HELP! (he's on a HUGE dose of insulin) 04/20 Jackson - AMPS 365, PMPS 167, +1 175, +2 113, +3 85, +3.5 82 fed HC

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday
I did weigh him this morning and he is 15lbs 5.5oz. His last weight on my infant scale was 14lbs 12oz on 03/13, so he has gained. I'm not sure how to put him on a diet, as he loves his food so much. So much!
Right now he gets 1 can at each PS and 1/2 can twice for snacks in the morning and 1/2 usually for snack before I go to bed at night. Maybe, I could remove one of th 1/2 can snacks during the day, or maybe, I could give him 1/4 can snacks.
 
Last edited:
Jackson does not like this new diet thing.
Instead of 1/2 can "snacks", I gave him 1/4 can at +3 and +5. He has been bugging me for food all day.
He is a cat that looks you in the eye. He sits next to me, and put his paw softly on my shoulder to tell me he's hungry. A long time ago, before he had diabetes, he put his paw over his ear and brought in down and I said "Oh, that's so cute!" and gave him a treat. He remembers still. He sits next to me and trys the soft paw on my shoulder while looking at me, and then does the paw over this ear trick. He dd that over and over again today.

I have been super stressed all day. After his test, shoot, and feed, I am taking my car to my mechanic to make sure it is going to pass inspection by the end of this month. At the same time, I am dealing with a water leak in the toilet in the basement that I don't use. 35,000 gallons of water used in one month. I can not turn the water off to it. The valve does not move. It is stuck. So, I left a couple of messages to a couple plumbers and have not heard back. Life! And, my boss asked if I can work an extra hour most of this week, so Jackson's shot will be a little later.

I love this cat. He's such a good boy ❤️
 
Last edited:
Just lay it on me.

I just left a message to cancel my car mechanic for tonight.

I forget to write what Jackson did at lunch time. I heated up some spaghetti sauce with noodles and Jackson already had his morning snacks, so I wouldn't let him have any from my lunch.
I was back to work and on a phone call, when I heard noise in the kitchen. After my phone call, I found him sitting on the still very warm burner (looking at me). What are you doing!!
 
He's going to go to green. I know I am an old member, but it has been more than a decade. Please stay with me.
 
Nice, finally green! Give his a tsp or two of food and test again in 1/2 hour. Let's see if we can get him surfing.
 
He just ran off with the tip of my tender chicken portion that I was eating for dinner. I will try to stay awake..................... no guarentees.
 
Nice, finally green! Give his a tsp or two of food and test again in 1/2 hour. Let's see if we can get him surfing.
Cans here are measured by 1/4, 1/2, and 1 whole can.
I have decided his decrease dose will be under 100, so tomorrow back to 12 units.
If I need to, I will change his method to SLGS.
Thoughts are welcome.
 
He keeps drinking water. Normally, about once a week or less, I see him drink water from his bowl for a few seconds (2 or 3). Today, I saw him drinking from his bowl for maybe 20 seconds, twice. And just now for a few seconds. I
wish I could get this new alarm clock to work, but haven't figured it out yet.
He got Fancy Feast Gravy pate for dinner. That's still low carb, correct?
I have some Fancy Feast Grilled in my cabinet......
 
Thank you. ❤️
It just has been such a major stressful day, for me.
I want to celebrate the greens.
But I need to sleep, too.
OMG, I totally understand! Let's hope little guy holds things steady in these safer numbers. Be good, Jackson!
 
He's on a huge dose of insulin.
I've seen cats on much higher doses of insulin follow TR. I'm talking 30, 50 and even 80 units. Over 30 is quite uncommon but I've seen a few such. This is where using R can help. One of the people on 80 using was giving 50 units of L and 30 units of R. Once the resistance broke, the depot was much less of an issue than if it had been 80 units of L.

Did you get another test yet?
 
He is on a massive dose of insulin.
I just gave him a 1/2 can of Fancy Feast Tuna grilled and will hope to wake up to another test later.
 
13 is not a massive dose of insulin. 80 units is a massive dose.

What carbs is the food you just fed? I didn't feed FF, so I don't know if that is LC, MC or HC. It's been over 1/2 hour since the last test, would be good to know if he's still dropping or not.
 
I've seen cats on much higher doses of insulin follow TR. I'm talking 30, 50 and even 80 units. Over 30 is quite uncommon but I've seen a few such. This is where using R can help. One of the people on 80 using was giving 50 units of L and 30 units of R. Once the resistance broke, the depot was much less of an issue than if it had been 80 units of L.

Did you get another test yet?
Yes, 82.
I need to sleep now,
Thanks. I will look back at your info tomorrow morning.
 
Back
Top