HELP, Needed a quick 12/14/10 Tubby +10 84 +12 73 +67

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawny2u

Member Since 2010
He is still dropping, had some chicken after his last test at +10, his AMPS is now
but it reads 73. WHAT IS THE CONVENTION ON LANTUS ? Wait some. feed and shoot, or shoot lower dose?
He is very hungry but I'll wait to hear something.

Thank you folks, I have to make a quick decision.


Nice bounce, 1.5 hour to his AM shot.
 
Re: 12/14/10 Tubby PMPS 293 +4.5 259 +10 84

wow, nice +10...I hope that Tubby will surf for the next two hours and give you a nice amps!
 
Re: HELP, Needed a quick 12/14/10 Tubby PMPS 293 +4.5 259 +1

This is what i'm going to do.
Test him now about 15/25 minutes after his +12 test then depending on his BG number
go either wait for later or shoot him.

I'll post the respond an feed him, he needs food!

Anyone who has been here before please speak up!
 
Re: HELP, Needed a quick 12/14/10 Tubby PMPS 293 +4.5 259 +1

Shawn...Sienne will have to tell you if you have the data to shoot a low AMPS. From the preshot link she sent you, you have some choices:
1) DO NOT FEED but test every 15 mins and when you get a rising number, you can shoot but you'll have to get a dosing person to respond on whether you should shoot a reducted dose or a regular dose. IF you shoot the full dose, you must be there to monitor him; either dose you shoot, you MUST get a +1 and +2
2) shoot a reduced dose but again, I can't tell you what sort of reduced dose to shoot
3) skip the shot...I, personally, would not do that unless he keeps falling and is still falling after two hours
4) if he keeps falling and falls into the 40s, you should feed him a SMALL amount of LC food and keep retesting every 15-20 mins until he starts rising; but you want to be sure that when you do shoot, it is not a food influenced number.

I know this is stressful...I've been through it three times. Breathe.

eta: just saw your +12...do not feed, stall, retest...you need a rising number. Sienne can help you with the dose.
 
Re: HELP, Needed a quick 12/14/10 Tubby PMPS 293 +4.5 259 +1

Do not feed.

Re-test in 15 - 20 min. You want to see if the numbers are spontaneously rising.

Are you home to test today and do you have supplies (i.e., strips, HC food) if needed?
 
Re: HELP, Needed a quick 12/14/10 Tubby PMPS 293 +4.5 259 +1

I agree with Sienne, there isn't enough data on shooting low numbers, and I certainly wouldn't shoot a full 4u on a number this low.
You said you have to leave...will you be out all day or just a few hours?
You've got a few choices: 1) Skip dose 2) shoot a bcs dose 3) Test again in .5 hr. and see if Tubby is raising and then see what to do.
 
Re: HELP, Needed a quick 12/14/10 Tubby PMPS 293 +4.5 259 +1

+12.5 = 67

I just gave him table spoon cooked chicken breast.
 
Re: HELP, Needed a quick 12/14/10 Tubby PMPS 293 +4.5 259 +1

DO NOT FEED.
All this does is inflate your test numbers. You would ONLY feed if Tubby were in the 40s.

Please re-test in 20 min. Please answer Deb's question and mine about whether you will be home and if you have supplies.
 
Sienne's right. ECID (every cat is different), and I've been there a few times, too. When do you need to leave today and for how long? Will you be home to monitor and test him most of the day?
 
Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
Sienne's right. ECID (every cat is different), and I've been there a few times, too. When do you need to leave today and for how long? Will you be home to monitor and test him most of the day?

Yes, I will be home today monitoring but fed a table spoon of cooked chicken breast. I got your message after feeding. Sorry, was too late
to comply!
 
Re: HELP, Needed a quick 12/14/10 Tubby PMPS 293 +4.5 259 +1

Sienne and Gabby said:
DO NOT FEED.
All this does is inflate your test numbers. You would ONLY feed if Tubby were in the 40s.

Please re-test in 20 min. Please answer Deb's question and mine about whether you will be home and if you have supplies.

Sorry Sienna by the time I got your message he was fed already. Will be testing every 15 minutes and monitoring at home!
 
Hi there,
I just wanted to confirm that you are using Lantus but you are not following Tilly protocol, yes?

I am asking because I had expected to see the usual increase/decrease increments of .25u or .5u, but I am seeing full unit increases. Those increases may end up causing you problems. Also, Lantus likes consistency, so from 12/5 and onwards, it's no wonder that Tubby's numbers are all over. Going from 4u to 3u to 3.5u to some other dose, is causing his shed to go nuts. I don't know if anyone's mentioned how the dosing works best on Lantus, but here is the gist of it for you:
"General" Guidelines:
--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).
--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

--- If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
--- Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

Random Notes...
Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir:
An early shot = a dose increase.
A late shot = a dose reduction.

A "cycle" refers to the period of time between shots. There are 2 cycles in one day when shooting twice a day.

Sometimes a dose will need to be "fine tuned" by adding some "fat" or "skinny-ing up" the dose.


Anyways, I wanted to be sure that you understood the food thing, about not feeding until you have made a decision to give a shot or not.

The reason that everyone says no food for 2hours prior to your normal shot time, at +12, is so that there is no food in the cat`s system that can give you a false high number when you test at ps. It's perfectly fine to have the food all ready to give to the cat but don't. Get your ps BG number and see where you are.

If the number is something that makes you pause, do not feed. There is nothing wrong in waiting 15min and testing again because you want to see a rising number, and that number must be a pure, not food affected, number. If the next test at +12.25 is lower, keep waiting and do not feed. Test again in another 15min.

When you give even a tiny piece of food, the body will take that food and possibly give you a rising number in the next test, so you will think oh good, the number's rising, but it's still not that safe to shoot because that food will wear off quickly, and the numbers may start to drop again. And you will then be looking at wanting the numbers to rise before that Lantus kicks in after a couple hours following the shot.

So, keep testing on the empty stomach until you have decided, shoot or no shot. Then slap down the food and give the shot or record no shot.
 
Hi Shawn,

You are having quite the morning here! This is great, and you are doing great! We have all been here before, and these ladies are wonderful at guiding you along the way! The only advise I have and one that I think is key is just breathe, and stay calm. :smile:
 
Celia & Marco said:
Hi Shawn,

You are having quite the morning here! This is great, and you are doing great! We have all been here before, and these ladies are wonderful at guiding you along the way! The only advise I have and one that I think is key is just breathe, and stay calm. :smile:


Hi Celia, I've been doing that the whole day. Let me tell you, it works!!

It's very kind of you, Tubby needs to do the same, thank you.
 
Shawny2u said:
Celia & Marco said:
Hi Shawn,

You are having quite the morning here! This is great, and you are doing great! We have all been here before, and these ladies are wonderful at guiding you along the way! The only advise I have and one that I think is key is just breathe, and stay calm. :smile:


Hi Celia, I've been doing that the whole day. Let me tell you, it works!!

It's very kind of you, Tubby needs to do the same, thank you.

So no shot this morning right? Did you give one for PM? Poor Tubby :( give extra nose kissies for me... :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top