Help! need dosing advice for PM shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

ashley k

Member Since 2021
Hi, I just started testing at home and after 10 unsuccessful tries, we finally got enough blood for a test! I updated it on my spreadsheet but since this is the first time we have been able to test, there is not a lot of data yet. I am not sure how much insulin to give tonight. It's 5pm and 8 hours after his morning shot, and his BG is 187. He has been grazing on a can of FF all day but it's been a couple of hours since I've seen him touch any of it.

How much should I give him tonight? We usually shoot around 9 pm. We were at 6 units yesterday. I know someone recommended dropping to 3 units but I was nervous so I dropped to 5 this morning. Thank you so much for any help / advice! The last time we went to the vet he was over 500 so I think switching the food has had a major impact. So excited I finally was able to get a reading!!!
 
Also, is blue good? What is the range he is supposed to be at? Thank you!
 
If you post in the Lantus forum for help you will probably be more likely to get a response. Not many lantus users hang out in the main health forum.

In general yes, blues are good! The colors are somewhat arbitrary, as they are for the most part just in increments of 100 to help you see trends, but what you’re aiming for is low blues or dark greens
 
@ashley k
@Sarah&Soph
Just a friendly reminder that we like new members to remain on the main forum until they are properly set up and are mastering hometesting. Thanks guys:)

I see you posted on the Lantus forum. But have not received an answer yet
How long til the PMPS. We really need to see the preshot BG to help you so do try and get one.
 
@ashley k
@Sarah&Soph
Just a friendly reminder that we like new members to remain on the main forum until they are properly set up and are mastering hometesting. Thanks guys:)

I see you posted on the Lantus forum. But have not received an answer yet
How long til the PMPS. We really need to see the preshot BG to help you so do try and get one.
Ok, thank you, I won’t post there any more. I can’t get him to let me get any more blood today. I don’t know what to do. His shot is in a half hour. What would be the safest thing to do until I can try to test him again in the morning?
 
What did I you decide to do Ashley. I noticed in the other thread on main, Chris said to shoot 2 units.


Ok, thank you, I won’t post there any more. I ca
Once you are testing and managing to do it OK it will be fine (and better) for you to post over there.
We just like you to stay over here on main until you are all sorted, as Lantus is a busy forum and it is easier for us to help you in the beginning here. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top