Help! Did I jab her?

Mousiesmum

Member Since 2021
I tried to give Mousie her first jab this morning. I thought it went in but she moved, and the needle came out bent. So not sure. However her BG has been consistently around 16-17mmol. When I tested three hours later it was 12.7. +6 13.9 and +9 17.8. Does this look like I may have got it in?

If not, then should I give her a dose after 12 hours? Given that it is night time and I can't stay up all night to monitor her....

Hoping the spreadsheet is in my signature!
 
I have only given her one shot. The next is due at 7.30 tonight. I was wondering if I should give it to her given that I wasn't sure if the first went in. But Bhooma has said it looks like it did go in. I did look at the dosing protocols, and they completely confused me. So I don't know what I am doing apart from jabbing her 12 hourly, testing before jabbing, feeding while she is getting shot, and testing her urine for ketones when I can manage to get some. She is a difficult patient! I have switched from her eating mostly dry food, to low carb. Having problems working out what is low carb as I am having problems finding a lot of food in Australia despite having the list. But I have a cupboard full of what I think is correct now.
 
Hang in there. It is indeed overwhelming at the beginning but gets better with time and practice. :bighug:

Please do give her the PM shot.

When did you switch her to low carb food? How many days back? The food change should also help with bringing down her numbers. Can take as long as a week for results to show.

Do you still need help on the food front? This carb calculator will help you calculate the carb% from food labels. Look at the Dry Matter Carbohydrate% right at the end.
http://scheyderweb.com/cats/catfood.html

I think you can start with SLGS protocol till you get a little more comfortable with shooting and testing and then move on to the TR protocol.
- With SLGS, you hold the dose a week and decide at the end of each week about whether to increase. You decrease the dose immediately if the BG drops below 90.
- TR is a more aggressive protocol with dose changes every 3-5 days and reductions being earned only when the BG falls below 50 (on a human meter).

The Lantus depot takes a week to build, so you hold the dose for a week - unless she earns a reduction by dropping below 90.

You don't need to check for ketones every day since she has no history of ketones or DKA. Once a week should be good enough. You also get blood ketone meters if trapping urine is an issue with her. (Tips to catch and test a urine sample)
 
Back
Top