!HELP! BG Reading High (upper 500s)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jess Ryans

Member Since 2019
Hi, so jocelyn (my 7 yr old one eyed kitty) has been dealing with diabetes since last September. we've been struggling to get her regulated. i switched her diet a couple months ago to the FF chicken pate (which seems to be going over just fine). about 3 weeks ago we had a MAJOR HYPOglycemic episode, our first one, and got everything sorted out with the vet. i've been monitoring her levels at home and doing curves and as of yesterday/today her BG levels have been reading as HIGH. she is on 4 units of prozinc (which i know is a lot) so i gave her an insulin shot, checked again 2 hrs later, still read as HIGH, gave her another shot, and just checked and her number finally read on the meter as 569. is there ANYTHING i can do to make sure she doesnt have a HYPERglycemic episode or plummet. ever since our incident, i've had alot of anxiety about administering insulin shots, etc.??? Thanks
 
Hi Jess, are you giving 4 units twice a day? The best thing you can do to help get Jocelyn regulated and keep her safe is to set up our spreadsheet and start recording her bg numbers. It will help you, your vet and us to see her patterns and know how well the insulin is working. If day after day she’s reading high, then a dose increase may be necessary, but if she drops lower one day then is high for the next few, she could just be bouncing. We never give a second shot as it can cause a double nadir and that could lead to a low reading. My cat often was higher 2 hours after his shot as the food was still in his system, he only began to drop with the insulin’s onset. Read the yellow stickies at the top of the Prozinc page, set up the spreadsheet and keep asking questions, in fact you may want to post on the Prozinc forum.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
We can help you set this up if you need us to
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/prozinc-pzi.24/
 
Hi Jess, are you giving 4 units twice a day? The best thing you can do to help get Jocelyn regulated and keep her safe is to set up our spreadsheet and start recording her bg numbers. It will help you, your vet and us to see her patterns and know how well the insulin is working. If day after day she’s reading high, then a dose increase may be necessary, but if she drops lower one day then is high for the next few, she could just be bouncing. We never give a second shot as it can cause a double nadir and that could lead to a low reading. My cat often was higher 2 hours after his shot as the food was still in his system, he only began to drop with the insulin’s onset. Read the yellow stickies at the top of the Prozinc page, set up the spreadsheet and keep asking questions, in fact you may want to post on the Prozinc forum.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
We can help you set this up if you need us to
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/prozinc-pzi.24/
yeah she usually would get 4 units in the morning and 4 at night, but we've been kind of iffy about twice a day shots since her hypoglycemic episode; our vet told us to monitor and administer the shots when necessary until we can send them a solid curve so they can determine what dosage changes they'll likely need to make. i will say that i checked her number again this morning before feeding and she was at 224
 
If she’s too low to shoot at shot time it may be that her dose is too high. Please set up the spreadsheet and get those midcycle tests in to help determine if she needs a reduction. I think your vet will love the spreadsheet, mine sure did. If you need help setting it up, just ask and we’ll do it for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top