Hi! Welcome to the Lantus, Basaglar and Levemir Group!! It can be intimidating here at first, but hang in there! You’ll get it eventually and it turns out that everyone here is GREAT!
I have JUST learned how to do this the easiest way from one of our members here. To make a shortened name for your link in your signature follow these steps:
- Copy the link that you posted for Fa’s spreadsheet
- Go into your profile signature
- Write something like: Fa’s Spreadsheet or Fa’s SS (whichever your signature has space for)
- Highlight what you wrote for step 3
- Hit the insert hyperlink button View attachment 46702
- Paste your spreadsheet link into the URL boxView attachment 46704
- All done!
I am not experienced with Tight Regulation at all but I do know that it is an excellent method with a strong reputation for remission. The plus side of TR is that you can change doses as soon as every 6 cycles as soon as you know your cat.
One thing to always keep in mind is that You will have to wait a few days for the Lantus to kick in since it is depot style insulin and you will need to wait for the depot to build. Don’t be discouraged it takes a few days.
Fa’s Spreadsheet is definitely looking rather pink, Are you giving 2u or 2.5u? Your Spreadsheet says 2.5u. The people on the health forum are right we only increase or decrease by 0.25u at a time here. In order to make changes this small you need to have 100u syringes with half unit markers.
@Bron and Sheba is a very well respected member around here who happens to also be from Australia! She might be able to help you identify the best place to find these supplies

she also has a lot of experience with depot style insulin’s so maybe she can chime in with some TR dose feedback
One thing you can do for yourself (and you might have already done it) is to review all of the “stickies” that are at the top of the Lantus Basaglar and Levemir forum, especially read over the material about Hypos, as it is one of the most important things to be aware of when giving insulin to Fa. Of course read and re read the TR sticky so you stay familiar. As you learn things around the board the sticky will sink in more and more
Definitely post if you have questions. Most of us post every day! If you have a question there is a prefix drop down menu that you can use where you can label your post title with a question mark. That will give it more attention. When you post, always provide a link to your previous post. This allows members who want to provide feedback easy access to Fa’s history so they can give you valuable help
Post daily if you can, only one post a day since it’s a busy forum, make your title in the following general format:
Date, Cat’s Name, AMPS value, additional testing values during the day, PMPS value.
Additional testing values are good to add to the title if you have them because experienced members may be able to notice if Fa has entered a dangerous situation that needs action, or may be able to provide feedback on dosage amounts.
You can edit the title with updates on your latest tests as the day goes by or add a question to the title if you end up with a question by the end of the day. For example you could start with this:
07/26 Fa AMPS 300
And end up by the end of the day having a title like this:
? 07/26 Fa AMPS 300 +1 280 +4 200 Starting Lantus, Advice / Tips wanted
I have to say I totally think you’re on the right track! Diet!? Check! Spreadsheet!? CHECK!! Signature!?!? CHECK!!!!! great job getting it all started. Fa is so lucky to have a caring owner who is willing to go on this journey with her!
Again welcome to the group, everyone is really supportive so don’t be shy!
See you around the board