? Help I got 67 at +2

Dawnthebikegirl

Member Since 2021
I was told I could shoot him lower, so I shot him 5 units at 205. Now i'm getting 67 and i'm freaking out.

I have to go to work in an hour. I just fed him high-carb kibble and some fancy feast with gravy.

Does he need corn syrup?? What do i do????
 
I tested him 20 min later and it was 56.

So I called my vet, he said it was still sort of normal and that I could give him some syrup.. which i did. I'll test him again in 10 min.

I'm really not equipped for this. I can't be leaving him in limbo with his numbers dropping. I can't dose him earlier without worry that I won't get home on time for his next dose. I don't know what to do.

I need to reduce his dose so I don't keep going through this.
 
Sorry no one got back to you sooner.
Whenever you shoot a lower than normal Preshot, always get a +1 and a+2 to start with so you get an idea what is going to happen. With the BG of 67 then 56 so early in tbe cycle, I would give some higher carb food to bring the BG up a bit and keep testing.
 
@tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko

I am tagging some people to help you. Sorry no one has responded thus far. Have you left for work, yet?

its ok. I did have to leave for work. Sorry for not responding sooner.

I have friends checking in on him. He seems ok they said.

I freaked out and gave him high carb food and some corn syrup because the number wasn’t going back up.. it started to go up just before I left.

That was so scary.
I really need a new alternative to dosing when he’s that low, especially on days that I go to work. I’m so frazzled.

thanks for your help.
 
I am new to Glargine insulins and not one to advise on dosing but I am learning and I do know the worry and panic that sets in at unexpected low numbers. Your spreadsheet says you are using SLGS but you have TR in your signature. Which one are you following? If SLGS you may be able to reduce 0.25u based on the 56 tonight but if TR, I don't know. I follow SLGS. Are you able to perform a 12 hour curve so you can catch his low point to see if he needs a reduction? I understand on TR curves are not really done because of more frequent testing.
 
Following back your posts with the link to your previous one, you said you wanted to switch to SLGS a couple days ago. With SLGS, you reduce his dose by 0.25 units because he went under 90 tonight. Hopefully that'll keep in less worrying numbers for you.

It'll help us help you if you keep the dosing method in your signature up to date.
 
Thank you and sorry. I meant to link to my previous post but i was panicked and had to leave for work.
I just changed my tag line from TR to SLGS. I will reduce his dose tonight and can do a curve on monday.

I know it's in the faq's somewhere.. but with SLGS i just do pre-shot testing then a curve once a week? I think i've been doing a mash-up of the 2 with regards to testing.

I feel like i'm making a million mistakes here. Thank you everyone for your patience and help. I really do appreciate it.
 
Thank you and sorry. I meant to link to my previous post but i was panicked and had to leave for work.
I just changed my tag line from TR to SLGS. I will reduce his dose tonight and can do a curve on monday.

I know it's in the faq's somewhere.. but with SLGS i just do pre-shot testing then a curve once a week? I think i've been doing a mash-up of the 2 with regards to testing.

I feel like i'm making a million mistakes here. Thank you everyone for your patience and help. I really do appreciate it.
There is a lot to learn and it seems like the info is spread out in a lot of stickies. Hard to pull it together when you need it. As far as testing goes, on SLGS, and to keep your kitty safe, you need to do at least one or two more tests in addition to the pre-shot tests. Ideally, a test at +2 and another test later in the cycle is good. A +2 will give you an indication as to how active the current cycle will be. If it is the same or lower than pre-shot, you will likely have an active cycle and will need to test more and feed to avoid going too low. As @Bron and Sheba (GA) said in an earlier post, when your pre-shot is lower than expected, getting a +1 and +2 will give you an idea whether he's rising or dropping. The once weekly curve will help identify his nadir and you can adjust the dose as needed.
 
There is a lot to learn and it seems like the info is spread out in a lot of stickies. Hard to pull it together when you need it. As far as testing goes, on SLGS, and to keep your kitty safe, you need to do at least one or two more tests in addition to the pre-shot tests. Ideally, a test at +2 and another test later in the cycle is good. A +2 will give you an indication as to how active the current cycle will be. If it is the same or lower than pre-shot, you will likely have an active cycle and will need to test more and feed to avoid going too low. As @Bron and Sheba (GA) said in an earlier post, when your pre-shot is lower than expected, getting a +1 and +2 will give you an idea whether he's rising or dropping. The once weekly curve will help identify his nadir and you can adjust the dose as needed.

This is super helpful. Thank you.

I can usually get a +2 on the PM schedule before work, then a +6 or +7 on an am schedule. I hope that will work.
 
Don't know if Fergus is like many other kitties, my Bama included, that tend to go lower at night. That is why sometimes PM readings can tell you more about how low the insulin dose is taking him than the daytime readings and give you a window into why he may seem to be bouncing higher when all else--food, insulin doses, etc.--remain the same.
 
Don't know if Fergus is like many other kitties, my Bama included, that tend to go lower at night. That is why sometimes PM readings can tell you more about how low the insulin dose is taking him than the daytime readings and give you a window into why he may seem to be bouncing higher when all else--food, insulin doses, etc.--remain the same.

Little tidbits like this are so helpful. That's a great idea.
The next curve will try to do through the night.. which means i will get no sleep, lol but maybe that will give me some new info.
My work schedule basically sucks for this stuff, but there's really not much i an do about that.
Too bad there isn't an insulin that you could give once a day.
 
Another option that isn't so hard on you is a 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours until +6 at the PM. That means you also get data on two cycles.
 
Back
Top