Help - Dosing question...shot time is soon

Status
Not open for further replies.

my Casey bear

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone,

Just wondering if what you think of this swing.

PMPS ~ 199 ~ s1.0u Lantus
+2 ~ 172
+4 ~ 81
+5 ~ 112
+6 ~ 139
+11 ~ 252
AMPS ~228 ~ ??

What does it means? Was she getting too much insulin? Do I need to change her dose?

Roberta
 
I hope I did the right thing...

Because of the low # at +4 and high +11 companied with the dip less than an hour later, I decided to reduce her dose to 0.75u. (I was assuming it was rebound, but not sure what to do about it.)

Robrta
and Casey

(I usually like roller coaster rides, but I am not enjoying this one...)
 
Sorry. I just logged in.

I would have stuck with your 1.0u dose both last night and this morning. You're starting to see some good numbers. If you take a look at the Data Ready sticky, we suggest shooting a reduced dose if your pre-shot is below 150 if you're new to using Lantus. (Otherwise, if you look at the subject lines on the board, you'll see that people routinely shoot lower than that.) Since it looks like you're around during the day to test, you are able to steer numbers with higher carb food if you need to.

When you have a moment, also look at the Tight Regulation sticky. Dose reductions are earned when numbers drop below 50 in a newly diagnosed (within a year of diagnosis) cat. By following the protocol, even if it's a bit nerve wracking at times, you give your cat the best chance for remission.
 
Hi Roberta!

I think the bounce up to the 252 was a little bounce from the 81 (which a beautiful number). You want to see these numbers in the green.....they are healing numbers for the pancreas. I think you could have stayed at the s1.00 with no problems. Casey didn't "earn" the reduction....according to the protocol.....I can't link the protocol from my phone. To earn a reduction a kitty (newly diagnosed) has to hit 50 then the dose is reduced by 0.25.

Have a great day!
 
Good morning.
I have not posted in your condo before so welcome. :smile:

I think that curve looks pretty good. I am sure the 252 and 228 are a bounce from the green number. Are you using the Alpha-Trak meter? IMHO I think 1.0u was a good dose for Casey.

Sometimes you can have a drop at ps time which is called a double dip......it is not really a dropping number, but that is something you can observe with more data.

You are doing a good job of collecting data.

edited to add: It looks like others responded before I hit submit.
 
Ok....back home from work...

I agree, I did get quite nervous last night and this morning, It has only been about a week since I started giving Casey insulin and was basing things on what her limited track record had been. Other than right after the increase in dose, her curves had been relatively gentle.
my Casey bear wrote:
Tested her at +2 ~ 172, and now +4 ~81
When I saw the rapid decline, compared to the previous 2 cycles, I was not sure if that was normal or not and if she was just on a curving or heading into a nose dive. I was happy to see her at 81, but the big drop in getting there and not being sure how much lower she would be going scared me. Then her +11 being at 252 made me wonder if I did something that caused her to do a rebound... Her curves have not been that extreme before, so even though I had prepared her AM shot to be the full 1u, I last minute, still not sure if it was a rebound or not, decided to decrease just incase it was. And yes, I know realize, thanks to everyone, that it was a bump...not a rebound.

I plan to resume her full 1u tonight.

Roberta
and Casey
 
You might want to consider doing what I did when I was new...study other kitties spreadsheets. You can't always follow someone else's dosing schedule, or how low they shoot, or what they feed, or when they feed, etc., but you get an idea what can happen in a cycle at different times of day, from one day to the next. It will help you see that what you think is very abnormal really isn't abnormal at all...that it happens to other kitties as well. Study, study, study!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top