Help. Bouncing.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Misterbeesmom

Very Active Member
what did i tell ya? some yellow and blues yesterday and now tonight we're red.

Any words of wisdom? I hate seeing him so high. He feels awful and i feel awul.
 
I think it's a bounce. That blue was something his body hasn't seen; there could have been lower levels earlier and later. than that one. It can take several cycles before he settles back. I'd hold the dose and be patient. Cats bounce until they stop. It's frustrating but happens to almost every cat.
 
Hi Jen,
Let's see what Sue says if you can wait a bit. I'm new to this advice game.
I think it's a bounce. That blue was something his body hasn't seen; there could have been lower levels earlier and later. than that one. It can take several cycles before he settles back. I'd hold the dose and be patient. Cats bounce until they stop. It's frustrating but happens to almost every cat.

Thank you both. I knew this was going to happen. Its so awful i cant celebrate the good numbers cuz i know this bad stuff happens right after. Lets hope he settles down soon. Ok i will hold the dose and monitor. Good thing i didnt go right up to 4u like my vet suggested last week!
 
It's a process, Jen, that takes as long as it takes. Not what you want to hear I know because you've been going at this for a long time now. I understand your frustration, although it's been less time for Teasel and me (8+ months). You're doing things differently now with the PZI and that's only been a few weeks. It's early days with this approach. I feel that I've only begun to move forward since I joined FDMB in mid-August. I was going nowhere before that.
 
It's a process, Jen, that takes as long as it takes. Not what you want to hear I know because you've been going at this for a long time now. I understand your frustration, although it's been less time for Teasel and me (8+ months). You're doing things differently now with the PZI and that's only been a few weeks. It's early days with this approach. I feel that I've only begun to move forward since I joined FDMB in mid-August. I was going nowhere before that.

Its a good thing we have this community, absolutely. I just get really down and worried. Sometimes i think i'm never going to get him regulated, though i know its early days on the pzi, so we dont know for sure. 8 months is a long time too and i'm glad things have gotten better for you and teasel.
 
The good thing about bouncing is that it means the insulin is working. It's bringing him down instead of him staying high and flat! I know it's tough but you gotta celebrate the small victories!
 
The good thing about bouncing is that it means the insulin is working. It's bringing him down instead of him staying high and flat! I know it's tough but you gotta celebrate the small victories!

good point. i feel silly i didnt think of that.

amps not yet on ss but it was 309., which is relatively much better. he drank like a fish all night and peed like a horse but maybe the worst is over for now. lets hope.

thanks, all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top