1mL of Prozinc 40 with correct 40 syringes at night February 1st. Last time he received any insulin.
Confused because the print out sheet for hypo says anything below 60 is hypo.
Also confused because I've seen that anything in 200 is a "no shoot" zone, in which case he hasn't been in the 200's, so that should also be a no shoot as well, correct?
For low numbers with the Libre, I double check with the monitor, and as stated previously it is normally a 1 to 6 point variance.
Trying my best to figure out how to help my buddy, but all this information difficult to find and even harder to tell when it's applicable or correct. (Such as 50 BG being okay, which is utterly new information to me...)
Thank you for responding, trying to figure this out.
I do believe you mean 1 unit, 1mL is quite a lot (40 units).
The 200 threshold is when you're new and starting to gather data. The idea is over time you shoot lower and lower. I'll drop a few links here in a minute of some examples of cats very close to remission, shooting low numbers at low doses. Most newly diagnosed diabetic cats are in the 200s/300s and higher to start, so the caregivers have a lot of time to test and get comfortable.
60 is generally the threshold for a pet meter. We really don't want them going under 60 on a pet meter, in fact we don't really even like under 68. But both your meters are human meters, so we use 50 for those. The goal is to get nadirs in the 50s/60s but not below. If you're uncomfortable with that, you can raise that range a little and target say 60s/70s.
My two cents - make sure.you have a hypo kit with a variety of carb % (some 10-15%, some 16-20%, some around 23%, and some karo syrup or honey). On a day you can be home, try a drop dose. You push the plunger all the way down to expel any air, insert into vial, and release the pressure - the result is a drop of insulin in the needle, not even visible through the plastic barrel. When you give the shot, push it down all the way and do your best to hold it for 10 seconds. If the Libre is still on, just keep an eye on that and see how he does. If not, test hourly. If that brings him below 50, then nothing else to do but call it remission!
To be clear, I would not recommend this if I thought it would put him in danger. You just test, and if he creeps down around 50 you intervene with food so he doesn't crash. Absolute extreme case I see it taking him to 40s - that won't do any damage but we don't want them hanging out there - so again just give some higher carb food and problem solved.