? Help - high, flat, just vomited breakfast

BethB

Member Since 2018
After several days of decent numbers, Riker was high and flat for the past two days. This AMPS was in the 500s (not terribly unusual for him, but...) Then, a few minutes later I tried to bring him up on the counter for his shot.

He meowed loudly and pulled away, then vomited all over the counter. I didn't shoot him, put the syringe in the fridge. He's also just pooped a tiny, spherical poop outside his litter box. It seemed kind of mucous-y. I'm already at my wits end with all of this and fear it may be getting worse. Please help. What should I do?

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1WTLPRrfYUQpYNXl4S-lPNqfZ7wpgm13qC2YW2gBIHa0/edit#gid=0
 
My hunch is that he's constipated. Do you know for sure if he's pooped in the past day or so?
 
@Djamila No I cannot say for sure. He often asks to go out in the backyard to poop and pee (it's enclosed, he can't get out). Anything I can do immediately to help him? Should I just skip this morning shot or try to get him to eat again?

Edit: LOL of course now I check the litter box and there's a big poop in it....and he's seems interested in his food bowl again...
 
Last edited:
Absolutely yes on the shot. Vomiting is not a reason to skip the shot. Especially when you're in such high numbers. The high numbers could have been caused by him getting a little backed up, as could the vomiting and the mucus-y poop pellet. Or he could just be a little under the weather today. It happens to everyone sometimes.
 
OK thank you. He just finished up a second, smaller breakfast. Then sat normally for me while I shot. He took a big poop in the interim (see post above) and seems more calm now. I think perhaps I just was trying to wrangle him when he really had to go. I will check in with the vet anyway. Thanks @Djamila for your quick responses. You're a lifesaver.
 
Talked to the vet, described the whole sordid tale, and she didn't seem to think it was an emergency. They're getting back to me on a possible appointment time, just to double check things, possibly look for UTI and/or do a fructosamine test.

Meanwhile, do you think I should try a little pumpkin or Miralax in Riker's food in case of constipation? Anything special I should know about doing so?
 
Last edited:
I would not give pumpkin or miralax at this point. He's already pooped. Those are used if he's gone too long without pooping, or if constipation is an ongoing issue. I also would not pay for a fructosamine test. Your home testing data is far more helpful than the number you'll get from the fructosamine. You already know he's unregulated and in high numbers. You don't need to pay your vet a bunch of money to be told that, and that's all you'll learn from that test.

I would suggest that you get some PM cycle data. At this point we have no idea what's going on during that part of the day. And given that the PM cycle is often different than the AM cycle, it's important to get data during both cycles. At least a before bed test, and then anytime if you wake up, if Riker wakes you up (especially then!), or if you get up to use the restroom. It's hard to get data during the night cycle, but it's really important.

The dose looks like it may need to increase, but I can't recommend that without knowing if he's going lower at night. That could be a cause of the higher AM numbers, or it could just be that he needs more insulin. Anything you can get would be helpful.
 
Thanks @Djamila. I will do better about night testing and feeding. He at least came down into the yellows yesterday. I tested him twice after PM shot last night, and made sure he got some food around 2am. His AMPS this morning was high, but not as high as I've seen, and he took his shot without incident.

I will refrain from any constipation treatment for now and pay closer attention to the litter box. I'll rethink fructosamine test as well. Think there's any need to see the vet to check for possible UTI? If not, I'll cancel the appt. altogether.
 
I don't know if he's having any symptoms of UTI....? I'm sorry if I just missed you talking about that. If he is, then of course getting tested is important.
 
I don't know if he's having any symptoms of UTI....? I'm sorry if I just missed you talking about that. If he is, then of course getting tested is important.
Not really. When I first posted about this incident on Facebook (simultaneously with this thread) someone said high and flat with vomiting and weird litter box behavior could be UTI. Honestly, everything has seemed fine since, aside from high numbers. I canceled the vet appointment, we'll see how things go for the next week or so and then reassess. Thank you.
 
Back
Top