HELP! Can MK eat again? Not feeling well-gave cypro

Status
Not open for further replies.

BuddyandDillonsMom

Member Since 2012
MK wasn't very interested in food today, so I gave her cypro (1/2 a pill) this PM. She finally ate her dinner later on (Friskies Tuna-flaked-which she loves), so I knew something was up when she wouldn't eat. She's been a "meatloaf" this evening, and actually swatted at me when I was trying to look at her lip because I noticed a red bump there. As soon as she did that, she went right back to purring and rubbing on me like usual....guess it was payback for all the blood I've drawn from her this past month! :roll:

Anyways, she was going to get Bupe (for pain), but her BG dropped too low, so I couldn't give it. She started acting better anyways-playing with toys, scratching on post, etc. I just went and did another test, and she's gone up a little, but she still seems hungry. Can she eat more? I don't want to give her too much, but I also don't want her to feel bad because she's hungry from the cypro.

I think my mom fell asleep on me-she won't answer my text! ;-)

SS is updated to show today's numbers. :-D
 
No experience, sorry. You might post on Health too. The board seems very quiet tonight.

Have you ever tried hand feeding her? Although it sounds silly, sometimes if you put food on your finger and let her lick it off, she'll be interested in food again.

Are you testing for ketones? No insulin + inappetite can make ketones a possibility.

Hope she starts to feel better and starts eating.
 
Red bump and grumpy when you tried to look at/in her mouth? And not wanting to eat? Sounds like it might be a dental problem or a sore in her mouth. A couple months ago, Mullet wouldn't eat, and it turned out he had a cracked tooth that had worn sores on his tongue.

Can she eat more? I don't want to give her too much, but I also don't want her to feel bad because she's hungry from the cypro.

If she will eat, then yes, you can feed her more. When cats don't seem to want to eat, especially when they are diabetic, it's important to try to get them to eat. Making sure she gets enough is more important at this point than worrying what it might do to her BG.

Carl
 
Thanks....the cypro did it's job with her. She seems to be acting better this morning, so I might try to get another look at her lip. nailbite_smile

Her amps was 172, so that's good, right?
 
Usually, folks that use PZI set a shot/no shot cutoff point. When I used a PZI product, my cutoff was 180. 172 is very close to 180, but next time you might wait and test her 15-30 minutes later to make sure her BG level is on the rise, making it safer to shoot.

If you are around today, you might do a couple early- to mid-cycle tests to see what the result of shooting a skinny .2 on 178 does. I am glad she is eating better this morning. Is she still meatloafing?
 
Yes, a 172 is "good" :smile:
I agree with Venita. If you can get a +4 to +6 test, you can see how low the skinny .2 takes her today.

Carl
 
Hi! She's doing fine....I need to update her SS. We (Carolyn mostly! :-D ) discovered that she has a broken tooth, so she has been on Tramadol for the past day, and she has made a huge turnaround. She is eating much better, and actually takes bites of food instead of just licking at it. She is going to a new foster home for FIV+ kitties on Saturday, :cry: but I know she will have a good time there. cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top