? Help, incoming hypo?

Karen&Rocket

Active Member
Sorry for all the questions lately - it's been a rough ride. So today Rocket started the day off low, I went ahead and gave his full dose because his SS is always horrible (in hindsight, a mistake). He tends to have late nadir anyway (especially at night, like +8/+10 even), and now at AM +5 he's still dropping, at 111. I realize this isn't hypo territory yet, but I'm on hypo watch anyway. I just gave him a few kibbles of leftover Hills Metabolic (which our vet prescribed at his diagnosis, and we no longer use).

Any thoughts? Anything I should do at this point? He was just diagnosed with Acro, so maybe this is just a day where his tumor is taking the day off. Tagging @MrWorfMen's Mom and @Djamila. Thank you.

I literally JUST ordered Levemir this morning because I was assuming PZ isn't doing it for him, and with the Acro, he needs a longer acting insulin. It'll be here early next week I'm guessing.
 
He is still perfectly safe right now. Based on your spreadsheet daytime data, he may continue to drop for awhile longer, but it would be unusual for him to drop past maybe +7 (not that it cannot happen, just saying it would be unusual based on the past). There is still some room for him to drop and still be in safe territory.

I understand that you are worried but don't 'over-carb' him. A little normal food is usually the best first step when things are going lower than you want. The few kibbles you already gave him may be enough to steer him up. (I used to be able to give Mia just a few Hill's m/d kibbles when she went too low, and it would bring her up.) I would test again in 30 mins.
 
He is still perfectly safe right now. Based on your spreadsheet daytime data, he may continue to drop for awhile longer, but it would be unusual for him to drop past maybe +7 (not that it cannot happen, just saying it would be unusual based on the past). There is still some room for him to drop and still be in safe territory.

I understand that you are worried but don't 'over-carb' him. A little normal food is usually the best first step when things are going lower than you want. The few kibbles you already gave him may be enough to steer him up. (I used to be able to give Mia just a few Hill's m/d kibbles when she went too low, and it would bring her up.) I would test again in 30 mins.
Will do. Thank you.
 
That cycle today is beautiful. No worries with those numbers but for given where he's been, I can just imagine your surprise. Rocket is definitely keeping things interesting. Tonight, I'd make sure to grab a test at +2 or latest +3 before bed to see what he is up to so you can intervene and steer him with food if he seems to be dropping off a fair bit again. :)
 
That cycle today is beautiful. No worries with those numbers but for given where he's been, I can just imagine your surprise. Rocket is definitely keeping things interesting. Tonight, I'd make sure to grab a test at +2 or latest +3 before bed to see what he is up to so you can intervene and steer him with food if he seems to be dropping off a fair bit again. :)
Ok, thanks - that makes sense. Assuming that he goes up before shot time, would you shoot his reg dose (5.25) tonight? This is all new territory to me.
 
I'm betting he'll be higher again tonight from bouncing because he's not accustomed to a nice run in the blues yet. So yes I'd stay on that dose as long as his pre-shot test is 250 or more. How long now till your PMPS?
 
I'm betting he'll be higher again tonight from bouncing because he's not accustomed to a nice run in the blues yet. So yes I'd stay on that dose as long as his pre-shot test is 250 or more. How long now till your PMPS?

Thank you, that's super helpful! :cat: Just got a +7 of 159, but he really didn't want me to test so maybe just a wee bit high. But on his way back up nonetheless. Five hours or so til PMPS - I usually have late working hours, so shots are at 11:00. I'll stay up late though and hopefully get a couple of readings before bed.
 
Back
Top