Help me understand BG numbers! 5/3 Leo +9 293 PMPS 335

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Good Afternoon All,

I'm having some trouble understanding Leo's numbers from last night as well as this morning. I'm thinking it was a bounce? But i don't think i'm quite sure i even know what a bounce is. But the great news is.....we finally saw some green come out of my precious kitty!!!!

So just talked to my parents, numbers from last night:
PMPS - i'm not sure, i can't open Leo's SS from my work computer, but it was normal for him....high pink anyway
+5 - 79
+6 - 93
AMPS 376
+2 - 396
+5 - 369

So good news is we now know how HC fancy feast affects his numbers. My dad got worried last night when he saw the 79 at +5 and fed him some 18% FF just to make sure he wouldn't go hypo. Also, my parents opened a new vial of Lantus this morning as well.

So what do the experts think is happening? Is this a good thing or a bad thing?
 
Re: Help me understand BG numbers! 5/2 Leo AMPS 376, +2 396

Yup. It's a bounce

In this case, a bounce is the result of Leo dropping into a number range he isn't used to spending time in. You saw green numbers and Leo's liver panicked because it interpreted those numbers as "dangerous" even though they were perfectly safe numbers. When the liver panics, it dumps a stored form of glucose, along with counterregulatory hormones, into the bloodstream. This causes BG levels to spike. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear..
 
Re: Help me understand BG numbers! 5/2 Leo AMPS 376, +2 396

Thanks for the answer Sienne!!

So when this bounce clears am I supposed to expect more green numbers? I'm just now worried about Leo going too low and hypo when this all clears.
 
Re: Help me understand BG numbers! 5/2 Leo AMPS 376, +2 396

This happened to Champ once when he had a morning filled with blues. The whole bounce thing is still confusing to me. I just asked Sienne to tell me when to increase his dose :lol:
 
Re: Help me understand BG numbers! 5/2 Leo AMPS 376, +2 396

he might go back to green when the bounce clears. That's what we want to happen! The idea is to keep showing them the green over and over again until his little body learns to quit panicking about them. Looks good!
 
Re: Help me understand BG numbers! 5/2 Leo +9 293, PMPS 335

Well that's good to know that the green is a good thing! It was a little distressing for my dad since Leo dropped over 300 points in a little over 5 hours. Now he's checked him 5 times already today......so worried about his grand-cat....its really quite cute actually. He just told me that he is refusing to shoot him tomorrow if he's at 10 mmol/L or less (so 180). I told him what Sienne and Libby said and he understands now. I sooooo wish i could get him online so he could do his own reading on this website, he's not very tech saavy unfortunately. He is very interested in what kind of answers i get on the forum and always asks what people are saying about Leo....and always asks how do these people know all this stuff!! :-D
 
Hi Tracy! Your Leo is adorable. I am so glad I looked at your thread because I think this might be what is going on with my kitty as well. I am still very new to home testing and I am still having a hard time digesting all the information available! Its very reassuring to see others' information that is similar to mine, even if I still don't completely know what is going on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top