section about the ONSET, DURATION, NADIR of prozinc - you need to scroll down to find it.
-also in the pzi sticky is the conversion chart to use u100 syringes with u40 insulin. this is used for micro-dosing to be very precise, and is not needed if the dose stays exactly 1 unit. It will be needed if you need 1.2u for example.

welcome :-D
 
Nancy, Thank you, thank you thank you for that info about the orange and red caps! Makes life sooo much easier! Turns out I have both, but my u40 are 29g and since I am nervous about starting shots again, am inclined to go with my u100 since they are 31g. I used the conversion chart in the past, so I think my tired brain can handle that!! (and I will check and double check)
Just went to pick up the ProZinc at the vet's---which I left without buying (tho I may have to go back). They were charging $140! Is that the going rate? Is it likely I could find it cheaper on the internet?
 
Yikes- In atlanta at my vet I paid $85 or $90... in May 2010. That was cheaper than most, but $140 is the most I've heard.

-there is online source info in the PZI sticky link- thanks to Gator

the good news is that at 2u/day it should last you 200 days. If you dont freeze, expose to light, or abuse the heck out of it, it will stay good until gone...

U40 insulin has 400u in a 10ml vial.
 
i actually taped a small box in my fridge vege drawer, with a small thermometer in it, and i wrap elastic paper bandage around my vials to decrease light and protect, and I tape the bottom of the box, and am careful to keep the needle tip sterile before inserting, and try not to squeeze insulin back into the bottle. so ... :oops: :lol:
 
There is info about this in the PZI Sticky [at the top of this forum] - I'm going to refer you to that again for now. IF you have more questions please ask.
 
Will start her on the ProZinc tomorrow. Bought it from the vet (ugh) because I didn't want to wait for shipping. I can be around the next few days to monitor her after injections (and get in some extra testing---or at least test at +6). The vet said to start with 1U twice daily. I am using the U100 syringes, so with the conversion, that is 2.5 on the syringe. He said if the nadir was 150 or lower to reduce the dose to .5 Truthfully, I am dreading all this testing and I am needle phobic, but I keep telling myself I did it last year and I can do it again. Only last year it didn't feel quite so hopeless. Who knows, maybe she won't have any more seizures, her mouth symptoms will stay resolved for awhile (tho I did see some of it while she was eating this morning), and she will be more herself for awhile. Good night, everyone---have a happy dream!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top