Hi Fiona, Benny is looking good. He is in safe numbers. I suspect that if you were to test him with a meter, he would read a little higher.
Are you feeding a little LC with every test/scan?
Your spreadsheet says you are following TR. You earn a reduction by dropping below 50 on a human meter.
You want to keep him at a dose that helps him spend as much time in safe, healing numbers. It's also reduces the strain on his kidneys and with him being CKD, that is equally important.
Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/benny-amps-84-after-a-bounce-yesterday.257234/
He has been in normal numbers and the lowest he dipped to was 68. As long as you are monitoring the numbers and have higher carbs on hand, you have the tools to keep him safe.He looks fine, no clinical signs of a hypo.
ReplyHe has been in normal numbers and the lowest he dipped to was 68. As long as you are monitoring the numbers and have higher carbs on hand, you have the tools to keep him safe.
How is he with testing? We've seen the Libre read quite a bit lower. I wondered if he would let you verify the lower numbers with a poke and regular meter occasionally?
If you see the below SS, the Libre showed 82 at AM+7 on Dec 27, but a "regular" test gave 132. This is just one example.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...gri8eqRDZDKWwVAXTMFTsVjCq6ESCd-q7U8Ii/pubhtml
He has been in normal numbers and the lowest he dipped to was 68. As long as you are monitoring the numbers and have higher carbs on hand, you have the tools to keep him safe.
How is he with testing? We've seen the Libre read quite a bit lower. I wondered if he would let you verify the lower numberds with a poke and regular meter occasionally?
If you see the below SS, the Libre showed 82 at AM+7 on Dec 27, but a "regular" test gave 132. This is just one example.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...gri8eqRDZDKWwVAXTMFTsVjCq6ESCd-q7U8Ii/pubhtml
Hi Bhooma. He was too low to shoot last night and as it was 12.30am. I left it and after reading lots about SLGS and TR decided that maybe we are more suited to SLGS. Benny does not eat to schedule and with Billy it is all a bit overwhelming for me. I went out yesterday just after his shot , returned 90 minutes later to snack him at +2 and he had dropped like a stone. It is lovely seeing all the greens but I gave him a lot of food to get him through that yesterday and it was liquid treats and the type he prefers are very hard to get hold of here in NZ. Today heis numbers look ok, considering the change, obviously the depot effect will drop out but I am more confident I can get on top of his diabetes now. I have update SS.Hi Fiona, I don't see any updates on the condo or the SS. Curious to see where he was at PMPS?
Hi Bron. Bit of a change in the works. Decided to switch to SLGS. Will keep close eye on him as the depot effect changes.Hi Fiona. Benny is having a great cycle. Green BGs are a real gift. You will learn to love them.
Did you feed at +1 as that was a big drop at +2.
Hi Fiona, swapping to SLGS is not really a great idea with DKA so recently in the picture.Hi Bron. Bit of a change in the works. Decided to switch to SLGS. Will keep close eye on him as the depot effect changes.
I have PM'd youHi Fiona, swapping to SLGS is not really a great idea with DKA so recently in the picture.
I know the green numbers worry you but they are the BGs you are aiming for, especially if you want to get Benny into remission.
Last night I wish you had Posted and you could have stalled and seen if he rose at all. Bhooma was still around and she could have guided you.
The last thing you want to be doing is skipping a dose.
Benny is starting to give you opportunities to shoot lower BGs and that is a gift.
SLGS means you have to hold the dose for 7 days and if it is not working, that is the last thing you need for Benny with his history.